"your level" = total character level or class specific level


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Hi all,

I have been thinking of having one of my PFS characters switching to Occultist for probably 4 levels. Whether this actually happens will probably hinge on my question...

If, for my 7th level, I were to take my first Occultist level - Would I then be able to take Mind Over Gravity as my Focus Power.

Occult Adventures wrote:
Mind Over Gravity (Sp): As a standard action, you can expend 1 point of mental focus to give yourself a fly speed of 60 feet with perfect maneuverability. This effect lasts for 1 minute per occultist level you possess. You must be at least 7th level to select this focus power.

Emphasis mine. My reading is that it would be OK as my total character level would be 7 making it a legal choice. Although it seems like something that would be up for debate...hence this post.

Thanks!


When a class feature says "your level", it almost always means levels in that specific class.


no

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Since it's so rare it always calls out when an ability is equal to your "character level", otherwise it's always your class level.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

extremely strict readings of the rules won't get you very far.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:
Note that there are a number of effects and prerequisites that rely on a character's level or Hit Dice. Such effects are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class. The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class.


Bandw2 wrote:
extremely strict readings of the rules won't get you very far.

Actually what the OP was going for was an extremely loose reading.


When a class entry says "your level" it means your class level.

When the rules actually mean character level, they say character level.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber
Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Bandw2 wrote:
extremely strict readings of the rules won't get you very far.
Actually what the OP was going for was an extremely loose reading.

okay fine i'll rewrite it as

"the strictest reading using common English grammatical rules and ignoring pathfinder Jargon and expectations."

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
vhok wrote:
no

That was helpful


You find Chemlak's quote under the heading "Multiclassing" in the rules.

You cannot pick the higher class features/abilities unless you have the levels in that class.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Vatras wrote:

You find Chemlak's quote under the heading "Multiclassing" in the rules.

You cannot pick the higher class features/abilities unless you have the levels in that class.

Thanks, Vatras (I was in a rush when I posted, so wasn't as complete as I generally like). Specifically, Core Rulebook, Classes, Multiclassing, (if you got as far as Barbarian, you got too far) for that reference.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "your level" = total character level or class specific level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.