A Medium sized Abyssal Bloodrider Bloodrager is riding his large sized horse. Then he enters a bloodrage, and his "Demonic Bulk (Su)" enlarges his size. What happens? can he no longer be mounted on his horse? Does he suffer penalties? If so, is there a good work-around for this? (something that automatically resizes my horse, for example?)
I would just get a bigger mount, but the bloodrider feral mount specifies it can only be a camel or a horse...
The mounted rules are pretty badly written.
However, the intent of the rules (backed up by the feat Undersized Mount) is that the mount must be at least 1 size larger than the person riding it which would mean that once that is no longer the case you are no longer riding your mount.
As a GM I would probably rule that either you use a move action to dismount (or quick dismount) or you fall off (as per soft fall).
I suggest just taking the feat and won't have an issue with it your undersized mount any more.
Additionally, carrying capacity is an issue. Your mount's carrying capacity needs to be sufficient to carry your x8+x2equipment weight.
Assuming your character weighs 200lbs and has 100lbs of gear that works out to 200*8+100*2 (generally gear is double weight for a large creature) = 1800lbs.
To carry that much weight you would need a horse with a minimum of 23 strength.
If your horse does not have that much strength then I suggest purchasing Muleback cords for your horse or using the spell Ant Haul.
|14 sided die|
Gauss wrote:You cannot ride a mount that is your size without the feat "Undersized Mount" (Advanced Class Guide).Yeah, but if he's medium & riding the mount as he enters a bloodrage (which makes him large), does he get forcibly ejected to a square within 5ft of the mount or something?
If you're a particurlarly cruel DM, he's just crushed his mount.
You cannot ride a mount that is your size without the feat "Undersized Mount" (Advanced Class Guide) or a similar ability.
This is not written in RAI (mounted combat) but implied by a feat, therefore not a rule. The feat says "Typically..."The inverse of this is also contested by lack of mount rules for small characters on large mounts or variations on the sizes involved. Obviously, an ogre on his hummingbird mount is going to defy the Laws of Gamemastery Intelligence, so common sense is the house rule here.
Heimdall666, as usual, Pathfinder has left off the rules that explicitly stated this and in its place left 'hints' as to the rules.
At least one size category larger than the character.
In Pathfinder the hints, repeated throughout the rules (including the feat Undersized Mount which is also part of the rules), clearly indicate that a mount should be a minimum of 1 size larger than the person riding it.
You can choose to ignore that RAI, but it is RAI.
As for the feat not being a rule, you are being obtuse. Feats are rules. Even guidelines are rules (according to the Devs).