Season 8 Change to Applying Chronicles


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

As a heads up to anyone that this might impact, there has been a change in how chronicles for pregen are applied in the new Season 8 Guide.

Season 7 (page 21) wrote:
If you have multiple Chronicle sheets from pregenerated characters, they are applied to your character’s Chronicle sheet stack in the order played when your character reaches the appropriate level, even if this would advance your character several levels.
Season 8 (page 7) wrote:
If you apply credit for multiple adventures at once, your Roleplaying Guild character might advance multiple levels. The character’s level cannot exceed the Tier range of any Chronicle sheets applied to her.

So be careful about your characters or might lose a chronicle or two.

5/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I had this happen once, where due to GM credits I had exceeded the tier of a further GM credit Chronicle I applied. I don't think this is a change, though - you could never apply a Chronicle to a character that wasn't in tier for that scenario.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This *is* a change, in that previously the guide implied at least that you could over level this way. (And IIRC there were even campaign clarifications that said it was legal.)

That option has been removed.

The Exchange RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16

I presume we'll be allowed to re-assign the Chronicles, to currently-legal PCs.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Since the chronicle has been assigned to an illegal PC, I would assume you could. It would be the same as if you had gotten home and realized the character you assigned it to was out of tier.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.

awww no more level 30 kyra clones.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Chris Mortika wrote:
I presume we'll be allowed to re-assign the Chronicles, to currently-legal PCs.

I could not find anything in the Guide that covered your question.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

Gary Bush wrote:
Chris Mortika wrote:
I presume we'll be allowed to re-assign the Chronicles, to currently-legal PCs.
I could not find anything in the Guide that covered your question.

Previous threads, where people have applied a chronicle accidentally in a way that was illegal, Campaign Leadership have recommending making the least disruptive change to fix it.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Thank you Jared. I thought I had read that someplace.

Sczarni 5/5 ⦵⦵

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber

*facepalm*

"The character’s level cannot exceed the Tier range of any Chronicle sheets applied to her."

And yet, also in this Guide, it's now possible to play/GM a 2nd level character through a Tier 1 Adventure.

2/5

This rule could cause a catch 22.

say you have a character that levels enough to apply a stack of chronicles, that pushes him over the Tier level by just enough to invalidated some of the chronicles for being out of tier. Removing the invalided chronicles would drops the character back down to a character level which would make the chronicles once more valid.

For example a GM applies gm credit chronicles to a single character.

3xp from tier 1-2 chronicles (level 2)
3xp from a tier 1-5 chronicle (level 3) this would cause the character to exceed the 1-2 tier invaliding them, reducing the character back to level 2, making the tier 1-2 valid again.

Another good example:

Dragon Demand for someone playing home game style rule grants you 4 chronicles for playing it all the way through.

Chronicles are:
pt1 is tier 1-3
pt2 is tier 3-5
pt3 is tier 5-7
Bonus is 2, 4, or 6 your choice.

The suggested way to apply them to a character is:
First pt1 to new character making it level 2
Use the bonus chronicle at tier 2 for the character making it level 3
Add pt2 to character making it level 4
then wait to apply pt 3 to character when it makes level 5.

Unless I misunderstand this would invalidate the pt1 and possibly the bonus one making the character not high enough to apply pt2.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

GlennH wrote:

This rule could cause a catch 22.

say you have a character that levels enough to apply a stack of chronicles, that pushes him over the Tier level by just enough to invalidated some of the chronicles for being out of tier. Removing the invalided chronicles would drops the character back down to a character level which would make the chronicles once more valid.

For example a GM applies gm credit chronicles to a single character.

3xp from tier 1-2 chronicles (level 2)
3xp from a tier 1-5 chronicle (level 3) this would cause the character to exceed the 1-2 tier invaliding them, reducing the character back to level 2, making the tier 1-2 valid again.

Another good example:

Dragon Demand for someone playing home game style rule grants you 4 chronicles for playing it all the way through.

Chronicles are:
pt1 is tier 1-3
pt2 is tier 3-5
pt3 is tier 5-7
Bonus is 2, 4, or 6 your choice.

