What happens to existing held chronicle sheets if a PC dies in an earlier level?


Pathfinder Society


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Scenario: A player has earned a number of chronicle sheets that his PFS character has not attained the character levels to have the chronicle sheets applied to his character yet. Then he plays his character in a lower-level scenario and dies. What happens to the accrued held chronicle sheets?

The above becomes even more important with the new changes to the PFS guide regarding that a player must choose the PFS character to apply pre-gen towards before playing the scenario. Common sense theory would mean the held chronicle sheets should be applied to a different PFS character number - since it does not make sense that a character who died permanently at a lower level went on to adventure in scenarios post-death.

My entire months-long plans could be wasted as my players are accruing and holding a number of higher-level chronicle sheets for their PFS characters so that after I finish running the AP and then a few low-level PFS scenarios so that their PFS characters will be high enough level to have the held chronicle sheets be applied so I can run a sanctioned high-level module for their characters. I then plan on running them through an entire PFS scenario campaign with the last chronicle sheet from the AP applied to brand new level 1 characters (using the over 200 dollars worth of scenarios I purchased last month).

I do not want to break away from the current AP to play a few low level scenarios for their PFS characters which they will not be playing again for over a year) just to ensure their PFS characters are not at risk of dying and the players permanently losing the benefits of the 10 chronicle sheets they will have earned (6 from AP, 4 from PnP) from playing and earning chronicle sheet credit for over a years worth of play time. My players are having a blast with the AP and having to pause the campaign for at least 6 weeks (we only play once per 2 weeks)could cause one of the players to lose interest in showing up (because he joined the group to play a steady campaign, not one that gets paused for weeks at a time).

Grand Lodge 2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"It sucks to be you, you shouldn't have played a pregen" seems to be the going answer right now.

The Exchange

I do not understand, why you cannot play up to the point of the pregen death then use your resources to retrieve your body and gear and ressurrect maybe? or even another tier system such as...lvl 1-4 Raise dead (gold or PP). lvl 5- 8 Raise dead (gold or PP) and rescue team 5pp, lvl 9-12 Resurrection (gold or pp).

Sovereign Court 5/5

leonvios wrote:
I do not understand, why you cannot play up to the point of the pregen death then use your resources to retrieve your body and gear and ressurrect maybe? or even another tier system such as...lvl 1-4 Raise dead (gold or PP). lvl 5- 8 Raise dead (gold or PP) and rescue team 5pp, lvl 9-12 Resurrection (gold or pp).

I believe the question was asking about a PC that has one or more chronicles earned with a higher level PC, (say a 7th level Pregen) that dies before gaining enough PP/gold/gimmicks etc. to be Raised.

In other words, your typical 2nd level guy who has 4 XP and something like 2K of total WBL. And maybe 6 PP. But has 1 or more chronicles that would have been assigned to him if he just made it to higher level.

And the answer appears to be... you enshrine them with the rest of the paperwork for that PC. All gone now... all you got left and the memories, (and the record that you played those games and can never play them again).

Sovereign Court 3/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I didn't think the 1-5s were so deadly as to be a worry.


leonvios wrote:
I do not understand, why you cannot play up to the point of the pregen death then use your resources to retrieve your body and gear and ressurrect maybe? or even another tier system such as...lvl 1-4 Raise dead (gold or PP). lvl 5- 8 Raise dead (gold or PP) and rescue team 5pp, lvl 9-12 Resurrection (gold or pp).

My question is not regarding a higher level (held) chronicle sheet that a pre-gen gains permanent death. It is regarding a player who has a bunch of held higher-level chronicle sheets (in which no PC death occurred) and then the player playing his lower-level PFS character and gaining permanent death (and is too low of a level to be able to remove permanent death status)....what happens to the accrued chronicle sheets that player has attached to that character? (because now the character has permanently died before ever reaching the levels those higher level chronicle sheets which were earned for).

Sovereign Court 5/5

KingOfAnything wrote:
I didn't think the 1-5s were so deadly as to be a worry.

LOL!

Tier 1-5 is where you die FOR GOOD. It is very seldom that you see a PC before level 5 able to afford to pay to come back...

This is one of the reasons I love to play at this level. It's often for keeps. After 5th level, dying is often just an inconvenience... sometimes a badge of honor. "Yeah, I've died 5 times. Getting to be a regular talking to Pharasma...".


