Arcane School: Air = 2(3) bonuses to Fly?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The Air Supremacy power from the School of Air says:

Air Supremacy wrote:
You gain a +2 enhancement bonus on Fly skill checks. This bonus increases by +1 for every five wizard levels you possess. In addition, you can cast feather fall on yourself at will. At 5th level, you can cast levitate on yourself at will. At 10th level, you can cast fly on yourself at will. At 20th level, whenever you make a Fly skill check, assume the roll resulted in a natural 20.

This means that at 10th level you would have +4 to Fly checks and the ability to cast Fly on yourself at will.

Fly spell wrote:

The subject can fly at a speed of 60 feet (or 40 feet if it wears medium or heavy armor, or if it carries a medium or heavy load). It can ascend at half speed and descend at double speed, and its maneuverability is good.

Using a fly spell requires only as much concentration as walking, so the subject can attack or cast spells normally. The subject of a fly spell can charge but not run, and it cannot carry aloft more weight than its maximum load, plus any armor it wears. The subject gains a bonus on Fly skill checks equal to 1/2 your caster level.

So when you cast Fly on yourself you get Good maneuverability (+4 to Fly checks) and +1/2 level to Fly checks.

Do all of those stack? So a 10th level Air Wizard (or 10th level character with VMC: Wizard(Air)) would get +13 to Fly checks while using the self Fly?


Yes. Air Wizards are better at flying than Normal Wizards using the spell.


Yes, they do. Note that it usually doesn't take much Fly to do the things you want to do with it, unless you're flying in a hurricane.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Yes, they do. Note that it usually doesn't take much Fly to do the things you want to do with it, unless you're flying in a hurricane.

Or flying when bonked on the head or some other delicate part of the body. Or someone throwing up a nasty wind effec on you. or if you're flying through a threathened square. (other things can fly too!)

Grand Lodge

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Yes, they do. Note that it usually doesn't take much Fly to do the things you want to do with it, unless you're flying in a hurricane.
Or flying when bonked on the head or some other delicate part of the body. Or someone throwing up a nasty wind effec on you. or if you're flying through a threathened square. (other things can fly too!)

The first one is a DC 10 check, high winds were already mentioned, and the last one is acrobatics, not fly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane School: Air = 2(3) bonuses to Fly? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.