The suggested way to apply them to a character is:
First pt1 to new character making it level 2
Use the bonus chronicle at tier 2 for the character making it level 3
Add pt2 to character making it level 4
then wait to apply pt 3 to character when it makes level 5.

Unless I misunderstand this would invalidate the pt1 and possibly the bonus one making the character not high enough to apply pt2.

No, because you don't apply multiple chronicles at once, you apply them one at a time. So when you apply the tier 1-5 chronicle, the 1-2 chronicles have already applied, and you do not become retroactively ineligible any more than if you had played 3 1-2 games, and then played 3 1-5 games.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

You would never be waiting to apply 1-2 and 1-5 chronicles in the first place because they could already be applied to a L1 PC.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Lau Bannenberg wrote:
You would never be waiting to apply 1-2 and 1-5 chronicles in the first place because they could already be applied to a L1 PC.

I can see someone waiting to apply chronicles to a "blob" character that has not taken any definition yet.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Gary Bush wrote:
Lau Bannenberg wrote:
You would never be waiting to apply 1-2 and 1-5 chronicles in the first place because they could already be applied to a L1 PC.
I can see someone waiting to apply chronicles to a "blob" character that has not taken any definition yet.

There's a difference between not filling in a character sheet, and not applying credit.

You have to apply credit as soon as your blob "matures" to sufficient level that you could apply that credit.


GlennH wrote:

This rule could cause a catch 22.

say you have a character that levels enough to apply a stack of chronicles, that pushes him over the Tier level by just enough to invalidated some of the chronicles for being out of tier. Removing the invalided chronicles would drops the character back down to a character level which would make the chronicles once more valid.

For example a GM applies gm credit chronicles to a single character.

3xp from tier 1-2 chronicles (level 2)
3xp from a tier 1-5 chronicle (level 3) this would cause the character to exceed the 1-2 tier invaliding them, reducing the character back to level 2, making the tier 1-2 valid again.

The sixth chronicle in the example is still applied to a 2nd level character. As the character was effectively played level 2 and becomes level 3 after the sixth scenario. The seventh chronicle would be in trouble if it was only a 1-2 tier. As Jared said the chronicles must be applied in the order they were earned. Player A would not be able apply a 1-2 chronicle to the third level character any more than s/he could apply it to a ninth level character.

Chronicle 7 question can also be avoided by applying some of the chronicles Slow.

1/5

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Curaigh wrote:


Chronicle 7 question can also be avoided by applying some of the chronicles Slow.

This is NOT always an option if you're not paying attention.

Chronicle responsibly and safely, folks.

2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Curaigh wrote:
Chronicle 7 question can also be avoided by applying some of the chronicles Slow.

I believe you have to choose slow are regular advancement at the beginning of the scenario where the chronicle is earned. Not at the time you apply them.

Applying Credit pg7 PFS guide 8 wrote:
If you apply credit for multiple adventures at once, your Roleplaying Guild character might advance multiple levels. The character’s level cannot exceed the Tier range of any Chronicle sheets applied to her.

On rereading "Applying Credit", it doesn't say anything about preventing you from applying chronicles or invalidating any them. It just says the character's level can't exceed the Tier range of any applied.

If as others said suggest chronicles are assumed to be applied as earned even if you don't update the character until you have a stack. The only way to have a multiple batch would be at 4th or 7th level advancement where you have pregenerated character chronicles that you couldn't apply until the character reached the appropriate level.

Does that mean that the character doesn't advance in level, effectively earn 0xp on any the the chronicles that would cause it to break the above rule? If so would you still gain the other benefits from the chronicles such as gold and prestige?


GlennH wrote:
Curaigh wrote:
Chronicle 7 question can also be avoided by applying some of the chronicles Slow.

I believe you have to choose slow are regular advancement at the beginning of the scenario where the chronicle is earned. Not at the time you apply them.

Does that mean that the character doesn't advance in level, effectively earn 0xp on any the the chronicles that would cause it to break the above rule? If so would you still gain the other benefits from the chronicles such as gold and prestige?

Sorry, yes chosen when assigned. I didn't mean to imply it could be done later.

As for the second question, I interpret it as 'it can't be applied.' But, as a rwference, replaying to make a legal table wouldn't give any of the above.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Season 8 Change to Applying Chronicles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.