Are there any spells that would make DR apply to Supernatural abilities?


Advice and Rules Questions


So my character has a supernatural ability that at the start of her turn if she claimed a creature(s) the previous turn, she deals xd4 damage to them. This is a supernatural ability and it mentions no damage type.

My DM said he found something that would mean that it applies to DR because its untyped.

I would like to resolve this because it alters my choice in playing the character.


mmmh... normally, DR applies only to weapon or natural weapon/unarmed attacks, not to spells or Su abilities.


What's the ability from?

I'm not sure you've typed it out correctly because

" if she claimed a creature(s) the previous turn"

This feels like it's missing part of it because as you've worded it no one would have any idea what that means, we don't even know what's doing the damage. It's also possibly homebrew or 3rd party.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Spells that do weapon damage damage are effected by dr as normal.

Can you link to the ability?

Anyway, Nothing stops the GM from using homebrew or 3rd party stuff.


Do you mean that the ability can deal damage and does x4 damage if you killed someone the previous round? Or do you mean that the ability makes all your damage done multiply by 4 if you killed someone the previous round?

The Exchange

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm assuming it does a specific number of four sided dice as damage.


ill try to be more specific, im a crimson countess, its a archetype of the harbinger. when the character uses her dark claim ability, it triggers her crimson claim ability, after a countess uses dark claim on any number of creatures (she can claim a number of creatures within close range of her +5ft per level, 45ft at this point, she can claim a number of creatures equal to her intelligence modifier, 5 at this point) this ability allows her to deal 2d4 damage at the start of her turn as a free action to her opponents that have been claimed. this damage is supernatural and untyped. this happens for a number of rounds equal to half her level so 4 rounds right now.


Based on that I'm pretty sure DR wouldn't apply.


It's one of those Path of War classes.

Had a look at the ability. DR does not apply.

DR applies to damage from weapons and the odd spell or ability that does piercing, slashing or bludgeoning damage.

This is as you described, untyped damage that automatically affects someone who has been targeted by this ability. Normally this thing would be typed to explain how they where getting damage, curse, mind affect, force, etc but it's not (probably because it's 3rd party), not a major game breaker or anything, nice ability.


NoTongue wrote:

It's one of those Path of War classes.

Had a look at the ability. DR does not apply.

DR applies to damage from weapons and the odd spell or ability that does piercing, slashing or bludgeoning damage.

This is as you described, untyped damage that automatically affects someone who has been targeted by this ability. Normally this thing would be typed to explain how they where getting damage, curse, mind affect, force, etc but it's not (probably because it's 3rd party), not a major game breaker or anything, nice ability.

To be fair, if 3PP is allowed it isn't PFS and so it works the way the DM wants it to. It is actually a fairly powerful ability in a low power game (15 pt buy and the like) so I definitely could see a DM limiting it to keep someone from wiping the board every fight.

@OP You aren't running an "organizated" play type game where things need to be more stringent rules wise. Be thankful the GM is letting you play PoW (many won't as it is a straight upgrade on all martial classes, core classes are pretty crappy in comparison). Instead of coming here asking how, you should be talking to the GM with the understanding that maybe they just don't want it deal with "free" damage that kills half the encounters with no recourse. It is the type of situation that might end up with you no longer being able to play the class anymore if you really push the subject. Dealing with DR vs one ability or not being able to play the character? I know which one I would choose.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Third-Party Pathfinder RPG Products / Advice and Rules Questions / Are there any spells that would make DR apply to Supernatural abilities? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice and Rules Questions