7-99 Through Maelstrom Rift


GM Discussion

101 to 120 of 120 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge

Lau Bannenberg wrote:

It's a copy of a chronicle sheet of another character, so it doesn't count towards the set of adventures this PC could go on.

I'm more concerned about the paperwork explosion of (for a completionist) adding copies of 4x4 chronicles...

I am scanning them in and printing them out half size, two to a page. They are still legible and I can even go double-sided if I think ahead.

4/5 ⦵⦵

Lau Bannenberg wrote:

It's a copy of a chronicle sheet of another character, so it doesn't count towards the set of adventures this PC could go on.

Except the boon explicitly states you can apply the Affinity from any character to whichever character has the Maelstrom Rift boon, so it is already outside the usual rules for chronicles and boons, I am just trying to figure out exactly how it works.

Keeping the Core chronicles separate from the a Boon on a Standard chronicle makes sense to me, but I was not so sure about the extra chronicles I get from GMing.

And since we're really getting into the weeds of this rule... what if I run a character in Core, get some Affinity chronicles and then migrate that character to Standard? If I run and GM a game in Core and Standard then migrate the Core to standard I could have up to 4 chronicles from the same scenario with the same Affinity all in Standard mode.

What if I do that with a character who I run through Maelstrom Rift in Core but then migrate? Could I have two copies of the Maelstrom boon in Standard that way? Would each one get to count all the Standard chronicles with Affinities that I have?

Sovereign Court 5/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Michael Eshleman wrote:
Linda Zayas-Palmer wrote:
The Elemental Awakening boon references Affinity boons that you earn after applying the Chronicle sheet for 7-99. When applying this boon, the character with the boon can also gain credit from affinity boons on chronicle sheets from any previous scenarios on any of your characters.

That certainly implies that you can attach a copy of both a GM chronicle and a player chronicle.

IMO the normal prohibition against applying the same chronicle twice to the same character doesn't hold here. You are applying the Through Maelstrom Rift chronicle, and attaching copies of the other chronicles to that. You aren't actually applying the other chronicles to the character.

Uh, what? I don't see how that section implies that this allows both GM and player chronicles. It just implies that the boons can come from previous adventures or future adventures and that the boons can come from other characters.

This seems similar to another chronicle sheet

5-99:
Did we ever get a resolution to the question that if you play this scenario, pick the New Recruits boon and use it on another PC, can the new recruit play 5-99? Cause the wording between the two is very similar, and that ruling would probably apply here.

Regardless, while we may be able to find a loophole to allow it, it goes against a general principle of PFS without explicitly calling out that it is breaking it. It may be legal, but I would be cautious about doing so, especially since it makes it much easier to fill out that boon.
(Right now, if you allow double counting, you can fill every box except water, and we're only one chronicle away from filling water. If you don't allow double counting, then we're at about 2-3 air, 2 earth, 2 fire, 1 water. That's a big difference. The unsureness comes from the fact that I haven't read or played Tyranny of Winds yet.)

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Does another one of my characters have an earth affinity boon? Yes.

Tick a box.

I don't see if it matter that Both my Oracle and Oread brawler Ben Grimm have it from the same adventure. You're supposed to be able to complete the set: thats why they cap at four. If DM's can do that faster than players, well dming is supposed to be rewarding.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

I'm with the wolf on this one. Do you have an affinity boon? It counts to the chronicle.

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

It looks to me like collecting all the checkmarks is a chunk of work, but not all that difficult. John Compton said he intended at least two adventures set on each elemental plane, so if you play and GM those you're already there.

5/5 ⦵⦵⦵

Ship captain: "You guys do what... your organization is cute. Idealistic but cute.

Kumbaya my elementallord, Kumbaya...
we all work together
no ones better than anyone
kumbaya...

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Agent, Florida—Melbourne aka trollbill

I have run this twice now. In both cases the encounter with the air ship wrecking and everything flying off is by far the most time consuming encounter and can sometimes drag on depending on some of the random elements. Ryhol usually spends all her time falling in random directions as she has no Fly speed and it is hard for her to make the directional gravity checks. First time I ran it, the player just gave up and waited for someone to rescue him. Second time the player had a little more luck with the checks but still didn't get to do much in the encounter.

I have tried 2 different methods of tracking this encounter, but both proved to be lacking. Has anyone come up with a method isn't hugely time consuming?

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2010 Top 16, 2011 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Honestly I just run it very free-form and without a lot of rolling. The encounter just gives a chance to show off how odd the plane of air is and to give them a chance to fulfill mission requirements. I wouldn't make it much more than an odd experience with strange creatures (the wyrds).

Silver Crusade 5/5 ⦵⦵⦵ RPG Superstar 2013 Top 8 aka GreySector

Iammars wrote:
Regardless, while we may be able to find a loophole to allow it, it goes against a general principle of PFS without explicitly calling out that it is breaking it.

