Stained Glass Elemental Question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


https://static3.paizo.com/image/content/PathfinderACG/PZO6813-StainedGlasse lemental.jpg

What does the word "result" mean in the second sentence? Can you play this to add to a total AFTER you make a roll?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The first (reveal) power is used before you roll. The second (recharge) power is used after you roll and can adjust the total. Remember that you can only play one card of each type on a check, so if you use it or another ally beforehand, you can't use this afterwards.


skizzerz wrote:
The first (reveal) power is used before you roll. The second (recharge) power is used after you roll and can adjust the total. Remember that you can only play one card of each type on a check, so if you use it or another ally beforehand, you can't use this afterwards.

Which means the wording is simply off. Powers that work in the way you mention usually begin with "After your roll..."

It would be nice to get an official ruling on this one since there are a few similar new wordings on cards. I'm thinking of the Warehouse/Canny Jackal problem.


Michael Klaus wrote:
It would be nice to get an official ruling on this one since there are a few similar new wordings on cards.

It's been noted that we haven't had any official rulings in months. Vic Wertz hasn't posted rules clarifications since February 2020, for instance. Given the demise of PACG, it's possible that no more clarifications are forthcoming.

There's been talk on Discord of generating an unofficial FAQ for unresolved issues, but that would be a community effort.

In time, it would be nice to have an unofficial FAQ (should it come to fruition) eventually be approved by the designers - but we'll see. :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Michael Klaus wrote:
skizzerz wrote:
The first (reveal) power is used before you roll. The second (recharge) power is used after you roll and can adjust the total. Remember that you can only play one card of each type on a check, so if you use it or another ally beforehand, you can't use this afterwards.

Which means the wording is simply off. Powers that work in the way you mention usually begin with "After your roll..."

It would be nice to get an official ruling on this one since there are a few similar new wordings on cards. I'm thinking of the Warehouse/Canny Jackal problem.

Your check can’t have a result until you’ve finished rolling it so there’s nothing wrong that I can see here. Please give an argument for why you believe this power to work differently. If you can’t, then no wording adjustments or official rulings are needed because there’s always only one way that power can be interpreted (the one I gave 4 years ago).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Stained Glass Elemental Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
Role Cards