Thieves' Tools and Holy Water


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1). Could Thieves' Tools be discarded to pass ANY barrier, including those that are looking not like locks and bolts? Such as Merchant's Daughter or Collapsed Ceiling, for example.
(The same question about Burglar, of course)

2). Holy Water could be used to evade or win undead of some defeat level. But what if undead's defeat level is enhanced by some circumstance?
For example, if I have "received" two Haunts and met Iesha Foxglove - her defeat level becomes 13+2, so does it mean, that I can't throw Holy Water to evade her, or counts only her basic level?


3). Sometimes adventurers suffer from negative consequences when failing a check for acquire boon - for example, in the scenario Local Heroes, or in the location Glass Workshop.
What if they refuse to make a check - it counts as failed for such purposes, or not?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You'd be surprised by what kinds of useful things you can find in a decent set of thieves' tools. A crowbar has also been known to be useful against the Merchant's Daughter. Don't worry if it doesn't make thematic sense; better to try to come up with imaginative reasons why the cards work as they do.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

1) Yes, those cards only care that you are using them on a Barrier.

2) If a check to defeat is modified (as with Haunts or Veterans) then it is the modified difficulty that matters.

3) Just as an evaded bane is neither defeated nor undefeated, choosing not to attempt the check to acquire will not result in a check being succeeded nor failed, so Glassworks and Local Heroes impose no penalty if you don't attempt to acquire. You will still banish the boon. Note that some powers, like Burglar's, do trigger if you do not acquire, which would happen if you do not try or try and fail.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:
3) Just as an evaded bane is neither defeated nor undefeated, choosing not to attempt the check to acquire will not result in a check being succeeded nor failed,

Very incorrect. EDIT: I am incorrect.

Rulebook pg 10 wrote:
Attempt the Check. If the card is a boon, you may try to acquire it for your deck; if it’s a bane, you must try to defeat it (see Attempting a Check, below). If you choose not to acquire a boon, it counts as failing to acquire it.

You may choose not to acquire a boon but it does count as failing the check to acquire. Any time you are penalized by a location power or a scenario power (or similar power), you would be penalized if you choose not to acquire the boon.

However, if you have the ability to evade, like CD Merisiel or Arueshalae, you could evade and not be penalized.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Theryon Stormrune wrote:


You may choose not to acquire a boon but it does count as failing the check.

I'll have to strongly disagree with Theryon here.

*Choosing* not to attempt to acquire a boon counts as *failing to acquire the boon* (so, Burglar's negative effect would be triggered)

It does NOT count as *failing a CHECK to acquire* (as you're not attempting a check at all) and as such it would NOT trigger the Glassworks effect. (basically, what Malcolm_Reynolds said)

(The Glassworks scenario in particular cause some debates over at Obsidian's, as in their app they haven't implemented the option to deny a boon - you always roll the dice, and as such you have a much harder time with this location than you should)

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I'm incorrect about the check to acquire. It just counts against acquiring the boon.


Vic agreeing with Longshot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Thieves' Tools and Holy Water All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion