Actions, Spellcasting and Injured while casting


Rules Questions


Creating some Rules-Summaries for my wizard I stumbeld upon "Injured while casting" that bring up a lot of questions.

Is it possible to interrupt a swift or standard action spell without using ready in action?

E.g.:

1.Round
-> Move Action: The wizard takes out his materials and moves 30 ft to the fighter.
-> Standard Action: As soon as the wizard arrives at the place where the fighter is hanging around he casts "Haste"
----> The fighter has Haste
-> Swift Action: The wizard uses his teleportation ability from his conjuartion school to teleport 10 feet away.

Am I right that without having a "Ready in action"-Attack that triggers on the spellcasters standard action, there is no way on trying to break the spell due to injuring the caster?

So I have to follow that only Spells with a duration longer that a full round action can be stopped (without the ready in action).

But now I have the problem, when does the spellcasting ends? This is how we play it for ages but at the moment I am not sure, if we do it right:

1.Round
-> Move Action: The wizard takes out his materials and moves 30 ft away from the rogue.
-> Standard Action: As soon as the wizard arrives at the place where he think he is save he casts "Summon Monster"

... Time when the spell can be interrupted...

2.Round
The monster appears
-> Standard Action: The wizard casts 'Confusion' on another enemy ...
----> The enemy is (hopefully) confused
-> Move Action: ...

There is another thing. Let us say the enemy dealt 20 damage in the time span where I added '...Time when the spell can be interruped...'.

Does he has to make a 10 + damage dealt + spell level check on summon monster and on Confusion?

You see, there is a lot of confusion here, I really would appreciate if you could clear that for me.


You have it wrong. Summon Monster takes a full round to cast.. Move 30 feet and it's not going to happen.

If the wizard takes damage during the casting the damage done impacts on the DC of the concentration check. Full round castings are those opportunities where you don't have have a readied action to impact on the spellcasting.


AoO caused by casting the spell are a thing.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Casting a spell with a casting time of "swift action" does not provoke.

However, some other aspect of the spell cast *might* provoke (such as aiming and firing your ray [ranged attack]).


If an opponent hits my spell caster in the round before my turn and damages me, am i required to make a concentration check to get off my standard action spell?


No, not unless it's ongoing damage (like burning or acid).


- not directly the question and I find it poor game design that a standard action can interrupt a Swift one but -
If one decides to ignore a trigger to an action readied and another trigger happens before one's next round, one can act on the second trigger.

E.g.:
- Barbara, the Barbarian from Barbaria, member of team B, readies an action to graft her battle axe between the eyes of the mage if he uses his nasty magick.
- Wicked Wizard of the West, member of team W, moves within range of the Barbarian then casts Haste on one of his companions, thus triggers the action readied by Barbara.
- Barbara decides not to act on said trigger.
- Wizard uses power from Teleportation subschool to get away, thus trigger Barbara again.
- Barbara swings, connects and disconnects W's, replacing his brain scythe by her axe.

- I know this isn't what O.P. meant by interrupt a spell with damage -


SlimGauge wrote:

Casting a spell with a casting time of "swift action" does not provoke.

However, some other aspect of the spell cast *might* provoke (such as aiming and firing your ray [ranged attack]).

I know casting as a swift action doesn't provoke, but my understanding is that this scenario wouldn't interrupt the casting of the spell.

Eg. I cast Scorching Ray. This provokes 2 AoO's:

1. Casting a spell. If the AoO hits then I take damage and must make a concentration check to avoid losing the spell.

2. Making a ranged attack. If the AoO hits I take damage, but there is no chance of losing the spell.

So if I cast Quickened Scorching Ray I still provoke (only once, for making a ranged attack), but there is no chance that I'll lose the spell.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Correct, unless you were attacked with a readied action rather than the AoO provoked for aiming a ranged attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Actions, Spellcasting and Injured while casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.