what happens to a bag of holding if you turn it inside out?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


also pretend that you have emptied it of all its current contents so you don't make a mess.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Good question.

Either... absolutely nothing, you have an inside-out bag with the seams showing (still functions as a bag of holding).
Or you have an inside-out bag with the seams showing (and the magic doesn't function).
Or you've just stuffed it too full (topographically speaking you just tried to put the whole plane inside the bag), it ruptures, and the "contents" (heh, the entire plane you're on) are lost forever.

Hey, maybe that's what happened to Golarion in Starfinder!

Liberty's Edge

RAW the bag probably ruptures or does not operate.

But still, it is a fun idea!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Rules wrote:
If a bag of holding is turned inside out, all of its contents spill out, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again.

Anything else is just your DM playing with your mind. <g>


i was just thinking where would you put your name/family crest on a bag of holding with out having to worry about it being damaged. and then i thought to myself is "hey can i turn the thing inside out and put it there?".


i mean its already got a magical aura about it you can slip a tracking spell or mark or similar into its making or placed inside the bag.


I'd personally rule that it would be impossible to do so in accordance to your size, due based on the magical interior.

I'm not saying you can't, for example, turn it upside down, shake it, and have all of the contents drop out like any other container, but it would be very difficult for a medium sized creature (which is no taller than 8 feet) be able to reach their ~3 foot long arms into it, when the bag of holding has a ridiculous amount of size in it, able to hold a minimum of 30 cubic feet, up to a grand total of 250 cubic feet.

**EDIT**

Of course, as Wheldrake quoted above, it can be possible, but I'd have to say a Large or above creature would really only be physically able to grab an interior side of a bag, to pull it inside out (and thus while inside out, the magic ceases function until reset).

I won't lie, when I say that an inside-out Bag of Holding (which wouldn't technically detect as magic) being placed in a random area for players to stumble upon would be pretty hilarious for them to pass over.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Wheldrake wrote:
Rules wrote:
If a bag of holding is turned inside out, all of its contents spill out, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again.
Anything else is just your DM playing with your mind. <g>

There you go, bringing your "rules" into my way of trapping an entire plane of existence.


One of two things will happen, depending on the maliciousness of the DM:
- Either the Bag bursts open and is destroyed, or
- The entire Material Plane is now on the Astral Plane.

Why, do you ask? Well, it's a bit of a comedic take on the matter, but by turning the bag inside out, "inside" and "outside" have just switched places. That means you just put the entire universe into one single bag (the inside is the extradimensional space, not the outside lining). As the item description clearly says, if it's overloaded the bag ruptures and everything spills out again. However, since the entire world is in that bag, there's probably also a few Portable Holes in there as well. Which means the the hole, the bag, and everything within a ten-foot radius are drawn into the resulting rift. But, since we've already established the entire world is inside the Bag, we all shift to the Astral Plane.

Thank God there hasn't been a Gnome who had the same question. He would've just done it, instead of discussing it with his friends.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

so... I'd have to say to turn it inside out you'd probably have to be able to find the inside of the bag... and then somehow move it, I don't believe it's possible.

basically I don't think the bag's outside is related to it;s inside at all, when you try to do it, the bag would contact itself and wouldn't move through the opening since that's where the portal is.

to further express this, I don't think if you used a 10 foot spear and put it in the bag would you end up scraping the interior of the bag, I think the bag simply contains a volume of matter and if it gets too much is ruptures.

If this doesn't make sense to you, it's probably because portals in space time are supposed to be 3-D objects like a sphere or disc or a donut even, to put a portal at the opening of a bag or along the surface of a wall is problematic in just about every way possible.


Arcane mark would be the only way to mark either surface. To turn it inside out you must push the outside through the opening.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I attempted a visualization

I'm not sure if it even works like this.


D@rK-SePHiRoTH- wrote:

I attempted a visualization

I'm not sure if it even works like this.

lol


doesn't anything inside a bag of holding you want come to your hand? also it was a bag of holding 1. bag of holding 1 can hold 250 pounds at max yet has the space of 30 cubic feet >.> should hold more then that.


It creates a spot where clearly something should be there, but you can put your hand through. Only when you realize that you are looking at the inside can you set things right.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
zainale wrote:
doesn't anything inside a bag of holding you want come to your hand?

Nope, that's the handy haversack, not bag of holding.

Quote:
also it was a bag of holding 1. bag of holding 1 can hold 250 pounds at max yet has the space of 30 cubic feet >.> should hold more then that.

I dunno, just over 3 feet on a side (about 3' 1") cube, max weight 250 sounds pretty reasonable to me - you'd only notice if you were trying to fill it with metal, since it's about 4 folded king size quilts, which is waaaaaaay less than 250 lbs.


Chemlak wrote:
I dunno, just over 3 feet on a side (about 3' 1") cube, max weight 250 sounds pretty reasonable to me - you'd only notice if you were trying to fill it with metal, since it's about 4 folded king size quilts, which is waaaaaaay less than 250 lbs.

There's not much that you could fill a bag of holding with to the brim and not have it be way over the weight limit. A cubic yard of loose paper is 650 pounds, sand would be 2,500, water is 1,860, empty glass bottles would be 1,000, loaves of bread would be 540, rope would be 1,260 (and be about a mile and a quarter of rope). Fluffy loose clothing just barely makes it, at 225 pounds. Popped popcorn would be fine, only about 60 pounds, but unpopped would be about 1,000.

Sources: https://your.kingcounty.gov/solidwaste/business/documents/Conversions.pdf
http://www.aqua-calc.com/


a small Portable hole...


Bag Type
Bag Weight Contents Limit Contents Volume Limit Market Price
I 15 lbs. 250 lbs. 30 cubic ft. 2,500 gp
II 25 lbs. 500 lbs. 70 cubic ft. 5,000 gp
III 35 lbs. 1,000 lbs. 150 cubic ft. 7,400 gp
IV 60 lbs. 1,500 lbs. 250 cubic ft. 10,000 gp

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/a-b/bag-o f-holding
did the guy copy this wrong?


A micro-cosmic... BUUURRRP!


How do you know that OUR universe isn't just an inside out bag of holding?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / what happens to a bag of holding if you turn it inside out? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.