In that case, no. No benefiting from a tower shield without actually using an arm.
Ranged Tactics Toolbox Players Companion has gambion in the equipment section. Large cylinders one can fill with rocks, dirt, etc to provide some cover, can be stacked for better cover. Takes several minutes to set up though.
|2 people marked this as a favorite.|
In general, no, you cannot use a Tower Shield that you have set down.
HOWEVER, there are ways to get COVER, which is almost as good.
Shrink Item can be made permanent, so that you can shrink and expand it at will. Get something as big as you can shrink (or hire a mage to shrink for you). Give it permanent shrink item. Carry it in your hand. On a given combat round, drop it as a free action. Dropping a shrunk item expands it. Now you have cover! Later, when you want to shrink it again, say the command word.
For all your legal tower shield needs consider this screed I wrote not too long ago: Tower Shield Pointers
For my series on sweet sweet ways to get the most out of Shrink Item, read this: Shrinky Dinks!
I think the best way to get this is with the Eldritch Guardian archetype. If you get a tiny improved familiar and take Shield Wall, your familiar can share your space and place its tower shield wherever you want, granting you a line of total cover and +2 AC without taking any actions or hands from the actual character.
Well, the tower shield is entirely balanced by the fact that it entirely occupies an arm...
I think you are more looking for a summonable/portable wall, rather than a shield.
Classically, you could slay your mount to create cover to hide behind. I don't think is wholly supported in the rules, but I bet most GMs would allow it provided you aren't using an undersized mount.
Beyond that, I'd look into either summoning walls or creating pits.