Is Merciful damage typeless nonlethal?


Rules Questions


Is merciful damage typeless?

Example, Merciful Bow with standard arrows versus a DR10/silver not immune to nonlethal target? Does the target still take the 1d6 Merciful even though its resistant to the regular arrow (up to 10)? Or will the Merciful quality allow the entirety to bypass DR as its typeless?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

DR would apply normally to the total weapon damage.

The merciful weapon property is not typeless, it increases the base weapon damage, and therefore assumes the types of that weapon. Contrast this to frost or similar abilities that do energy damage on a successful hit.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Yes, if you are using an axe, it would be slashing nonlethal damage. If you were using a hammer, it would be bludgeoning nonlethal damage. If you managed to get it on a bite, it would be bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing nonlethal damage.

It uses the same type as the weapon. You can even have nonlethal energy damage in rare instances (such as with brown mold).


Ravingdork wrote:

Yes, if you are using an axe, it would be slashing nonlethal damage. If you were using a hammer, it would be bludgeoning nonlethal damage. If you managed to get it on a bite, it would be bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing nonlethal damage.

It uses the same type as the weapon. You can even have nonlethal energy damage in rare instances (such as with brown mold).

Would merciful change the energy damage attached to the same weapon to nonlethal? So Sir Paddington's +3 Frosting Keen Flaming Burst Scythe of Mercy would all be nonlethal unless Merciful was suppressed, right?


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
fretgod99 wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

Yes, if you are using an axe, it would be slashing nonlethal damage. If you were using a hammer, it would be bludgeoning nonlethal damage. If you managed to get it on a bite, it would be bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing nonlethal damage.

It uses the same type as the weapon. You can even have nonlethal energy damage in rare instances (such as with brown mold).

Would merciful change the energy damage attached to the same weapon to nonlethal? So Sir Paddington's +3 Frosting Keen Flaming Burst Scythe of Mercy would all be nonlethal unless Merciful was suppressed, right?

I believe it would, yes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Merciful damage typeless nonlethal? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.