Magus & Magic Item Question


Advice

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I was wondering if this idea I have would work. I was thinking of having a Magus with a scimitar in one hand and the other free to cast spells etc. Would a ring of force shield allow me to get the AC bonus but also let me cast spells without having to hold a shield?


No. The Ring of Force Shield is wielded as a heavy shield. You can't use Spell Combat while using a heavy shield in your off-hand so you can't use the Ring that way either.

But you could take the Unhindering Shield feat and use a buckler during Spell Combat.


It works, you just have to take a second to state how you use it.

You can activate/deactivate the Ring as a free action at will, so you can do it just fine by deactivating it to cast your spell then activating it again before the end of your turn.


TGMaxMaxer wrote:

It works, you just have to take a second to state how you use it.

You can activate/deactivate the Ring as a free action at will, so you can do it just fine by deactivating it to cast your spell then activating it again before the end of your turn.

Yes you can do that, but you wouldn't get the shield bonus during your turn. I thought the OP wanted to get the shield bonus during Spell Combat. I might have read too much into the question.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Why not just use the Shield spell and a pocket full of Pearls of Power?

As people have already said, you can not use Spell Combat while using the ring, since it is "wielded by the wearer as if it were a heavy shield". You could switch it on in any round you aren't doing Spell Combat.

I would rather have 8 pearls of power.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Magus & Magic Item Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.