Volcano Mystery, Ash Cloud

Rules Questions


I was wondering how many times a day can an oracle with the ash cloud revelation use the Ash Cloud ability? It seems most other powers specifically state how many times they are able to be used, but this one seems to imply you can constantly use it?

Here is the text:

Ash Cloud:
"Ash Cloud (Su): As a standard action, you can surround yourself with a 10-foot-radius cloud of ash, which functions as an obscuring mist spell, except you can see through it clearly. The cloud is stationary, and remains for 1 round per oracle level. Using this ability again causes your previous cloud to fall to the ground. At 7th level, your ash cloud fills with embers. All creatures in the cloud except you take 1d6 points of fire damage per round and must succeed at Fortitude saves to avoid choking, as though they were breathing in heavy smoke."

And here is the info regarding general use of Revelation powers:

"At 1st level, 3rd level, and every four levels thereafter (7th, 11th, and so on), an oracle uncovers a new secret about her mystery that grants her powers and abilities. The oracle must select a revelation from the list of revelations available to her mystery (see FAQ at right). If a revelation is chosen at a later level, the oracle gains all of the abilities and bonuses granted by that revelation based on her current level. Unless otherwise noted, activating the power of a revelation is a standard action.

Unless otherwise noted, the DC to save against these revelations is equal to 10 + 1/2 the oracle’s level + the oracle’s Charisma modifier."


At will, it looks like.

Starbuck_II wrote:
At will, it looks like.

That is what it looks like to me.

Gimmicky to keep up around myself at all times, but small enough to not flood the battlefield.

pretty good for an archery based oracle. The standard action to activate is difficult to justify, though.

Sorry for posting on an old thread, but what does "choking" mean for this ability. I'm assuming it's the suffocation rules, but it doesn't really say.



A character who has no air to breathe can hold her breath for 2 rounds per point of Constitution. If a character takes a standard or full-round action, the remaining duration that the character can hold her breath is reduced by 1 round. After this period of time, the character must make a DC 10 Constitution check in order to continue holding her breath. The check must be repeated each round, with the DC increasing by +1 for each previous success.

When the character fails one of these Constitution checks, she begins to suffocate. In the first round, she falls unconscious (0 hit points). In the following round, she drops to –1 hit points and is dying. In the third round, she suffocates.

“A character who breathes heavy smoke must make a Fortitude save each round (DC 15, +1 per previous check) or spend that round choking and coughing. A character who chokes for 2 consecutive rounds takes 1d6 points of nonlethal damage. Smoke obscures vision, giving concealment (20% miss chance) to characters within it.” I think this rule found under smoke effects on AoN is the rules text you are looking for, not suffocation.

Thank you, that makes more sense.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Volcano Mystery, Ash Cloud All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.