Question: Stacking Faction Cards Rewards


Pathfinder Society


Question: I have a year 7 and a year 8 Silver Crusade Faction card. On the year 7 I have completed (7) faction missions. On the year 8 I've completed (2) faction missions.

I'm a little confused on how I figure out the 2nd tier reward for the Silver Crusade.

(4+ goals): Once per adventure, you can use the lay on hands class feature as though you were a paladin whose level equals the number of goals you have completed.

Both years have the same faction reward but confused if I only count it as (7) faction missions completed as I haven't meet the reward for year 8 yet, or as (9) faction missions completed as they stack.


faction cards wrote:

Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher. These bonuses stack—if she earned a duplicate reward on two season’s cards, she treats her effective number of goals completed as two higher. For example, Ambrus Valsin has completed five of the goals on the Season 7 card, and he begins working on the Season 8 card. When he fulfills two goals on the new card, he earns the Explorer boon—the same boon he earned on his previous card. Instead of gaining two uses of Explorer, he gains benefits from the boon as though he had fulfilled six goals instead of five. He does not unlock any other rewards on the Season 8 card, but he increases the benefit of boons that scale based on the number of goals completed.

You need to have unlocked the specific boon on each faction card. Once you do you count as having 1 extra goal completed (for each card unlocked beyond the first) for that boon.


You sure on it only increasing by (1) if I complete (4) missions on the year 8?

As it does state it scales by the based number of goals completed. By reading that, I would then assume my (7) missions completed from year 7 would stack with the newly completed (4) missions from year 8.

The example giving, isn't that clear on this.

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, North Carolina—Central Region aka Kyrand

As per the section quoted above, you count as having completed 7 until you gain the goal on the Season 8 card, at which time it becomes the higher number of completed goals between Season 7 and 8, +1 for having the same reward twice.

The question I have is what do you do with the goals that don't rely on the number of completed goals.

Season 8, Scarab Sage wrote:
SOUL WARDEN (4+ goals): You studied ancient secrets that help anchor your soul to your body. Treat your Constitution score as 4 points higher for the purposes of determining when hit point damage kills you.
Season 7, Scarab Sage wrote:
SOUL WARDEN (4+ goals): You studied ancient secrets that help anchor your soul to your body. Treat your Constitution score as 4 points higher for the purposes of determining when hit point damage kills you. If you permanently die, you can donate your scarab to another of your characters that belongs to the Scarab Sages faction. This character receives this card (discarding her current card).
Season 6, Scarab Sage wrote:
SOUL WARDEN (4+ goals): You studied ancient secrets that help anchor your soul to your body. Treat your Constitution score as 4 points higher for the purposes of determining when hit point damage kills you. If you permanently die, you can donate your scarab to another of your characters that belongs to the Scarab Sages faction. This character receives this card (discarding her current card).

Ignoring for a moment the removal of the second benefit on the Season 8 card, what happens if my Scarab Sage has 2 or even three of these goals? Is there no actual benefit for this type of goal?

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

I would think you could give it to 3 different characters because there are 3 different cards.

Venture-Agent, Virginia—Alexandria aka AkosPrime

Landon Hatfield wrote:


Ignoring for a moment the removal of the second benefit on the Season 8 card, what happens if my Scarab Sage has 2 or even three of these goals? Is there no actual benefit for this type of goal?

Good question! If you have 4+ goals on all three cards, is your effective CON for death +4 or +6 or +12?

Based on the rule quoted you'd think it should be +6 (+4 for first +1 for each additional Soul Warden completed)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gary Bush wrote:
I would think you could give it to 3 different characters because there are 3 different cards.

2 different characters (season 8 doesn't have the donate clause).

There is no other benefit to this goal as it isn't linked to goals attained, and I'm pretty sure the +4 benefit doesn't stack ('same source' would probably be the main argument against) - I would love to be wrong on that though.

Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, North Carolina—Central Region aka Kyrand

AkosPrime wrote:
Landon Hatfield wrote:


Ignoring for a moment the removal of the second benefit on the Season 8 card, what happens if my Scarab Sage has 2 or even three of these goals? Is there no actual benefit for this type of goal?

Good question! If you have 4+ goals on all three cards, is your effective CON for death +4 or +6 or +12?

Based on the rule quoted you'd think it should be +6 (+4 for first +1 for each additional Soul Warden completed)

Except, as dragonhunterq points out, this reward doesn't scale based on the number of goals... As written, I get the same +4 regardless if I have this goal on one card, or all three. And this isn't the only repeated reward that doesn't scale by goals (just the easiest example to use).

My intent with the question was to

  • A) Hope it had already been clarified by Campaign Management in a post I'd missed OR
  • B) Bring it to Campaign Management's attention that the current solution only covers a portion of the cases.

  • Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

    BTW, the Season 8 Faction Journal Card rules have changed slightly.

    Faction Journaly Cards—Additional Cards wrote:
    Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher. These bonuses stack—if she earned a duplicate reward on two season’s cards, she treats her effective number of goals completed as two higher.

    Though the given example given does not reflect that change.

    Sovereign Court 5/5 Venture-Captain, North Carolina—Central Region aka Kyrand

    Michael Eshleman wrote:

    BTW, the Season 8 Faction Journal Card rules have changed slightly.

    Faction Journaly Cards—Additional Cards wrote:
    Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher. These bonuses stack—if she earned a duplicate reward on two season’s cards, she treats her effective number of goals completed as two higher.
    Though the given example given does not reflect that change.

    That last line is just for if you already have the reward twice when you gain it a third time. So if my example cared about number of goals, having it on three cards would give me a +2 on my highest goal card for determining its effects, hence the language about it stacking.

    Shadow Lodge 4/5

    I'm one goal away from having completed season 6 Faction Journal for LibEdge. Just need a volunteer named slave to take as my Herald, hehehh.

    Wondering about people's experiences with the latter cards: Which LibEdge card is easier to complete? Which felt more fulfilling characterwise?

    Mind you, the character's at 26,5 exp once I get the season six card done.

    1/5

    Actually, I'd appreciate clarification on how that's supposed to work.

    Quote:

    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals

    completed on all cards as though it were one higher.

    Emphasis mine. It doesn't say "effective number of goals completed for that reward", like previous seasons worked. It says "effective number of goals completed" PERIOD. As written, that really seems to imply that you get a free goal, the same as you'd get from GMing a few times.

    Which behavior is intended? +1 effective goal for that reward, or +1 effective goal period?

    Sovereign Court 3/5

    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

    Other rewards scale by number of goals. For Scarab Sages, the duplicate reward doesn't scale, but the bonus goal would apply to Knowledge checks made with the Planar Sage reward.

    This wouldn't unlock the 7+ goal reward, but would apply to the goal-scaled bonuses you get from it once it is unlocked.

    5/5

    KingOfAnything wrote:

    Other rewards scale by number of goals. For Scarab Sages, the duplicate reward doesn't scale, but the bonus goal would apply to Knowledge checks made with the Planar Sage reward.

    Would it? It's not a duplicate reward, so wouldn't scale up. It appears Scarab Sages have no stacking benefits from multiple cards.

    I agree the intention (and wording) is +1 effective goal for that reward, but it still has to be a duplicate reward.

    Sovereign Court 3/5

    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
    Majuba wrote:
    KingOfAnything wrote:

    Other rewards scale by number of goals. For Scarab Sages, the duplicate reward doesn't scale, but the bonus goal would apply to Knowledge checks made with the Planar Sage reward.

    Would it? It's not a duplicate reward, so wouldn't scale up. It appears Scarab Sages have no stacking benefits from multiple cards.

    I agree the intention (and wording) is +1 effective goal for that reward, but it still has to be a duplicate reward.

    Soul Warden is the duplicate reward (but doesn't scale with goals). If you have unlocked Soul Warden on two separate cards, your number of goals on each card is considered to be one higher. This applies to all rewards on the card. So your Knowledge bonus from the Planar Sage reward (which scales by goal) would be one higher.

