Retraining UC monk's 1st lvl Bonus Feat


Rules Questions


If you were to play a UC monk of the mantis to level 10, would you be able to retrain your 1st lvl bonus feat to something like medusa's wrath or snatch arrows?


It has to be retrained to something you have access to at that level.

Sczarni

^ what the moustache said.

You could retrain a regular feat you picked up at 1st level into any other feat you now qualify for. But to retrain a class granted bonus feat you could only switch out to something else that would have been available at that level.

And flagged for the Rules Questions Forum.


From how i'm reading the retraining rules, the feat has to be chosen from the pool of feats that the feature granting the feat gives access to regardless of the level you currently are. So I guess the real question is more the question of are the additional feat options added to the pool even though you would never normally gain access to them.


Yeah, while general feat slots don't necessarily have to follow the "must have been legal at that level" rule, class and archetype granted feats must follow the specific restriction laid out in the class feature.

In the case of monks, there is a specified list of feats that can be taken for that class feature. The class feature also further restricts what feats can fill the slot at each class level.

-j


Right, in the monk and UC monk's case, these lists are modified at certain levels so at level 10 you would have an expanded list to select from


You aren't retraining with that in mind. Your feat always needs to be a legal selection at the time you took it, even after retraining.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber
IllusiveViper wrote:
Right, in the monk and UC monk's case, these lists are modified at certain levels so at level 10 you would have an expanded list to select from

The disagreement comes from the fact that you aren't using you 10th level bonus feat, but your 1st level bonus feat, so that expanded list doesn't count.

Retraining wrote:
When you use retraining to replace some aspect of your character, you must meet all prerequisites, requirements, and considerations for whatever you're trying to acquire.

For this discussion, the GM has to decide if the bonus feat must meet the consideration of the 1st level feat list, or if it benefits from the expanded list.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Retraining UC monk's 1st lvl Bonus Feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions