Mythic Archmage and Immunities


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The Mythic Archmage's power has been bothering me. I had assumed that spending charges was intended to allow you to play spells that monsters would be immune to, but as written the rules don't allow you to play a spell a monster is immune to so you can't use the Archmage's power to then ignore the immunity.

I found the issue brought up in another thread but, as the thread was concerning something else this particular question was not addressed.


So, we all agree that is clearly not the intention, and you are asking does RAW strictly match the intention.

I agree it's not clear.


Yeah. If the intention isn't to be able to play spells when you normally wouldn't be able to play spells, then the ability is almost entirely useless.

Lone Shark Games

I can safely say that our intent is that you can play such a spell and ignore the immunity. More on this when we have time to circle up on it.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Mike Selinker wrote:
I can safely say that our intent is that you can play such a spell and ignore the immunity. More on this when we have time to circle up on it.

Added to FAQ.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks Vic for all the FAQs that were missing before we jump to the new PACG.

Can't help to smile when it take 27 months between Mike and Vic's posts after a wishful

The Lord in his infinite wisdom wrote:
More on this when we have time to circle up on it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Mythic Archmage and Immunities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion