Paladin spellcasting


Rules Questions


Me and a friend are having different interpretations on how paladins spellcasting works, and we would like to see who is more accurate.

My interpretation: you need 8 hours rest followed by 1 hour of meditation to gain your daily spell slots/prepare your spells. And that this process can be done once (except to fill spell slots that are empty and unused).

His interpretation: you only need 1 hour of meditation to get your spell slots/prepare spells. And this process can be done as many times in a day as you want, providing as many spell slots as you need.

for reference:
Paladin
spellcasting


"Time of Day
A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells. Instead, the character chooses a particular time of day to pray and receive spells. The time is usually associated with some daily event. If some event prevents a character from praying at the proper time, she must do so as soon as possible. If the character does not stop to pray for spells at the first opportunity, she must wait until the next day to prepare spells."

A paladin can prepare spells as often as he likes, but regains spell slot only once per day.

Silver Crusade

Derklord wrote:

"Time of Day

A divine spellcaster chooses and prepares spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, does not require a period of rest to prepare spells. Instead, the character chooses a particular time of day to pray and receive spells. The time is usually associated with some daily event. If some event prevents a character from praying at the proper time, she must do so as soon as possible. If the character does not stop to pray for spells at the first opportunity, she must wait until the next day to prepare spells."

A paladin can prepare spells as often as he likes, but regains spell slot only once per day.

Uh...as I read that, it looks like you can't prepare spells as often as you like, that you must do it either at the appointed time or "at the first opportunity" after or have to wait until the next day.

But, to answer the original question: paladins do not need rest, but they can only prepare spells once per day.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

No rest required
1 hour meditation needed
Can only prepare at a chosen time of day or first opportunity thereafter

Ergo, no multiple preparation within a single day.


From a little further down, "When preparing spells for the day, a cleric can leave some of her spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes. During these extra sessions of preparation, she can fill these unused spell slots."


Isonaroc wrote:
Uh...as I read that, it looks like you can't prepare spells as often as you like, that you must do it either at the appointed time or "at the first opportunity" after or have to wait until the next day.

Sure I can - "When preparing spells for the day, a divine spellcaster can leave some of her spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes."

As an example, a paladin that has 10 spell slots in total can prepare the first one in the morning (after praying for 15 minutes), and the rest of them spread over the next 9 hours, preparing one more spell every hour (praying for 15 minutes each time).

Spell preperation is not the same as regaining spell slots. The prayer at the specific time of day is the time a divine caster regains his spell slots, basically unlocking the spellcasting for that day. So while no amount of rest and praying makes it possible for the paladin to prepare more than his 10 spells in one day, that does not mean he can only ever prepare spells during that time.

Edit: Thrice-cursed reptilian ninjas!


Lol. Well, yours was a lot more in depth.


Air0r wrote:

Me and a friend are having different interpretations on how paladins spellcasting works, and we would like to see who is more accurate.

My interpretation: you need 8 hours rest followed by 1 hour of meditation to gain your daily spell slots/prepare your spells. And that this process can be done once (except to fill spell slots that are empty and unused).

His interpretation: you only need 1 hour of meditation to get your spell slots/prepare spells. And this process can be done as many times in a day as you want, providing as many spell slots as you need.

for reference:
Paladin
spellcasting

You're both partially right and partially wrong.

You don't require rest, but you can prepare spells more than once during the day (by leaving spell slots open) but you only get one set of spell slots per day.

Silver Crusade

It's inconsistent as written. The divine spellcaster entry says you can leave slots open, but the paladin entry specifically says "A paladin may prepare and cast any spell on the paladin spell list, provided that she can cast spells of that level, but she must choose which spells to prepare during her daily meditation." Similar language exists in every core divine spellcaster entry. The intention is almost certainly that they wanted you to be able to prepare empty spell slots later in the day, but it's clumsily written as is.

Regardless, you still don't need rest, you still need your hour of meditation/prayer at the appointed time if you want to prepare spells for the day, and you do not get to regain spell slots more than once per day.


Thought it was just Clerics who could leave slots open. Did I miss a change?


fretgod99 wrote:
Thought it was just Clerics who could leave slots open. Did I miss a change?
Quote:
Spell Selection and Preparation: A divine spellcaster selects and prepares spells ahead of time through prayer and meditation at a particular time of day. The time required to prepare spells is the same as it is for a wizard (1 hour), as is the requirement for a relatively peaceful environment. When preparing spells for the day, a cleric can leave some of her spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes. During these extra sessions of preparation, she can fill these unused spell slots. She cannot, however, abandon a previously prepared spell to replace it with another one or fill a slot that is empty because she has cast a spell in the meantime. Like the first session of the day, this preparation takes at least 15 minutes, and it takes longer if she prepares more than one-quarter of his spells.

Technically speaking it only says clerics, but reading through the whole section to me it applies equally to all prepared divine spell casters.

In the same way that the wizard section only specifically mentions wizards, but should apply equally to all prepared arcane spell casters.


it's all prepared casters.


@Claxon: That was errata'd in later versions of the CRB to say "divine spellcasters" instead of "clerics".


Derklord wrote:
@Claxon: That was errata'd in later versions of the CRB to say "divine spellcasters" instead of "clerics".

Which is hilarious since I copied it from the PRD.


Claxon wrote:
fretgod99 wrote:
Thought it was just Clerics who could leave slots open. Did I miss a change?
Quote:
Spell Selection and Preparation: A divine spellcaster selects and prepares spells ahead of time through prayer and meditation at a particular time of day. The time required to prepare spells is the same as it is for a wizard (1 hour), as is the requirement for a relatively peaceful environment. When preparing spells for the day, a cleric can leave some of her spell slots open. Later during that day, she can repeat the preparation process as often as she likes. During these extra sessions of preparation, she can fill these unused spell slots. She cannot, however, abandon a previously prepared spell to replace it with another one or fill a slot that is empty because she has cast a spell in the meantime. Like the first session of the day, this preparation takes at least 15 minutes, and it takes longer if she prepares more than one-quarter of his spells.

Technically speaking it only says clerics, but reading through the whole section to me it applies equally to all prepared divine spell casters.

In the same way that the wizard section only specifically mentions wizards, but should apply equally to all prepared arcane spell casters.

I suppose the difference is that in the CRB there were already other prepared Divine Casters and they specifically mentioned Clerics. Wizards were the only prepared arcane casters in the CRB, but more were added later.

Regardless, it appears there was an errata I didn't catch. So problem solved. Thanks, everybody!


Claxon wrote:
Derklord wrote:
@Claxon: That was errata'd in later versions of the CRB to say "divine spellcasters" instead of "clerics".
Which is hilarious since I copied it from the PRD.

That was what I looked at, too (which is why I asked).


Yeah the PRD is in error. It's on page 220 of my copy as divine spellcaster.


The PRD does not update stuff that gets changed without being mentioned in errata and is thus not always up to date. For instance, Reincarnate still lists the material as a divine focus. Both things got changed for the fifth printing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paladin spellcasting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.