    Silver Crusade 5/5

    The wording is a bit iffy. It comes down to whether the rule applies just to the duplicate reward or to all rewards on the card. I think it's supposed to only apply to the duplicate goals, but I've been wrong before.

    What's clear is that having Soul Warden on multiple cards won't benfit that ability, since it is not dependent on the number of cards.

    Sovereign Court 3/5

    1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
    Faction Cards wrote:
    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.

    There is nothing in the directions that limits the effective number of goals completed to a single reward. It says all cards. It applies to all rewards on all cards.

    Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

    KingOfAnything wrote:
    Faction Cards wrote:
    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.
    There is nothing in the directions that limits the effective number of goals completed to a single reward. It says all cards. It applies to all rewards on all cards.

    Interestingly, now that there are three cards, it's possibly to have a duplicate goal on your S6 and S7 card bumping the effect of a S8 reward.

    Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

    Landon Hatfield wrote:
    Michael Eshleman wrote:

    BTW, the Season 8 Faction Journal Card rules have changed slightly.

    Faction Journaly Cards—Additional Cards wrote:
    Each Faction Journal Card provides one or more new rewards as well as at least one reward that appeared during a previous season. If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher. These bonuses stack—if she earned a duplicate reward on two season’s cards, she treats her effective number of goals completed as two higher.
    Though the given example given does not reflect that change.
    That last line is just for if you already have the reward twice when you gain it a third time. So if my example cared about number of goals, having it on three cards would give me a +2 on my highest goal card for determining its effects, hence the language about it stacking.

    Ugh. I read that like three times before posting and still missed it.

    Sovereign Court 3/5

    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
    Lau Bannenberg wrote:
    KingOfAnything wrote:
    Faction Cards wrote:
    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.
    There is nothing in the directions that limits the effective number of goals completed to a single reward. It says all cards. It applies to all rewards on all cards.
    Interestingly, now that there are three cards, it's possibly to have a duplicate goal on your S6 and S7 card bumping the effect of a S8 reward.

    Yes. You still have to earn the S8 reward, but you get a little boost for all the goals you completed in earlier seasons that resulted in duplicate rewards.

    5/5

    KingOfAnything wrote:
    Faction Cards wrote:
    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.
    There is nothing in the directions that limits the effective number of goals completed to a single reward. It says all cards. It applies to all rewards on all cards.

    The directions include an example, specifying the single reward as being increased.

    Quote:
    Instead of gaining two uses of Explorer, he gains benefits from the boon as though he had fulfilled six goals instead of five.

    The boon, not the card. If it was meant to be all, it would also have increased the benefit from the Nemesis boon unlocked on his Season 7 card.

    Sovereign Court 3/5

    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
    Majuba wrote:
    KingOfAnything wrote:
    Faction Cards wrote:
    If a PC would receive a duplicate reward that she earned on a previous card, she instead treats her effective number of goals completed on all cards as though it were one higher.
    There is nothing in the directions that limits the effective number of goals completed to a single reward. It says all cards. It applies to all rewards on all cards.

    The directions include an example, specifying the single reward as being increased.

    Quote:
    Instead of gaining two uses of Explorer, he gains benefits from the boon as though he had fulfilled six goals instead of five.
    The boon, not the card. If it was meant to be all, it would also have increased the benefit from the Nemesis boon unlocked on his Season 7 card.

    It goes on to say

    Faction Card wrote:
    ...but he increases the benefit of boons that scale based on the number of goals completed

    The example only outlines one such boon, but says that it applies to all such boons.

    5/5

    1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

    One thing that caught my eye is that for the season 8 card, you can now spend prestige to automatically succeed at a skill check for succeeding at a goal.

    "In place of attempting a goal’s skill check, you can instead spend 1 Prestige Point to succeed through other channels (2 Prestige Points if the DC is 20 plus your character level or higher)."

    I have to wonder if this applies only to Season 8, or it could be used for previous cards as well (assuming you have at least 1 check box filled on the previous card). I couldn't find anything one way or the other on this.

    Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Question: Stacking Faction Cards Rewards All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.