*Spoilers* for Mummy's Mask


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion

1 to 50 of 62 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

At Hawkmoon's suggestion, here's a thread for spoilers about Mummy's Mask...I'm going to coalesce & copy over some of the info from the previous thread into sections to get us started :)

The info below was previously posted by Malcolm_Reynolds, Theryon Stormrune, or me in the other thread. I'm leaving the comments mostly as we wrote them, with a few changes for context.

Traders:
-Traders give you an option of X+1 boons of their type to choose from, where X is the number of characters visiting that trader. And they have to be from the completed adventure deck number or 1 less than that. But you have to trade them boons with the same deck number restriction. So you can get upgrades, but they won't take just any old pieces of junk.

Blessings:
-Blessing of the Elements & Blessing of the Ancients are basic blessings.
-There are 16 non-divine blessings in the base set, all Blessing of the Elements. There are 45 divine blessings (16 Blessing of the Ancients and 4 each of Abadar, Bastet, Horus, Nethys, Pharasma, Ra, & Wadjet). The add on deck has 1 of each blessing.
-Blessing of the Ancients: It has the standard add a die, can be discarded to examine the top card and then you may explore, and recharges with a Basic blessing on the discards
-Ezren can carry non-divine blessings as Items.

Mavaro:
-Starting Powers: You may discard a card to add 1 die to your check ([feat] or a check by another character at your location) to acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item.
You may display a card to gain all skills listed on the check to acquire for that card equal to your Intelligence until the end of the turn. ([feat] You may also add any of that card's traits to your checks during this turn.) At the end of the turn, recharge the displayed cards.
-Mavaro can end up with 13 items, but he gets to treat weapons, spells, & armor as items when building his deck.

Estra:
-starts with a Loot Ally Honaire(she's the owner) who is an Undead Phantom and her Favored Card. You can put it on top of your deck to draw a spell from your discard pile or to add 1d10 + Undead to your Str, Con, or Percep check. And when you would discard him as damage, recharge him instead.
-Honaire:

  • has no banish-related power, so I assume it goes back to the box and may be regained if there aren't enough allies at the end of the scenario (Estra always, anyone else after starting deck 3
  • On banishing him: They did print the cohort rules about encountering & banishing in the rule book (specifically calling out that there are no cohorts included in MM, but they can be found in WotR & class decks), and they avoided making Honaire a cohort. So my intuition would be that he can still be subbed in as a basic ally for Estra, because she can't build a valid deck without him.
  • Estra has a sentence below her deck list telling you to add the loot ally Honaire when building your deck.
  • the "e" on the end is not silent. Long E. That was official at PaizoCon.

Other Stuff:
-They didn't pack the cards as usual. One pack is pretty much all you need to demo the game. They put four 13-card character decks, four locations, a 12-card blessing deck, and some banes and boons to quickly set-up and run a demo-sized version of the first scenario.
-The B Adventure is officially part of the Adventure Path.
-Characters' magic affinities: Arcane: Wizard, Magus, Tup (though I suppose he's technically the RotR Goblin, so where' the MM Goblin?). Divine: Cleric, Druid, Spiritualist, Oracle. Role: One Occultist role may gain Arcane then Divine. One Rogue role may gain Arcane.
-Quicksand Bunyip! With a trigger - discard bludgeoning/liquid or take 1d4 electricity damage, then shuffle into deck (may not be reduced). But no mental damage or wisdom check
-Sandstorm Villain: There are 6, which implies A Sandstorm of Malevolent Will replaces each of the four blessings with a villain.
-Miau Pakhet is a Catfolk Bard Gambling Ally, one of whose powers is like the Blessing of Bastet (recharge to allow a character at your location to reroll one die, or discard to reroll all).
-If the Toxic Geyser barrier is undefeated, you roll AD#+1 d6s, and for each die you take at least 2 damage (the type of damage varies based on the value of the corresponding die).
-One of the loot cards is called Game of Afterlife.
-Several characters have favored cards that aren't actually card types. Ahmotep's is any card with the staff trait. Ezren's is any with the attack trait. Estra's is the loot ally Honaire.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

About Estra: What do Mavaro and Ezren say about their special deck powers? Are they references as "building" as well? If so, then not including rebuilding with those powers would mean Mavaro can't really count things as spells after the first scenario and Ezren can't really keep non-Divine blessings after the first scenario.