KingOfAnything wrote:
I didn't think the 1-5s were so deadly as to be a worry.

I have run a level 1 PFS scenario for three of my players already and one PC and the NPC I played (to make a legal table) nearly died during it.

Sovereign Court 5/5

Amiros Valeri wrote:
leonvios wrote:
I do not understand, why you cannot play up to the point of the pregen death then use your resources to retrieve your body and gear and ressurrect maybe? or even another tier system such as...lvl 1-4 Raise dead (gold or PP). lvl 5- 8 Raise dead (gold or PP) and rescue team 5pp, lvl 9-12 Resurrection (gold or pp).
My question is not regarding a higher level (held) chronicle sheet that a pre-gen gains permanent death. It is regarding a player who has a bunch of held higher-level chronicle sheets (in which no PC death occurred) and then the player playing his lower-level PFS character and gaining permanent death (and is too low of a level to be able to remove permanent death status)....what happens to the accrued chronicle sheets that player has attached to that character? (because now the character has permanently died before ever reaching the levels those higher level chronicle sheets which were earned for).

yeah. and often any one of them would give enough GP to have you raised, if you could just access the resources on them. Which you can't. (at least under current rules).

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, Canada—Manitoba aka Kess, Humble Servant of Abadar

Those chronicle sheets stay attached to the deceased character. Period. You cannot change to whom they're assigned, unfortunately.

5/5

Glad you brought this up - on the pregen side it was one of the problems that was solved when "you can assign it to a new character #" was originally allowed. Hadn't thought of this consequence with playing the actual PC. I guess since you have your group doing this, they'll just have to share resources for a raise.

Regardless, it's unlikely enough to happen that you need to plan/worry about it.

The Exchange 5/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Majuba wrote:

Glad you brought this up - on the pregen side it was one of the problems that was solved when "you can assign it to a new character #" was originally allowed. Hadn't thought of this consequence with playing the actual PC. I guess since you have your group doing this, they'll just have to share resources for a raise.

Regardless, it's unlikely enough to happen that you need to plan/worry about it.

four players of 2nd level PCs look down at 4 dead PCs...

Player A: "Well - if we all chip in, maybe we can bring Jo back - she had a couple 7th level CRs on her Barbarian."
Player B:"Heck, the gold for this one is only a fraction over 400 - so even if she sells all our stuff she's not going to have enough for a Raise Dead, let alone the Restorations..."
Player C: "Who was it suggested we play this Evergreen anyway?
Player D: "On the bright note - you can only play this with a 2nd level PC once. So this will never happen to us again."


If the character is permanently dead, you file away those sheets along with the character. They can't be used for anything. Nor since they have not been applied, can you use that wealth to bring him back.


Thanks for the input, everyone. I searched and found the official ruling on the blogs (unless it has been changed since then). Fortunately we are early enough in the campaign that all but one chronicle sheet will definitely not be lost. We just need to pause the AP campaign to run some low-level scenarios until their PFS PCs get to the needed 'sweet level' to ensure the stack of chronicle sheets they will earn will not 'go up in smoke'.

Grand Lodge 3/5

wouldn't it be possible to apply those chronicles to the character post-humously- by opting for the lowest gold and still gain the prestige, hoping that he has enough for a resurrection?

Though, the drawback i see to that is-
if the PC is playing say a lvl 4.2 in a T1-5, and he opts to take the minimum reward and he has four chronicles- taking the character to effectively lvl 6, that would remove him from the tier- thus saving his life.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

The death condition must be cleared on the chronicle it was gained. You cannot retroactively apply higher level chronicles and use the rewards from those sheets to pay for the current condition. At least, as the rules stand.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Eastern Eurasia-Africa

Amiros Valeri wrote:
Thanks for the input, everyone. I searched and found the official ruling on the blogs (unless it has been changed since then). Fortunately we are early enough in the campaign that all but one chronicle sheet will definitely not be lost. We just need to pause the AP campaign to run some low-level scenarios until their PFS PCs get to the needed 'sweet level' to ensure the stack of chronicle sheets they will earn will not 'go up in smoke'.

Is the Adventure Path being run in 'Campaign Mode'?

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / What happens to existing held chronicle sheets if a PC dies in an earlier level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.