Kineticist: Unraveling Infusion Questions


Rules Questions


So the Fire Kineticist Unraveling Infusion power allows you to use Targeted Dispel Magic.

Unraveling Infusion:

Element(s) fire; Type substance infusion; Level 5; Burn 3
Associated Blasts blue flame, fire
Saving Throw none

Your kinetic blast burns so hot that it melts away your foe's magical effects. Whenever your infused blast hits a foe and penetrates its spell resistance, you can attempt a caster level check as if using a targeted dispel magic before determining whether the foe takes damage from the blast. You can choose to reduce the blast's damage by half to increase your bonus on the caster level check by 2. If you don't choose a specific spell effect to attempt to dispel, you automatically attempt to dispel effects that would protect the target from fire damage before other spells.

The description describes the most common case for Targeted Dispel but doesn't cover the other two cases described in the spell

Targeted Dispel:
One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.

For example, a 7th-level caster casts dispel magic, targeting a creature affected by stoneskin (caster level 12th) and fly (caster level 6th). The caster level check results in a 19. This check is not high enough to end the stoneskin (which would have required a 23 or higher), but it is high enough to end the fly (which only required a 17). Had the dispel check resulted in a 23 or higher, the stoneskin would have been dispelled, leaving the fly intact. Had the dispel check been a 16 or less, no spells would have been affected.

You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire). You must name the specific spell effect to be targeted in this way. If your caster level check is equal to or higher than the DC of that spell, it ends. No other spells or effects on the target are dispelled if your check is not high enough to end the targeted effect.

If you target an object or creature that is the effect of an ongoing spell (such as a monster summoned by summon monster), you make a dispel check to end the spell that conjured the object or creature.

If the object that you target is a magic item, you make a dispel check against the item's caster level (DC = 11 + the item's caster level). If you succeed, all the item's magical properties are suppressed for 1d4 rounds, after which the item recovers its magical properties. A suppressed item becomes nonmagical for the duration of the effect. An interdimensional opening (such as a bag of holding) is temporarily closed. A magic item's physical properties are unchanged: A suppressed magic sword is still a sword (a masterwork sword, in fact). Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.

You automatically succeed on your dispel check against any spell that you cast yourself.

I have several questions on how this would play out outside of just using this with a touch attack blast on a target.


  • If you combine this Infusion with a Form Infusion such as Eruption where it would hit everyone in a 10x40 foot cylindar. Do all targets get hit with a targeted dispel?
  • If there is an ongoing effect such as Fog Cloud within the area is it also hit with the targeted dispel?
  • What about just hitting a square in the ongoing effect with an AC 5 ranged touch would that allow you to dispel?
  • What about magic items can you target them as you would with the spell? Such as directly attacking someones magical sword?


mindbane wrote:

•If you combine this Infusion with a Form Infusion such as Eruption where it would hit everyone in a 10x40 foot cylindar. Do all targets get hit with a targeted dispel?

•If there is an ongoing effect such as Fog Cloud within the area is it also hit with the targeted dispel?

•What about just hitting a square in the ongoing effect with an AC 5 ranged touch would that allow you to dispel?

•What about magic items can you target them as you would with the spell? Such as directly attacking someones magical sword?

If you use an AoE form infusion with the unraveling infusion, then yea, all the creatures hit (and that you bypassed SR if applicable) get whammied by targeted dispel.

Unraveling infusion specifically states hitting foes, so you'd only be able to target creatures for the targeted dispel affect, not the usual dispel magic choice of "one object, creature, or spell". This is a trade-off with the potentially at-will targeted dispel (against creatures) effect of unraveling kinetic blasts.


So I see what you are saying and the word choice of foe makes things tricky. The issue I take with a strict ruling would mean you couldn't use it to remove debuffs from allies.

Also it says foe's magic effects in the first sentence which would include ongoing effects such as Fog Cloud or Wall of Fire.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Kineticist: Unraveling Infusion Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.