So, assuming they all say "building" it would seem that such "building" powers apply when rebuilding as well.

Silver Crusade

So Alahazra's roles... Is she stupendously awesome or just regular awesome?


Thanks for the thread, much appreciated!
I'd like to know more about the number of barriers in the set - I don't expect you to count them, but just to give a general impression, what is the ratio between monsters and barriers in the box and what is your impression of the average ratio in the locations?
How many traders are available in the base set, and how many loot cards?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Doppelschwert wrote:

Thanks for the thread, much appreciated!

I'd like to know more about the number of barriers in the set - I don't expect you to count them, but just to give a general impression, what is the ratio between monsters and barriers in the box and what is your impression of the average ratio in the locations?
How many traders are available in the base set, and how many loot cards?

It definitely felt like there were more barriers than usual for a base set, maybe twice as many. I think all but 3 of them had either the Trap or Obstacle trait. And I don't recall seeing any "nice" ones like the Battered Chest or "easy" ones like the Temptations from Wrath. There were a few that would give you cards for defeating them, but they were closer to the Trapped Locker from Runelords (take damage for failing the check). I remember the Lightning Storm is interesting because you display it next to your location & roll a d4. On a 4, you banish it, but on anything else you take the roll's value in electricity damage then display the card next to a random other location.

As for the monsters, I know the highest difficulty to defeat is the Quicksand Bunyip at 12, and everything else is 10 or less.

There are 3 traders in the base set (items, spells, & weapons) & 3 loot cards: Honaire, Game of Afterlife, & one more I can't remember off the top of my head.

I can give more details when I get home from work, because I figured my boss wouldn't be too happy if I played MM instead of working...


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Mavaro reads "When building your deck, you may treat any weapons, spells, and armor as items."

Ezren reads "When building your deck, you may treat and blessings that do not have the Divine trait as items."

So yes, it looks like they apply when rebuilding as well.

Alahazara's powers:
1) When you play a card that has the Fire ([]or Poison) and Attack traits in any check, add 1d8.
2) You may recharge a blessing to examine the top 2 ([]or 3) cards of any location deck ([]and put them back in any order). You may not use this power during an encounter.
3) You may discard a spell to banish a card that has the Curse trait next to the deck of a character at your location.

Barriers: 28 in 15 varieties, only one variety (two Trapped Lockers) is a repeat. 3 varieties have the Trigger trait.

Monsters: 40 in 21 varieties, only two returning (Enchanter and Blasphemous Priest). 9 varieties have Triggers, including all three Gnoll types and the Hyenas. All monster Triggers but one are bad; some are damage then encounter, Gnolls are encounter and +3 difficulty.

These numbers include the Add-On deck.

Across all locations in total monster/barrier ratio is roughly equal (= or +/- 1 or 2). 8 favor monsters, 7 favor barriers.

3 traders in base, and you will get them all.

3 loot in base, including Honaire.

I'm off of work today, so I don't mind the effort. I plan to actually read all the cards later and also add to Cartmanbeck's PSA.

As yet unrevealed and completely new Support card:
Defensive Stance. I haven't found how this comes in to play yet.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The new Basic blessings showed a lot of versatility in the first scenario with us last night. I played Simoun and my wife played Estra, which meant I could recharge a blessing for most of her combat checks, which was doubly useful when I was camped at the Ruined Temple, which buries any cards with the Divine trait you play. Blessing of the Ancients recharging when the top blessing discard is a Basic was hugely helpful.

People are probably going to want to zero-in on the dwarf clansman allies that recharge for an explore when the blessings discard is Basic too (there are a few of them, and they're Basic). Having a ton of ways to recharge meant we were able to play the scenario pretty aggressively, where usually we come into the initial Basic scenario ready to burn through our decks like we usually do and come to a worrying realization that we've almost killed ourselves 2/3rds of the way through the scenario.

(Simoun did end the scenario with 0 cards left in her deck, but that was on purpose!)

So with these Basic blessings being so strong when Combat checks and healing ability are lacking, we're in this weird position where we got 3 non-basic Blessings in the first scenario and aren't sure if we actually want any of them right now. We'll probably want them by AD1, of course, but easy-access recharge for your Blessings is something to consider.

...especially when one of the blessings is Nethys. Normally I'd be all like "gimme that!" But Triggers already have me reconsidering default scouting choices (nice touch that Blessing of Ancients is balanced by its compulsory Examine, tho)

Simoun's power to add her perception to barriers with the Obstacle trait came in handy on every barrier I encountered. With most/all of them letting you roll Perception, that meant she was rolling 2d8+4 to roll a six, in some cases. :3 :3 :3 I'm pretty sold on that aspect of her, but I was let down by her other powers, and the fact that she's packing 5 weapons by default (and maxes out at 4 items). I guess it depends if we start getting some better knives with more versatile powers ("d4 to X non-combat check", etc). As it stands now, it seems like she's meant to have one "good" weapon to keep around and recharge the rest--unfortunately, the best Basic ranged weapon is a Blowgun, which only adds a d6 and has the Poison trait. :/ Since we don't peek ahead at cards, I'm hoping there'll be some Ranged stuff in there as interesting as some of the Melee weapons we've already turned over (and promptly ignored). At least having 5 weapons leaves space for Torches--certainly don't mind having a weapon that gives you an explore. Her starting knives recharge to add 1 for each die you roll, which is a nice bit of certainty when you've got limited resources to your Combat checks in the beginning, but I'm sure the need for that will last as long as it ever does (until the first Skill feat)

Estra's ghost is definitely powerful, but requires a touch of micromanagement. Having a d4+d10 before blessings was nice for closing rolls we couldn't really accomplish (6 Strength or Con), but it also means you don't get to use him for other stuff that turn (or for the combat itself, if you're flat-footed without a spell).

As we were playing, my wife's glass of water was sweating on her coaster and we didn't notice as it crept closer and closer to her cards. Fortunately, the only casualty was her Viper Strike spell which I think most people would agree is just about the best card you could lose to table malpractice, especially in a set that seems to involve so many Undead monsters. :<


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The rule book says that some scenarios will tell you to display Defensive Stance, in which case you follow the "During this scenario" text on that card. But I didn't see it listed on any of the base scenarios.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Kiya Toren wrote:
Estra has a sentence below her deck list telling you to add the loot ally Honaire when building your deck.
Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:

Mavaro reads "When building your deck, you may treat any weapons, spells, and armor as items."

Ezren reads "When building your deck, you may treat and blessings that do not have the Divine trait as items."

"When building your deck" means that you do it when you reach the "Build Your Deck" step of Setting Up (even if you don't actually need to build your deck at that point).

Also, for clarity, Estra doesn't tell you to "add" Honaire—she says "When building your deck, include the loot ally Honaire as 1 of your allies." So you don't build your deck and then add Honaire as an additional card—he takes up an ally slot.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So wait, what does that mean for Ezren and Mavaro after the scenario ends? Are they building their deck then? If not, then they don't keep blessings (Ezren) or weapons, spells and armors (Mavaro).

Then, they start the next scenario. They are setting up and get to the point where they would build a deck. Their powers activate, but nothing lets them change their decks at this point. That seems to mean they only get to use that power for the first scenario they play. I'm sure that wasn't the intent, right?

I don't have the rulebook, so maybe there was something tweaked in the setting up section to cover that.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can do it then too.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ah. Ok. Thanks!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Kiya Toren wrote:

Traders:

-Traders give you an option of X+1 boons of their type to choose from, where X is the number of characters visiting that trader. And they have to be from the completed adventure deck number or 1 less than that. But you have to trade them boons with the same deck number restriction. So you can get upgrades, but they won't take just any old pieces of junk.

Please note the FAQ entry on that.


Were the character cards supposed to be packed with the demo pack? Mine are missing :(

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

See the Open Me First card: "To start playing, you will need all of the cards in this pack plus four cards from the smallest shrink-wrapped pack: the character cards for Alahazra, Damiel, Estra, and Zadim."

(If you're curious why the character cards aren't in the Open Me First pack, it's because cards that have checkboxes on them need to be printed without the protective varnish that all the other cards have, which means our printer wants them all on the same press sheet, which means they then get packaged together.)


Ah, missed that. Thanks. Still can't find the character cards though, and after counting through all the cards twice I'm coming up short by 14.

Edit: posted this in the Customer Service forum.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Sounds like the printer left out the pack with the 7 character and 7 role cards. Sorry about that—CS will fix you up!


Any kind soul care to do a full spoiler (or send me photos) of the character and role cards so my friends and I can play this weekend ?


-The B Adventure is officially part of the Adventure Path

Excellent. That is all.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Fatalist wrote:
Any kind soul care to do a full spoiler (or send me photos) of the character and role cards so my friends and I can play this weekend ?

I'd PM you some info if I had them. Sorry.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Fatalist wrote:
Any kind soul care to do a full spoiler (or send me photos) of the character and role cards so my friends and I can play this weekend ?
I'd PM you some info if I had them. Sorry.

No worries :) I got the info I needed.

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I played ADB of Mummy's Mask yesterday. I played Alahazra, and my friend played Simoun. We won all 5 scenarios and nobody died, so it's already an improvement over Wrath, at least on that front. Alahazra DID end up a little close to death in a couple scenarios, and only once was it from unfortunate scouting.

There's some great stuff in this set, including a blessing that you can reveal to add 1d4 to your check to acquire a boon and basic armors that reduce more than combat damage. Shuffling horrible things into the blessings deck seems to be a new thing, but they were mostly manageable, especially with my super Osirion journal that added to my survival checks.

Nethys is a B blessing, as are Abadar and Pharasma. We also see Ra, Wadjet, Horus, and Bastet, and Thoth is the AD1 blessings. It's cool to have two basic blessings to choose from.

All in all, it was a good time. I recommend it for those on the fence. Definitely more Shackles in terms of difficulty/complexity than Wrath.


My group will be happy to hear that Eliandra. The characters also look really interesting to play, and that is without even seeing Role Cards.

Gotta say though, Mavaro seems super flexible with those two powers of his. Best part is, it is worded in such a way it will probably make my friends stay away from him.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

One of the reasons there probably aren't more spoilers posted here is the fact that there are a lot of new cards in this set - the vast majority, from what it looks like so far. It's hard to pick out the real gems and highlights without really playing through it and seeing how all these cards work together to form a cohesive whole. There is a lot to look over, and it looks like we'll all have to get familiar with the set. This is fine, and fun - it's like discovering the game all over again.

A lot of the basic spells are in there - Lightning Touch, Cure, and even that perpetual dog Viper Strike. Augury is a B card. Two Holy Lights, and also Immolate - a 2d4 + Arcane fire attack. The art shows a skeleton in flames...not sure that's 2d4 of damage, looks more like 3d12 - but ok.

There's also a decent variety - not just like 5 of the same weapons, and spells, and whatnot...I don't count more than two of any particular boon, except maybe Cure and blessings. Of course, the way they've broken up the box with the "demo-ready" packaging Kiya highlighted might be obscuring the real number of same cards in there...might be three Porcupine allies (recharge for +1d8 against an animal bane), three Torch and three Whip weapons. Character class deck adds two Embalmers (ally, recharge for +1d4 to Int or bury to evade an undead, or discard to explore) to the two already in the regular box...so yeah, some repeats. But not a ton of cards from prior sets, unlike the big fat bunch of Longswords, Shortbows, Longbows, Quarterstaves, Maces, Standard Bearers, Force Missiles, Blessing of the Gods, Potions of Junkiness (aka Fortitude, etc.) seen again and again in prior sets (and class decks).

Lot of barrier henchmen and villains, it seems. Lots of "TRIGGER" traits on cards, but not all bad - some deity-specific boons that allow you to reveal that deity's blessing to auto-acquire the card when you examine it (e.g., "Brilliance of Ra", a bit of a bonus to fire or non-combat strength item).

Characters are also new - it's awesome to have a druid, cleric, magus, and rogue that aren't the iconics. Hope we see more of this sort of thing in the future; I'm certainly of the opinion that Wrath of the Righteous could have used this (Tarlin from the cleric class deck was practically made for that set). Drelm (the half-orc cleric) looks intriguing - cleric of Abadar (and gets his Abadar or Wadjet blessing recharge on his character card - not role card), adds Divine (d8 Wis +3) against certain barriers (Obstacle / Trap) and has Disable: Wis + 2, but also helps the merchants offer a wider variety of stuff (+1 card when you visit a merchant). I might want to check that guy out.

A lot of the really devastating combos will probably have to emerge as we all get the opportunity to play the game - because most of this is a little new and different.

EDIT: Miau Pakhet was put in there for the furries, no doubt about it.


Can someone please send me pics of the character cards Drelm and Channa Ti?

I received the Base Set from my subscription, but customer service said due to a hiccup in the system I didn't receive the Character Add-on Deck with it (which they are sending soon, but won't arrive by Sunday).

My friends and I are going to play Sunday. I've seen all the character cards except for Drelm and Channa Ti. I prefer to play clerics / support characters:
Runelords: Lem
Skulls: Heggal (cleric class deck)
Wrath: Kyra (Cleric class deck)
Mummy's Mask: Drelm or Channi Ti

Thanks to anyone who can help!!


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Got a couple questions that are more idle musings than actual concerns:

Warehouse's "When Permanently Closed" says "Summon and acquire a weapon, armor, or item." Is this the correct wording? Most places will say something like "draw a random armor from the box." I know, for whatever reason, the Warehouse might want you to activate whatever powers you have that relate specifically to acquiring a card. I also know that different wording for the same concept sometimes sneaks its way onto finished cards and muddies the works, so I figured I'd check.

First Law/Second Law/Third Law (I presume, haven't see it), list their convoluted pass/fail conditions like so: "While displayed, when a character suceeds at a check to defeat a barrier, roll 1d6; if the difficulty of the check was exceeded by that amount or more, each character at that character's location banishes a card or summons and encounters the henchman Voices of the Spire, then banish this card." This is really just a double-check to confirm we're not making the game harder on ourselves, but since "then banish this card" is part of a phrase that starts with "if" and is separated off by a semi-colon, I'm assuming you only banish the card if the bad event happens?

Which is fine and makes sense to me, just making sure, since that means The First Law is a near-certain chance of someone getting Curse of the Ravenous at some point, and Curse of the Ravenous super-duper sucks. :D


Dave Riley wrote:
Warehouse's "When Permanently Closed" says "Summon and acquire a weapon, armor, or item." Is this the correct wording? Most places will say something like "draw a random armor from the box." I know, for whatever reason, the Warehouse might want you to activate whatever powers you have that relate specifically to acquiring a card. I also know that different wording for the same concept sometimes sneaks its way onto finished cards and muddies the works, so I figured I'd check.

I'm guessing that the wording of this card recalls the other "summon and defeat a random monster". It means that you choose a type of boon between weapon, armor or item, draw one at random, then try to acquire. If you succeed, the location is closed/temp closed, if you fail it is not. Both situations, the boon is returned to the box 'cause it was summoned.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Dave Riley wrote:
Warehouse's "When Permanently Closed" says "Summon and acquire a weapon, armor, or item." Is this the correct wording?

Only a dev can answer that one, but I don't see why it wouldn't be. Yes, there are some locations that give you a free card ("draw whatever"); this one makes you work for it - you need to succeed at the check(s) to acquire if you want the card.(on the bright side, this spares you cluttering your discard pile with random junk; also, post AD3, you can at least RFG some Basics)

As for the First Law, yes, you only banish it on the 'bad event' trigger - which will ensure you only suffer the Curse once, but also that you're likely to suffer it this one time.

And since we're in the Spoiler thread - what does that Curse do exactly?


Seconding Longshot. Just because you closed a location doesn't mean you get a freebie, and yes, you're probably going to banish a card or take a curse. There are ways to remove curses, you know.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Gawain Themitya wrote:
I'm guessing that the wording of this card recalls the other "summon and defeat a random monster". It means that you choose a type of boon between weapon, armor or item, draw one at random, then try to acquire. If you succeed, the location is closed/temp closed, if you fail it is not. Both situations, the boon is returned to the box 'cause it was summoned.

In this case, it's on the "When Permanently Closed" box, not the "To Close This Location" box, hence the confusion (it's just a dexterity check to close). If it were to close, it'd all follow to me.

Longshot11 wrote:
Only a dev can answer that one, but I don't see why it wouldn't be. Yes, there are some locations that give you a free card ("draw whatever"); this one makes you work for it - you need to succeed at the check(s) to acquire if you want the card.(on the bright side, this spares you cluttering your discard pile with random junk; also, post AD3, you can at least RFG some Basics)

So I get the idea of making you work for it via "summon and acquire," but I'd also more naturally expect that to be "summon and encounter," since the location is already closed, and the chips can fall where they may--unless there's something implicit in the word "acquire" that means "you keep this even though it's a summoned card" (which is how we've been playing it unconsciously since the beginning--so I'm sure it's simple as that). I just naturally read "summon and acquire" as a pass/fail conditional connected to another action, equal to "summon and defeat," and wanted to vent my thought process a bit.

Curse of the Ravenous, boiled down, is "roll a d4 at the end of your turn, bury all (blessings/weapons&armor/allies/items) in your discard pile." Considerably meaner than the other Curses so far--fortunately, the way our decks are set up right now, between easily rechargable blessings/allies, an ally that recharges a card every time you beat a monster, discard piles stay nearly empty. :D

The options for curse removal don't have a ton of versatility so far (Game of the Afterlife is decent), and we tend to run six locations with two characters, so we keep our decks as broadly optimized as possible and that doesn't leave a lot of room for cards you can't use on almost any given turn. It hasn't been a problem so far--Curse of Poisoning is annoying, but pretty rare (only had it once or twice), and Curse of Vulnerability has practically never been a factor (gotten it plenty of times, maybe had it actually pop, like, twice in 7-8 scenarios). Curse of the Ravenous might have us recalibrate. But we'll see~


EDIT: Nevermind, I was being stupid here.


Dave,

I think you've got it as to why that's not "encounter". If it was "encounter" you couldn't keep it.

You may find it's worth it to have Remove Curse in someone's deck. Sooner or later. Of course it's best in Ezren's since he can explore with it.


Dave Riley wrote:
Gawain Themitya wrote:
I'm guessing that the wording of this card recalls the other "summon and defeat a random monster". It means that you choose a type of boon between weapon, armor or item, draw one at random, then try to acquire. If you succeed, the location is closed/temp closed, if you fail it is not. Both situations, the boon is returned to the box 'cause it was summoned.
In this case, it's on the "When Permanently Closed" box, not the "To Close This Location" box, hence the confusion (it's just a dexterity check to close). If it were to close, it'd all follow to me.

Sorry! For some reason I read everything as it was Tooth & Hookah. Then I'm at loss because summoned boons are banished (Radillo's FAQ). Is it all meant to just meet potential threats like Sebti the Crocodile?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Gawain Themitya wrote:
Sorry! For some reason I read everything as it was Tooth & Hookah. Then I'm at loss because summoned boons are banished (Radillo's FAQ). Is it all meant to just meet potential threats like Sebti the Crocodile?

Here's a Hawkmoon quote, from the thread Dave linked above:

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
WotR Rulebook p15 wrote:
After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise.
When a location says "summon and acquire" the card that instructed you to summon a card tells you to do something with it, acquire it by succeeding at the check to acquire it. And acquiring it means putting it in your hand. So you are being instructed otherwise by the summoning card.


Longshot11 wrote:
Gawain Themitya wrote:
Sorry! For some reason I read everything as it was Tooth & Hookah. Then I'm at loss because summoned boons are banished (Radillo's FAQ). Is it all meant to just meet potential threats like Sebti the Crocodile?

Here's a Hawkmoon quote, from the thread Dave linked above:

Hawkmoon269 wrote:
WotR Rulebook p15 wrote:
After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise.
When a location says "summon and acquire" the card that instructed you to summon a card tells you to do something with it, acquire it by succeeding at the check to acquire it. And acquiring it means putting it in your hand. So you are being instructed otherwise by the summoning card.

Meh, when your eyes can't discern the difference between the normal thread black and the hypertextual link blue. This question was Longshott'd (or Hawkmoon'd, depends on the point of view) since the beginning! Forgive me for my deviant answers then.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Dave Riley wrote:
Curse of the Ravenous, boiled down, is "roll a d4 at the end of your turn, bury all (blessings/weapons&armor/allies/items) in your discard pile." Considerably meaner than the other Curses so far--fortunately, the way our decks are set up right now, between easily rechargable blessings/allies...

