Choir of Blades + Hunter + AC


Rules Questions


So, at least in PFS, animal companions are restricted from taking weapon proficiency.

Now, I was just looking at the Choir of Blades teamwork feat. It allows an ally with the feat to have all of your racial weapon proficiencies.

I have a Tengu Hunter. Hunters give all of their teamwork feats to their animal companions. Tengus have a racial proficiency in all sword like weapons. Could I then give my AC a racial proficiency in all swords?

I'm going to step back while people throw fruit at me.


Quote:
...ancestral arms, weapon familiarity, or any other racial trait that grants weapon proficiencies, you also gain those proficiencies.

Yes, but your Animal companion needs hands to wield the weapon, there are no rules for pulling off a Sif.


No in Pathfinder anyway. Ponyfinder*, on the other hand...

*Guessing that this isn't for PFS only since it's a general rules question.

Silver Crusade

Diminuendo wrote:
Quote:
...ancestral arms, weapon familiarity, or any other racial trait that grants weapon proficiencies, you also gain those proficiencies.
Yes, but your Animal companion needs hands to wield the weapon, there are no rules for pulling off a Sif.

Actually I think you CAN but I would need to check the Animal Archive book for that. Even so it would take a fair bit of work to get it going. Far more than it would be worth.


I'm at 11th level with a large ape AC.

Hand him a greatsword and cast Animal Growth.

This is only theoretical though. If I tried to bring this to a table I would fully expect blunt force trauma from a core rule book.


Kifaru wrote:

I'm at 11th level with a large ape AC.

Hand him a greatsword and cast Animal Growth.

This is only theoretical though. If I tried to bring this to a table I would fully expect blunt force trauma from a core rule book.

Sounds legit to me. Apes have hands. Hands can hold swords. If you didn't take the teamwork feat he'd have a nonproficiency penalty.


Claxon wrote:
Claxon wrote:
Also see this blogpost and this one too.
Quoting myself from a previous thread for convenience. These two blog posts combined help to elucidate what happens.

Quoting myself quoting myself.

The end result is probably no, your animal companion wont use swords. Even if they are proficient.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Claxon wrote:
no, your animal companion wont use swords. Even if they are proficient.

Me, quoting you quoting yourself, also saying no.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yep. I know. This post was mostly just joke with a punchline something like "You can teach an ape how to use a greatsword, but you can't make him murder-hobo".


Kifaru wrote:
Yep. I know. This post was mostly just joke with a punchline something like "You can teach an ape how to use a greatsword, but you can't make him murder-hobo".

Touche

Sovereign Court

If its just for the visual, have the Ape take Perform(Sword-drill) or something like that. So you can 'show off' how proficient your ape is with weapons, and then combat starts and it goes 'ape' and starts pummeling things with its fists.


This is an old thread that was necro'd by an advertising bot (not Firebug, the post above which will hopefull be removed).


The spam's gone now, yeah.

Sovereign Court

Wow, I noticed the reporting bot and flagged it, thought about the thread and didn't notice the dates... there is a reason necromancy is frowned upon...


Another bot (what's with this thread?)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Choir of Blades + Hunter + AC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.