Intelligent, but unawakened animals


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

So we all know that casting awaken on an animal companion makes it no longer a companion, but a cohort.

What are the ramifications of just giving it more INT though? Like through a +6 INT headband?


Coridan wrote:

So we all know that casting awaken on an animal companion makes it no longer a companion, but a cohort.

What are the ramifications of just giving it more INT though? Like through a +6 INT headband?

Animals can't have an intelligence over 2.

Scarab Sages

Sure they can. Druids and other Animal Companion classes have been bumping Int up to 3 for years to get access to greater feat variety. Giving a Gorilla a greatsword is surprisingly effective.


Davor wrote:
Sure they can. Druids and other Animal Companion classes have been bumping Int up to 3 for years to get access to greater feat variety. Giving a Gorilla a greatsword is surprisingly effective.

Just because they have been doing it doesn't make it right.

Quote:

Traits: An animal possesses the following traits (unless otherwise noted in a creature's entry).

Intelligence score of 1 or 2 (no creature with an Intelligence score of 3 or higher can be an animal).

Though there are passages that contradict that, so at best it is a GM discretion thing.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

There was a blog written about this a few years ago. If you do a search for "monkey see monkey do", you should be able to find it.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lc1y?Monkey-See-Monkey-Do-An-FAQ-on-In telligent for convenience.


From the animal companion section:

PRD wrote:
Animal companions with an Intelligence of 3 or higher can select any feat they are physically capable of using.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Claxon wrote:
Also see this blogpost and this one too.

Quoting myself from a previous thread for convenience. These two blog posts combined help to elucidate what happens.


bonded mounts come in with 6 int and follow the animal companion progression tree. other than that you can always use a magic item, or just simply put the first stat point they get into int at level 4


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The weird thing is that even if you have your smart animal take a point in linguistics to gain your language, you still need to use handle animal to get it to do things in combat. It's still an animal no matter how intelligent it is.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intelligent, but unawakened animals All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.