wildshape while grappled


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Can a Druid wildshape or become an elemental while grappled?

Example. Lets say that a Druid is in humanoid form and is then grappled by a creature or even a spell. Would they be aple to wildshape into something smaller or to an elemental to escape?

Would they still take an AO or still need to break the grapple?

I'd say they would still have to break grapple.

Please clarify and if this in in the books, what page is it on?

Thanks


Yes, you can activate supernatural abilities while grappled. Wildshape is a supernatural ability.

Rules: The grappled condition requires that you make a concentration check to use a spell or spell-like ability while grappled. (CRB p567)
There is no such wording for supernatural abilities.

Additionally, being smaller will make your life worse, not better, when trying to make a CMB check to escape a grapple. It may help Escape Artist checks if you gain dexterity.

As for elementals, there is nothing about being an elemental that will help you avoid or escape a grapple check unless it improves your CMB/CMD or Escape Artist skill.

Finally, Supernatural abilities (such as Wild Shape) do not provoke an Attack of Opportunity. (CRB p221)


Yes

Wild Shape (Su)

Supernatural Abilities (Su)

Supernatural abilities are magical but not spell-like. Supernatural abilities are not subject to spell resistance and do not function in areas where magic is suppressed or negated (such as an antimagic field). A supernatural ability's effect cannot be dispelled and is not subject to counterspells. See Table: Special Ability Types for a summary of the types of special abilities.

The druid can wildshape while grappled. Grappling someone that can turn into a huge fireelemental may not be your best career move.


As said, you can use wildshape supernatural ability on a grapple.
But that bring me a question, If a druid wildshapes on a large creature when a medium monster are grappling you with the grab ability, the monster must release her?

Grab:
If a Creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal Damage and attempts to start a grapple as a Free Action without provoking an attack of opportunity. Unless otherwise noted, grab can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the Creature with this ability. If the Creature can use grab on creatures of other sizes, it is noted in the creature's Special Attacks line. The Creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 Penalty on its CMB check to make and maintain the grapple, but does not gain the grappled condition itself. A successful hold does not deal any extra Damage unless the Creature also has the Constrict special attack. If the Creature does not Constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the Damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction Damage as well (the amount is given in the creature's descriptive text).

Creatures with the grab special attack receive a +4 bonus on Combat Maneuver checks made to start and maintain a grapple.

Format: grab; Location: individual attacks.


DMs call but probably not. You were a legal target when grabbed and you are a legal target for the current grapple.


Gauss wrote:

Y

As for elementals, there is nothing about being an elemental that will help you avoid or escape a grapple check unless it improves your CMB/CMD or Escape Artist skill.

Becoming a Fire Elemental just might make a tad of a difference.


Drahliana Moonrunner,

How does being a fire elemental make a difference unless it modifies CMB/CMD or Escape Artist skill?

If you mean the 'burn' ability, that won't help you avoid being grappled.

Elementals, including fire elementals, have no special immunity to being grappled.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Immunity, no. But it very much would be a factor in whether they might want to continue grappling you.

If your opponent no longer wishes to grapple you because you are on fire, this means the shape-shifting helped you escape the grapple.


Burn doesn't do much damage.
At level 6 2.5avg damage/round is barely worth noticing.
At level 8 3.5avg damage/round is even less noticeable.
At level 10 4.5avg damage/round is a pittance.
Finally, at level 12, 11avg damage/round is finally, maybe, noticeable but at that point being Huge is going to have a much more drastic effect on the grapple itself than the 11avg damage you do from burn.

In any case, it has no bearing on the grapple itself and that was what the OP seemed to be wondering with the question regarding turning into an elemental to escape.


Brushhy wrote:

As said, you can use wildshape supernatural ability on a grapple.

But that bring me a question, If a druid wildshapes on a large creature when a medium monster are grappling you with the grab ability, the monster must release her?

** spoiler omitted **

The benefit of grab, and the restriction applies to giving the creature the free grapple attempt when it hits, but there are no restrictions on grappling larger creatures. So it would remain grappled. Just future attacks will no longer give free grapple attempts.

Sorry if not clear, wrote on a phone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / wildshape while grappled All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.