Heh. I'm not big on healing, so this may turn out to be my favorite Curse ever. Especially since it only has a 50% chance to affect cards I actually care about (Allies and Blessings); actually, it even has a chance of optimizing the occasional heal, hmm... Funny it doesn't bury spells though.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Healing is awesome. I just played the PACG / PFS "Interactive Special" late last night, and our tables were a well-oiled machine of effectiveness. And the oil greasing the wheels on that machine was named Heggal the cleric.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I'd like some clarity (or just additional thoughts) on the Trigger trait--the rulebook entry is scant. For example, say you play Augury and one of the cards you examine is a Trigger that makes you encounter it. Per "finish one thing before you start another," you'd finish what you were doing with your Augury, then encounter the card. Of course, there seems to be more than a few examples of things where you do NOT finish one thing before starting another.

That's not really what I'm asking about, though. My primary question is how Trigger, and encounters forced by Trigger, interact with cards that grant a combination examine/explore. We know that you can't "bank" additional explores. We also know that "encounter" and "explore" are two separate concepts (a Fortune Teller's free encounter at the beginning of the turn does not waste your free First Exploration) Two examples from our game today, creating questions of whether the explore granted by, say, Blessing of the Ancients, "evaporates" if a Trigger card is examined.

Examining a Curse that says "when you examine this card, display it next to the Blessings deck." So the examined card is out of the way, and not encountered. Are you then permitted to explore? We thought this was a pretty bulletproof Yes.

Examining a Hyena, which instructs you to encounter it when you examine it. Hyena is dealt with. You've had an encounter. Do you then take your granted explore? Given that explores are not encounters, we thought this was a pretty safe bet. But our answer was more like a "........yesssss?"

Mostly just asking for additional opinions, to make sure we're not making the game too easy on ourselves. I could see these "free" explores being kind of a balancing agent for Triggers (usually cards that force you to encounter them are banes--some of them fairly punishing). There's really no reason why it shouldn't work, but I could also see this being a quirk of the rules I'm ignoring/not getting.


I think of an exploration as the power 'Encounter the top card of your location deck', which then immediately starts the steps necessary to encounter cards.
You can use this power once during your turn during your explore step for free, and any additional exploration needs to be given by powers or cards. The first time you use this power, is the first exploration. Card effects that let you encounter things therefore don't interfere with your first exploration - unless they specifically tell you to explore at any point.
So encountering cards due to examining in MM should be completely independent of explorations.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You definitely still get to explore in those two cases. You can encounter things without exploring, and doing so doesn't take away your ability to explore. You finish the examining (which may trigger an encounter) and then you explore.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

That's how I read it.


The way I'm thinking of Augury is you examine all the cards you are examining; then you handle any triggers, in the order they were triggered; then return the non-targeted cards and shuffle the deck; then you place the targeted cards, if any.

I'm not 100% sure that's RAW. It just seems like common sense.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Hawkmoon269 wrote:
You definitely still get to explore in those two cases. You can encounter things without exploring, and doing so doesn't take away your ability to explore. You finish the examining (which may trigger an encounter) and then you explore.

How would you say this interacts with Shalelu ("Reveal to examine the top card; then recharge this card, or discard it to encounter the examined card"?

Do I get a free 'recharge to encounter' on Shalelu as the Trigger comes into effect between her reveal and her recharge/discard. or do I (due to "finish one thing before another") have to decide what I do with Shalelu before playing out the trigger encounter? (I realize the point is moot with the real Shalelu, as if it's the latter case - I would just recharge her anyway and still get the encounter, so lets' pretend her power ends with "...or discard it to encounter the examined card and add +10 to your checks against it")


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
elcoderdude wrote:
The way I'm thinking of Augury is you examine all the cards you are examining; then you handle any triggers, in the order they were triggered;

This seems a bit contradictory to me. You either:

1) treat the 'examine top 3' as a *whole action* (which you claim to do, since you're examining all 3 first, and it's how I also play it) - then all of the Triggers you examined have -in game terms- been triggered simultaneously (imagine, if you will, that due to the *whole action* assumption you spread the top 3 on the table and you flip them at the same time - which one was triggered first??) - and thus, it should be player's choice in what order to encounter them

2)or you examine the cards one by one - thus *triggering* them one by one and encountering them in order


I'm thinking this is going to be an important point as MM continues, and should be made clear.

Do you examine all 3 cards at once, or do you examine 1 card at a time?

I've thought of it as 1 at a time, but I could see an argument for all 3 at once. Then (1) would make sense.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Longshot11 wrote:
Hawkmoon269 wrote:
You definitely still get to explore in those two cases. You can encounter things without exploring, and doing so doesn't take away your ability to explore. You finish the examining (which may trigger an encounter) and then you explore.

How would you say this interacts with Shalelu ("Reveal to examine the top card; then recharge this card, or discard it to encounter the examined card"?

Do I get a free 'recharge to encounter' on Shalelu as the Trigger comes into effect between her reveal and her recharge/discard. or do I (due to "finish one thing before another") have to decide what I do with Shalelu before playing out the trigger encounter? (I realize the point is moot with the real Shalelu, as if it's the latter case - I would just recharge her anyway and still get the encounter, so lets' pretend her power ends with "...or discard it to encounter the examined card and add +10 to your checks against it")

The trigger power happens when you examine. Since the recharge/discard part of Shalelu's power happens after examining (i.e. examine the top card then...) I'd say you have to deal with the trigger before you finish the rest of her power, since the trigger happens "when". In other words, "when" before "then" in powers.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
MM rulebook, p14 wrote:

Sometimes a card allows you to examine one or more cards--that means looking at the specified card and then putting it back where it came from. If a card tells you to examine a deck until you find a particular card type, begin with the top card of that deck and stop when you have found a card of the correct type. Examine the cards in the order you find them, and put them back in the same order unless instructed otherwise. If you don't find a card of the specified type, ignore any directions related to that card. (This does not count as exploring, though it may happen during an exploration.)

If a card allows you to examine a card then encounter it, and the card you examine says that when you examine it, you encounter it, encounter it only once.

Sequencing-wise, Hawkmoon is correct; the trigger happens before Shalelu lets you encounter it. Therefore, Shalelu is always recharged, because you can't encounter it twice in a single examine even if you fail the trigger encounter.

If you are told to examine multiple cards, the rules are less clear. We know that if you're told to examine until you find a card of a particular type, then you examine them one at a time. However, I think that if you're told to examine a bunch of cards at once, that all examines are simultaneous. That would mean that if more than one of those cards had a trigger, you would choose the order in which the triggers are resolved. In other words, I'm treating the sentence "Examine the cards in the order you find them, and put them back in the same order unless instructed otherwise." as specific to the case where you are told to examine until you find a card of a particular type, as that sentence is preceded with and directly followed by other sentences talking specifically about that topic.


Junon wrote:

Can someone please send me pics of the character cards Drelm and Channa Ti?

Huge thanks to Hawkmoon269 for helping me out. My friends and I appreciate being able to check out the only characters we haven't seen before starting Mummy's Mask earlier today (Add-On deck is still on the way). Drelm it is. Thanks again Hawkmoon269!

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Folks, there are a lot of rules questions in here, and making this an "ask any Mummy's Mask rules question thread" is really suboptimal. While I will address the current questions here, please put further rules questions in their own threads in the appropriate forum.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

• Warehouse: Yes, "summon and acquire" is the correct wording, because it's not a gimme, and because if it just said "summon and encounter" you'd have to return it to the box afterward.

• The three Laws: You don't get to banish the Law until the bad thing happens.

• If you have a free exploration coming, and an examination makes you encounter a card, that has no bearing whatsoever on the fact that you've got a free exploration coming. Examining, exploring, and encountering are all different things.

• Regarding examining multiple cards, there's a subtle but important change in the MM examine rules. "Put the cards you examined back in the same order you found them, unless instructed otherwise" has been replaced with "Examine the cards in the order you find them, and put them back in the same order unless instructed otherwise." So whether you are told to examine the top 3 cards of a deck, or to examine a deck until you find an item, you go through the cards you're examining one by one, and because Trigger cards tell you what to do "when you examine" them, that means the triggers go off one by one as they are examined as well.

Let's go in a little deeper on that one. Say you're told to examine the top 3 cards of your location deck, and the first card has the Trigger trait and says "When you examine this card, shuffle your location deck." (Let's call this card "Blackjack Dealer.") It should be obvious that the shuffle is going to change the next card you examine, but what may be less obvious is what happens to the Blackjack Dealer. Remember, at the end of all the examining, you have to "put them back in the same order." So that means you examine the Blackjack Dealer, hold onto it while you shuffle the rest of the deck, examine the next card (which may or may not do things), and examine the third card (which may or may not do things), and then you put back the examined cards with the Blackjack Dealer on top.

1 to 50 of 62 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / *Spoilers* for Mummy's Mask All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.