The policy is that you can't get credit for the same adventure twice with the same character. That is not what is happening here.

It isn't even a loophole, it is how chronicles that require you to attach a copy of them to another character work.

If I GM Eyes of the Ten I get a boon that requires me to attach a copy of that character's Eyes of the Ten chronicle to a new PC. I can then later play that new PC in Eyes of the Ten, thus getting two copies of the Eyes of the Ten chronicle on the same character (one of which is clearly marked as a copy and has another PC's info on it and isn't giving me XP or any other rewards).

Just because a character has a copy (marked as such) in their chronicle stack for another purpose (that isn't granting XP) that does not mean that character can't play the adventure from which the copy chronicle came (assuming it in all other ways is available to be played by that character).

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Agent, Florida—Melbourne aka trollbill

1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Martin wrote:
Honestly I just run it very free-form and without a lot of rolling. The encounter just gives a chance to show off how odd the plane of air is and to give them a chance to fulfill mission requirements. I wouldn't make it much more than an odd experience with strange creatures (the wyrds).

Freeform?!?!?! Oh, the humanities!

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Martin wrote:
Honestly I just run it very free-form and without a lot of rolling. The encounter just gives a chance to show off how odd the plane of air is and to give them a chance to fulfill mission requirements. I wouldn't make it much more than an odd experience with strange creatures (the wyrds).

This is how I did it too.. I'd actually forgotten the map I'd prepared to I represented the hazards with heaps of appropriately shaped dice. I a also abstracted it to run in 2D space but without grid.

Really, you want to give people a sense of freedom and flying in any direction. It should be playful, it's not meant to be a hard challenge.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ryhol wound up falling, and the chatty Wyrd fell with him, and they spent their entire time with Ryhol going "Help me!" and the Wyrd going "Isn't this neat? So this is falling." Until Ryhol made his will check, and went falling back toward the ship.

5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Finland—Tampere aka Rei

Slight issue I ran into running this recently: we had four players, one of them played Rhyol, she died during the last encounter due to getting confused several times and smashing her own face in to the tune of around 30 damage. Rift Spinner then finished her off to exactly negative Con. Now, we're unsure as to how to approach this in terms of resurrecting the character this chronicle would be applied to. Does the player have to play for her own character's resurrection cost or for that of Rhyol's? The latter would be near impossible, since Rhyol is an outsider and can't be resurrected using raise dead. Or does the caveat at the end of the scenario that the Concordance pays for all negative conditions gained during the scenario extend to bringing Rhyol back to life?

Grand Lodge 5/5 Venture-Captain, Arizona—Phoenix aka TriOmegaZero

I cannot locate the current ruling just yet, but it has been clarified that scenarios requiring you to play pregens are exempt from the requirement to clear conditions with character wealth. Such specials should have specific text for handling pregen deaths, such as the Concordance's volunteering to cover costs.

Edit: Found it.

OPC Log wrote:
Over the past weeks, the team focused on reviewing the Roleplaying Guild Guide and clarifying some of the ambiguities our industrious players questioned on the forums. There is still work to do, but it is progressing and should soon be ready. One answer we came to almost immediately. From today, the requirement for character wealth contribution to clear conditions when playing pregenerated characters, will only apply to the standard iconic pregenerated characters. Any scenario or module that mandates you play a pregenerated character, like 6-99 Through Maelstrom Rift or We Be Goblins!, will not require the pregenerated character contributions listed in the guide. Refer to the applicable sanctioning documents or chronicle sheet for changes to base resolution costs. For example, We Be Goblins, Too! lists the cost to raise as 5 PP. This change is scheduled to appear in the revised version of the guide.

4/5

Asking to be sure, is this scenario still restricted to cons only? Its been over a year so I hope not, I would like to run it locally.

Dark Archive 5/5

No, though it is still limited to 4 or 5 star GMs (which it looks like you are). Have fun!

Sovereign Court 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

IIRC it's now "just" a 4-star adventure.

Silver Crusade 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh aka Terminalmancer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yup. Alanya and Lau are right.

If you want more documentation:

Here is my list of table/star requirements...

...and here is the last complete listing we've gotten from Tonya, which is where some (although not all) of my list is derived from.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
Has anyone compiled a list of scenarios that has the elemental affinity on the chronicle?

We're working on a planar themed convention this fall and I was wondering what scenarios now contribute to this.

I checked out the adventure finder, but it hasn't had any new scenarios added to it from early season eight on. I know there have been recent scenarios that have been on the elemental planes that are not listed since I just played one.

Anyone else keep a list of planer scenarios or have a list of which grant elemental affinity?

101 to 120 of 120 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / 7-99 Through Maelstrom Rift All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion