The Vigilante Paladin (alignment shenanigans)


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Assume a character is a Multiclassed Vigilante Paladin-

One of the Vigilante's identities can have an alignment that is not Lawful Good. It can be assumed that while in the non-Lawful Good identity the character does not have access to their Paladin abilities.

But what about when they change identities? Would the wording of Dual Identity allow for only one identity to be a paladin and the other to be less powerful but free of the restrictions of being a Paladin, or would simply changing identities (and alignments) count as "breaking the paladin's code?"

How would this work?

Sovereign Court

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Vigilante wrote:
For the purpose of meeting a qualification for a feat, class, or any ability, he is only eligible if both of his alignments meet the requirements.

If you aren't Lawful Good as both identities, you would lose your paladin powers. However, the Zealot archetype can gain some quasi-paladin powers such as smite evil.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
KingOfAnything wrote:
Vigilante wrote:
For the purpose of meeting a qualification for a feat, class, or any ability, he is only eligible if both of his alignments meet the requirements.
If you aren't Lawful Good as both identities, you would lose your paladin powers. However, the Zealot archetype can gain some quasi-paladin powers such as smite evil.

Yup. You could have a Vigilante/Gray Paladin with identities in more than one of the gray paladin's legal alignments though.


KingOfAnything wrote:
Vigilante wrote:
For the purpose of meeting a qualification for a feat, class, or any ability, he is only eligible if both of his alignments meet the requirements.
If you aren't Lawful Good as both identities, you would lose your paladin powers. However, the Zealot archetype can gain some quasi-paladin powers such as smite evil.

Good catch! I missed that in my reading. Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / The Vigilante Paladin (alignment shenanigans) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.