Retraining and the prerequisites in Prestige Classes


Rules Questions


So for most Prestige Classes, there is some kind of "at least # BAB" and/or "#ranks in _ skill" as a requirement.

My question is a bit hard to state, so let me draw out the scenario.

Let's say I was a level 6 Fighter (BAB +6, 2 ranks in Acrobatics and Perform) and I wanted to become a Duelist(prestige class) for my next level. (prerequisites are 6 BAB and 2 ranks in Acrobatics and Perform).

After I become a Duelist, I would like to retrain my Fighter Levels all into Duelist levels. The Duelist levels grant enough BAB and skill points to keep the prerequisites in place.

Using this method, could I be a level 7 character who only has levels in the Duelist prestige class?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is not allowed with retraining because u have to still have the prerequisites BEFORE and not from the prestige class.
When retraining was first introduced, these questions popped up and the devs came in and stated that the prestige classes did not count towards having the prestige classes.


I believe all retrained characters must be creatable without retraining, but I have no source for that.


Redneckdevil wrote:

It is not allowed with retraining because u have to still have the prerequisites BEFORE and not from the prestige class.

When retraining was first introduced, these questions popped up and the devs came in and stated that the prestige classes did not count towards having the prestige classes.

I see. Do Prestige classes count towards the prerequisites of other prestige classes, then?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yes.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

One of the FAQ entries for Ultimate Campaign flat out forbids retraining a base class level to a prestige class level -- so there is no way that you can have only prestige class levels.

However, there is nothing stopping you from using levels of one prestige class to qualify for another -- but the main intention of that retraining FAQ was to prevent you from using levels in two prestige classes to qualify for each other in a circular manner.


There is an FAQ around that is very awkward. Mostly because some people kept coming up with weird situations that were obviously abuses but there was no good way to stop without making the FAQ incredibly long.

This resulted in the final ruling of, you're not allowed to retrain base class levels into prestige class levels.

Quote:

Retraining: Can I retrain out of my base classes and use my prestige class levels to meet the requirements for that prestige class?

No.
The retraining rules say, "If retraining a class level means you no longer qualify for a feat, prestige class, or other ability you have, you can't use that feat, prestige class, or ability until you meet the qualifications again." Therefore, if you retrain out of the base class and that causes you to no longer meet the requirements of the prestige class, you no longer have access to the class features from that prestige class, and therefore can't use that prestige class to meet the requirements of anything (including itself).

Update 10/16/13: In any case, you cannot use rule elements from a prestige class to meet the requirements of that prestige class.

Update 10/16/13: New ruling: You cannot use retraining to replace a base class level with a prestige class level.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Prerequisite means "if I don't use anything here, do I have it still?"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Retraining and the prerequisites in Prestige Classes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.