Gloves and claws attacks


Rules Questions


Greetings:
Is there anything ruling out (or in) the use of claws attacks while wearing magic gloves?


Nope, no ruling prohibiting it. As long as you have hands, you can have gloves; if you have claws, you can make claw attacks even with gloves on.

Just pretend your gloves are fingerless.

Liberty's Edge

If your claws are sharp enough to deal lethal damage, I think all your gloves are fingerless! :D


Thank you! So, there's also nothing on masks that impedes bites?


KalEl el Vigilante wrote:
Thank you! So, there's also nothing on masks that impedes bites?

Correct.

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Unless it says otherwise in the specific item description, no.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
KalEl el Vigilante wrote:
Thank you! So, there's also nothing on masks that impedes bites?

That's not to say you can demand your GM let you bite through a mask because the rules expressly allow it, should they decide it doesn't make sense. But you might suggest a half-face mask, or changing the item to a hat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ashram wrote:

Nope, no ruling prohibiting it. As long as you have hands, you can have gloves; if you have claws, you can make claw attacks even with gloves on.

Just pretend your gloves are fingerless.

Or that 'claw attack' is a general representative term for any attack with your fngers.

Ripping/tearing your enemies apart barehanded, basically. Grabbing their flesh like you were grabbing a piece of clay or dough.

That is how I interpret the lesser beast totem, at least. Not that you beast out and grow hair and sharp fingernails- that you are just so ANGRY that you tear things bare handed.


It also fits with gorillas, probably.

Scarab Sages

Deliquescent Gloves specifically work with claw attacks.


Hijacking this thread just slightly, is there anything that prevents wearing magic gloves and fist-style weapons at the same time? Like, would a person with a cestus on each hand be able to wear and make use of Gloves of Dueling? I'd imagine that's fine, but I want to make sure there's no rule written somewhere that I missed.


In theory the cestus would fit over magical or mundane gloves, IMO. As one is a slotted item, the other a weapon, which do not have a slot per say.


Thats about what I figured, but again, wanted to make sure there was no rule buried somewhere that I didnt remember.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Gloves are assumed to be fingerless, because we're all murder-hobos.


Holy murder-hobos! Now Intrigue Batman can track us from our fingerprints...

Scarab Sages

Only exception is if you GM is imposing rules where items are designed for specific races. If claws aren't normal for your race, you may need to get it adjusted before you can wear it.

Scarab Sages

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Only exception is if you GM is imposing rules where items are designed for specific races. If claws aren't normal for your race, you may need to get it adjusted before you can wear it.

Nah, magic gloves resize to fit your hand slot. The only way it wouldn't is if you are a creature type without a hands slot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gloves and claws attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.