Spell combat with monstrous physique natural attacks

Rules Questions

Could a magus use spell combat to cast monstrous physique, changing into a gargoyle, and finish the spell combat using all of the gargoyle's natural attacks at a -2 penalty?


Spell Combat wrote:
At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.

Emphasis added above. Spell Combat only allows the magus to make all attacks with a single weapon associated with a hand.

This FAQ clarifies that the attacks must be made with the weapon mentioned in spell combat

This FAQ specifies that natural weapons associated with a hand can be used.

Even attacking once with a single claw is a bit iffy as you didn't start Spell Combat with that claw.

You'll need the Natural Spell Combat magus arcana.

Azten wrote:
You'll need the Natural Spell Combat magus arcana.

This works, but to use all of your other natural weapons you would need to take the Natural Spell Combat Arcana three times: once for your free hand claw, once for your bite, and again for your gore.

Better off to just open with "Frostbite" and forgo spell combat on the following rounds.

What if you got 4 hands or even 6? All the same type of attack, like an unarmed Calikang just using his Slams. Do you still need Natural Spell combat in order to be able to use all your hands during Spell Combat?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell combat with monstrous physique natural attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.