Poog - First Power (blessing by other character) Question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I'm sure Poog is not the first example of this, so there is likely another question already asked that is similar.

I want to make sure that I'm playing the rules right for Poog's first power (skipping the skill boxes for clarity): "When another character plays a blessing on your check, after the check she may shuffle 1 random card from her discard pile into her deck."

Since the words "after the check" are present and the blessing was played "on your check", I'm assuming then, that the blessing played is valid to be the random recharged card? In other words, if that player's discard deck was empty, they would effectively be auto-recharging the blessing they just played. Is this correct?


Yes. WOTR Kyra works like that as well. She recharges a spell against a Demon or Undead and then heals it back. Or she plays a blessing on another character's check and then heals it back.

VERY USEFUL! :)

Pathfinder ACG Developer

ALL THE BLESSINGS FOR POOG!

And, yeah, it works pretty well. It works even better if you can recharge that blessing, so you heal another card afterwards :)


Perfect! Thanks for the replies :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Keith Richmond wrote:

ALL THE BLESSINGS FOR POOG!

And, yeah, it works pretty well. It works even better if you can recharge that blessing, so you heal another card afterwards :)

Indeed. My friend and I are playing through SotRu - me Reta, him Poog - and have been surprised at how efficient of a healing ability it is, especially once he puts a power feat into it. Most scenarios my Reta doesn't need any other healing than that.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
doejaster wrote:
Since the words "after the check" are present and the blessing was played "on your check", I'm assuming then, that the blessing played is valid to be the random recharged card? In other words, if that player's discard deck was empty, they would effectively be auto-recharging the blessing they just played. Is this correct?

The blessing is indeed a candidate, but be sure to shuffle the card, not recharge it.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Rulebook, p.12 wrote:
Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens.
Poog's first power wrote:
When another character plays a blessing on your check, after the check she may shuffle 1 random card (□ or 2 random cards) from her discard pile into her deck.

Since Poog's power is a power and not a card, I guess this power can't be used on two different characters on the same check, right?


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I don't think so since it's a passive power. It's not like if the text was : "after the check you may have a character that played a blessing on your check shuffle...". That would be an active power from you. Here the power is passive and you don't get to select a character, they all benefit if they want and by the way you cannot force them to or deny them the right to...

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Poog's power is passive like Frencios said.

It activates whenever a player plays a blessing on Poog's check. Not a specific player, but any player.


Rulebook, p.12 wrote:
Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens

Both the FAQ and the rulebook change for this seem unclear. From my reading of the FAQ, it sounds like it is clearly meant to apply to both character powers and powers on cards.

FAQ

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
elcoderdude wrote:
Rulebook, p.12 wrote:
Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens

Both the FAQ and the rulebook change for this seem unclear. From my reading of the FAQ, it sounds like it is clearly meant to apply to both character powers and powers on cards.

FAQ

I'm not sure I agree that it is unclear.

This is not a case of Poog using a power, it is a power activating based on a condition. Similarly, as part of Sajan's power "Blessings played on your combat check may add d12 instead of the normal die;", it isn't the first blessing or a specific blessing played, it is any blessing played. Whenever a blessing is played on Poog's check, the power activates.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

The primary rule you're looking for is under Playing Cards on Wrath page 9: "If a power says it may be used when something happens, you may use it every time that happens."

The reminder of this on page 10 of Wrath says "Each player may activate any power no more than once during each step, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens;" in MM, this is revised to "A character may not activate a given power more than once during each step, other than effects that can be used each time something particular happens."

The reminder on page 12 of Wrath says "Remember that each player may not play more than 1 card of each type or use any 1 power more than once during each check, other than cards that can be used each time something particular happens." In MM, the word "cards" in that sentence has been replaced with "powers."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Poog - First Power (blessing by other character) Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion