Will a Furious Weapon be triggered by Focused Rage?


Rules Questions


With the release of so many new classes with similar sounding abilities, things have suddenly gotten very nuanced with regards to what counts as what (such as Swasbuckler Weapon Training not counting for Gloves of Dueling). I'm trying to find out - definitively, if possible, for the purposes of PFS - if the Focused Rage class feature of the Barbarian archetype Urban Barbarian qualifies as Rage for the purposes of using a weapon with the Furious quality.

Here is the text of the entries as I have them:

Furious:
This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons. A furious weapon serves as a focus for its wielder’s anger. When the wielder is raging or under the effect of a rage spell, the weapon’s enhancement bonus is +2 better than normal. If the wielder has a rage power that gives a skill bonus while raging (such as raging climber, raging leaper, or raging swimmer), the wielder gains an enhancement bonus to that skill whenever the weapon is wielded or held in her hand, even when she is not raging. This bonus is equal to the enhancement bonus of the weapon (and also includes the +2 if the wielder is raging).

Controlled Rage (Ex):
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution. This bonus increases to +6 when she gains greater rage and +8 when she gains mighty rage. She may apply the full bonus to one ability score or may split the bonus between several scores in increments of +2. When using a controlled rage, an urban barbarian gains no bonus on Will saves, takes no penalties to AC, and can still use Intelligence-, Dexterity-, and Charisma-based skills. This ability otherwise follows the normal rules for rage.

The final line seems to settle it for me, but I'm looking for some sort of quasi-official confirmation, or at least a good argument should I be challenged on it.

Thanks in advance!


yes. It's rage still.


Yes, Controlled Rage still counts as rage. If you want even more proof, look at the first line of the ability:

Controlled Rage wrote:
When an urban barbarian rages, instead of making a normal rage she may apply a +4 morale bonus to her Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution.

This ability would do nothing at all if she weren't able to rage.


Controlled Rage (Ex):
When an urban barbarian rages

that says flat out you're raging

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Will a Furious Weapon be triggered by Focused Rage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions