Noob question about skill checks


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The location Apothecary says to close it you have to succeed at an intelligence or craft 6 check. Ezren has a D12 intelligence, but cannot he not use his Arcane Intelligence bonus +2 or does it specifically have to say Arcane as part of the checks.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Cubert Farnsworth wrote:
The location Apothecary says to close it you have to succeed at an intelligence or craft 6 check. Ezren has a D12 intelligence, but cannot he not use his Arcane Intelligence bonus +2 or does it specifically have to say Arcane as part of the checks.

He only gets his Arcane bonus when it's an Arcane check.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Absolutely. And reverse is true too. If there is an Arcane check and a character doesn't have the arcane skill, he can just roll a D4, not his intelligence die.


And just to make sure that I have a perfect understanding for this for example the henchman poison trap check to defeat is dexterity disable if I have Harsk using his dexterity he can only use the d8 not his ranged +3 bonus is that correct


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Cubert Farnsworth wrote:
And just to make sure that I have a perfect understanding for this for example the henchman poison trap check to defeat is dexterity disable if I have Harsk using his dexterity he can only use the d8 not his ranged +3 bonus is that correct

Skills derived from other skills, like Harsk's Dexterity +3 for Ranged, are separate skills. So it's irrelevant that Harsk has a Ranged skill when he is trying to defeat a Poison Trap. His options are Dexterity or Disable. Since he doesn't have the Disable skill, if he chose that, he would only get a d4. Probably Harsk wants to use his Dexterity and get a d8. But maybe he has a card like Masterwork Tools that adds to his Disable checks, then he might use Disable. But not Ranged.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
jones314 wrote:
Cubert Farnsworth wrote:
And just to make sure that I have a perfect understanding for this for example the henchman poison trap check to defeat is dexterity disable if I have Harsk using his dexterity he can only use the d8 not his ranged +3 bonus is that correct
Skills derived from other skills, like Harsk's Dexterity +3 for Ranged, are separate skills. So it's irrelevant that Harsk has a Ranged skill when he is trying to defeat a Poison Trap. His options are Dexterity or Disable. Since he doesn't have the Disable skill, if he chose that, he would only get a d4. Probably Harsk wants to use his Dexterity and get a d8. But maybe he has a card like Masterwork Tools that adds to his Disable checks, then he might use Disable. But not Ranged.

Explaining all of this in one paragraph may be a bit confusing.

There are some skills based on other skills: in this case, (class deck version of) Harsk has Ranged: Dexterity +3, Fortitude: Constitution +2, Perception: Wisdom +1 and Survival: Wisdom +1. When a check requires specific skills like Dexterity/Disable 5 for Poison Trap, it is only those skills that it requires. In Harsk's case, he does have Dexterity (d10 plus any skill feats put into Dexterity) but he does not have Disable. His Ranged skill would not add since the check does not specify Ranged. So for the Poison Trap, without playing any other cards, Harsk would be rolling a d10 plus any skill feats you've given Harsk towards Dexterity. (If you had gained a skill feat as a reward, you might have applied it to Dexterity. Then you'd be Dexterity +1 and so on.)

If a check specifies a skill that you do not possess, you have a base d4 to roll. For instance, if Harsk was attempting a check (to acquire a spell) of Arcane/Divine 4, he does not have either of those skills. He would only be able to use a base die of d4.

There are cards that would add to skills. As mentioned, Masterwork Tools and other cards add dice or numeric bonuses to skill checks. So it may be better to use that base d4 and add the additional bonuses from the card(s).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Noob question about skill checks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion