Primal Elementalist Sorcerer with Summoner as secondary class


Rules Questions


Would a 9th level primal (fire) elementalist with summoner as a secondary class be able to apply his Elementalist Summoning ability to his Eidolon? The ability is not restricted to only spells. It just says "whenever you summon a creature it gains energy resistance 10 against the energy type and it's natural attacks deal an additional 1d6 points of damage of the same energy type".


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Secondary class?

If you mean through Variant Multiclassing, then yes, the eidolon gains energy resistance.

If you mean ordinary multiclassing, I believe it still gains the energy resistance; bloodlines tend to be on a character basis and not restricted to the class.

Dark Archive

If it's not limited to spells like you said, then yes. It's a terrible dip for a Summoner though. It might be worth it with variant multiclassing. Alternatively, you could look into Spheres of Power. It's third party stuff, but the Conjuration Sphere in combination with the Advanced Magical Training feat and maybe the Bokor prestige class sounds like something that would work for you.

Scratch that. The Incanter class (also Spheres of Power) can choose to take a Bloodline at the cost of a couple of bonus feats. That's actually pretty nifty.

Edit: It might not be worth giving up those bonus feats though. You could simply spend those on talents so your Companion gains energy resistance and extra energy damage on attacks. The other stuff from the bloodline would be what makes it worth it, but that would still cost you 5 bonus feats at level 20, or 2 at level 9, while your Companion would be better of with those 2 bonus feats/talents.

At the cost of 3 feats your Summoner is able to get Improved Eldritch Heritage at level 11. That might still not be worth it, though...

Another edit: You could also spend those 3 feats on Extra Evolution which grants your Eidolon Energy Attacks and Energy Resistance.

Conclusion: If you want this, it's only worth it for the extra stuff the bloodline gives you. Otherwise, just focus on Summoner or Incanter with the Conjuration Sphere.


Yes I did mean variant multiclassing. I was almost sure it would work but I had not seen this discussed like the augment summoning feat. I know the feat does not apply to the Eidolon but the elementalist summoning class ability does not limit it to just spells.

Dark Archive

I'm still kinda intrigued by this. At level 9, you'd be able to summon an Eidolon once per day for 7 rounds. The Eidolon will have 4 hit dice and 4 evolution points. I'd say you're wasting 2 feats at this level.

Is there something I'm missing? Sure, you could add summoning spells so you can make more use of this ability, and your Eidolon will get stronger at higher levels. At level 20 you'd be able to summon your Eidolon 3 times per day for 18 rounds?

At least you turned my attention to another option for my Ponymancer build, and for that I thank you.


the David wrote:

I'm still kinda intrigued by this. At level 9, you'd be able to summon an Eidolon once per day for 7 rounds. The Eidolon will have 4 hit dice and 4 evolution points. I'd say you're wasting 2 feats at this level.

Is there something I'm missing? Sure, you could add summoning spells so you can make more use of this ability, and your Eidolon will get stronger at higher levels. At level 20 you'd be able to summon your Eidolon 3 times per day for 18 rounds?

At least you turned my attention to another option for my Ponymancer build, and for that I thank you.

The Eidolon would stay until it was killed or you are unconscious. The other summons are 1 round per effective summoner level.

Dark Archive

"Eidolon: At 7th level, he gains the ability to summon an eidolon, using the statistics of an eidolon for a summoner of his character level – 4, except with half as many evolution points. This eidolon can only be summoned using his summon monster spell-like ability."

I assumed that since you use your summon monster spell-like ability, it only lasts as long as your summon monster spell-like ability. I admit I could be wrong though, the wording isn't very clear.


The summoner does exactly the same thing. The Eidolon stays until killed or the summoner is unconscious and creatures summoned stay for 1 minute a level. They both use his summon monster ability and he can not summon monsters if he has his Eidolon summoned.

Dark Archive

Could you give an exact quote for that?

Also this.


P.56 of the Advanced Player's Guide. Also P.55

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Primal Elementalist Sorcerer with Summoner as secondary class All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.