Runewell's Echo


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society


"Each player chooses one of his Pathfinder Society Adventure Card Guild characters. That character may treat the loot Runewell's Echo as if it is in his Class Deck box."

This is the Reward for Seasons of the Runelord shown in my 04/12/2016 print-out of "Dark Water Rising."

My Guild lead is very knowledgeable and experienced, but I'm not. He and I have discussed "Runewell's Echo" on two occasions, but he didn't know what a "Runewell's Echo" was and stated he didn't have a card of that. Because my Guild lead resleeved his Rise of the Runelords Base Set box with the official PACG sleeves three weeks back, I felt that I also had to resleeve my First Printing Rise of the Runelords Base Set box with the official PACG sleeves on 06/11/2016, and looked at each card. I didn't have a card with a name anything like that. The closest I could find was Location Runewell.

Today, my Guild lead suggested that "Runewell's Echo" was probably some sort of joke by Paizo and that such a thing didn't exist. I've looked through the message boards, did a Google Search for "Runewell's Echo," and then an image search, but didn't find anything.

Because I have a First Printing, I felt obligated to order the complete set of Errata cards from Drivethrurpg, because I thought maybe "Runewell's Echo" is an errata Loot card that wasn't in First Printing Rise of the Runelords Base Set box. I ordered those on 06/12/2016 but haven't received them yet. I have the Class Decks Alchemist, Bard, Cleric, Fighter, Ranger, Rogue, Sorceress, and Wizard, but I didn't see "Runewell's Echo" in any of those. I try to conscientiously check and print out each Resolution to Class Deck errors, as per expectation of PACG Guild (Guide pg. 5). I haven't ordered the other Class Decks at present, though I intend to purchase several more when I know if I like playing the respective class.

In which Base Set, Class Deck, Adventure Deck, or Add-On Deck could I find the Runewell's Echo card?

I feel rather foolish that I can't find my Guild requirement, and am worried that I will face venue expulsion (Guide pg. 5) if I go to a convention or play with someone other than my Guild lead, who has been very forgiving. I am new to the Guild and my only play sessions so far have been either solo or with my Guild lead. We have finally finished Scenario 2-1D tonight because I'm not very talented or lucky and have caused many more defeats and heartache than successes. Two of my Characters have died, so I conduct solo sessions to try and catch up, but am still holding my Guild lead back.

I keep thinking that I might attend a convention or perhaps play with others, and know that irregularities are grounds for venue expulsion (Guide pg. 5), so I keep scrupulous record of my solo play sessions. I would be very distressed if I'm accused of cheating and told not to attend any events in the Greater Houston Area. Please help.


You are right that this is not inside the actual sets.

I'm pretty sure Runewell's Echo is a printable Loot Card inside the last PDF for Season of the Runelords, just like the new Villains and Henchman in the already released parts.

I've never played the earlier seasons, and this is my first season as well, but if you investigate a bit, you will find out that the rewards for the first two seasons are not in the respective sets either.

Instead, the reward for the first season, "Season of the shackles" can by now be found at drivethru cards:
http://www.drivethrucards.com/product/148982/Pathfinder-Adventure-Card-Guil d-Season-of-the-Shackles-Councilors-Ring

(the link somehow contains a space I can not remove in editing, you have to remove it for the link to work)

It's probably in the last pdf because you can not get it before then anyway.

At the rate that the recent season is published however, it will take a while to get to those cards...

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Runewell's Echo is the reward for finishing the entire Season of the Runelords, yes?

That means it probably doesn't exist yet(outside of the Paizo offices), because there is no way for anyone to have it. Adventures 3-6 aren't out, so no one can have completed Season of the Runelords.

Each season has a card reward that you can add to the box of a new character. For Season of the Shackles it was Councilor's Ring, for Season of the Righteous it was Scale of Remembrance.

These cards aren't in their respective boxes, rather they are included with the proxies for adventure 6 of each season. Drive Thru cards currently has Councilor's Ring available to order; supposedly someday Scale of Remembrance will become available but we've been waiting on that since December last year.

So look for Runewell's Echo with adventure 6 of Season of the Runelords; at the rate things are currently going, that's probably looking at September/October release. Drive Thru Cards will probably get it at some nebulous future time after that - we're at, what, 6 months and counting waiting on the Season of the Righteous cards so that may take a long while.

Silver Crusade 4/5 ***

With regard to your concern about playing at cons and such, I really would not worry. I cannot speak to your area specifically, but most event organizers want you to play and will be helpful to you. The very worst thing that would happen is that you would be asked to play a new character or a pregen. No one is going to boot you from the convention for not knowing all the guild rules.


Thank you for all responses. I did see that there were six copies of "Councilor's Ring" in Seasons of Shackles when I ordered that set from Drivethrurpg. I ordered two additional cards in case my Guild lead and I play it or I ask to host a game of it at a local gaming store.

I wasn't sure how strictly Guild Guide pg. 5 was enforced. I was quite surprised at the expectation to be familiar with all Resolutions as they are updated on Paizo.Com. I had been playing Rise of the Runelords for a long time without knowing that there were Resolutions until after reading the Guild Guide.


Is your Guild lead a Venture Agent? Or just a store coordinator running the games?

In any case, playing Rise of the Runelords at home is not the same as playing it in Guild play; at home, you can houserule your game all you want, but Guild play has to be consistent to make sure everybody's having the same experience. Think of it like Magic the Gathering's floor rules.

Silver Crusade 4/5 ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.

To clarify on my last post, yes, you do always need to follow guild rules. I just wanted to reassure you that so long as you are making a good faith effort and following the guide, no member of the PACG police is going to tell you that you aren't allowed to play anymore because you didn't realize an errata had been issued.


And if there's an issue with your character or something like that, we won't kick you out - we can correct it if it's a quick issue, or we can have you create a character/pregen until we resolve the issue.

There's a lot of rules to remember! I second Eliandra's reassurance of you making a good faith effort.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Runewell's Echo will be included in Season of the Runelords Adventure 6. (You can't possibly earn it until completing that adventure.)


To zeroth_hour2: Since I joined the Guild, I've only played Scenarios for Seasons of the Runelord because I really like my Alchemist Damiel. I have the smartphone app game, but I don't like it so much because I can't play my Damiel.

I am not familiar enough with house rules to implement any.

My Guild lead also looked at Damiel's card and we learned that I'm able to recharge his spells. I've been discarding them up until last night because he didn't have the Divine trait. My room-mate thinks he is somewhat overpowered, but one of his powers is that he cannot use spells with Attack trait. I jokingly refer to that as his "Anti-Power." I re-read the Resolutions last night because my Guild lead told me there was a limit of two explorations per turn, but that was under the first printing of the Rise of the Runelords Rulebook. I emailed him this afternoon about the new Resolution.

Several reasons that we had so many defeats was because we couldn't finish in time and I wasn't using Alchemist Damiel's powers correctly. For example, last night my Guild lead performed his first exploration, then used a Blessing to perform a second exploration and encountered Barrier Pit Trap. Even though the card stated he could immediately explore again after defeating it, the First Printing Rulebook expressly forbid it. Rise of the Runelords Tenet II: "Cards Don’t Do What They Don’t Say." We didn't successfully complete the Scenario since we used up the Blessings deck. Luckily, we had time to re-run the Scenario that night and were able to successfully finish it. It takes me three or more attempts to successfully complete any Scenario when I play solo, but when I play with my Guild lead we can generally do it in only two tries.

To Eliandra Giltessan: I use the term "Guild lead" because I don't know what else to call him. I came up with that term because he is very knowledgeable and experienced as well as the person who organized the event, which I discovered by accident one day looking at Paizo.Com which is how I joined the Guild. I hadn't joined before because I thought there were dues. He is very forgiving and I've learned a lot that I misunderstood. Each week I have two or more questions to ask him about situations that happened to me when I play solo at home. Because I play solo a lot, I try to be rule against myself in the most unfavorable interpretation as possible. For example, when I summoned an Ancient Skeleton for Barrier Skeleton Horde and didn't defeat it, I shuffled the Monster card into the Location deck (but not Barrier Skeleton Horde since it expressly stated to banish it). I asked my Guild lead about that later and he told me I misinterpreted the card.

I did ask my Guild lead what his proper title was, since there we already have designated Venture Lieutenant Captains and a Venture Captain in the Greater Houston Area. He told me that he wasn't sure what his actual rank was. When I address our superiors, I refer to him as "my Guild lead, (his name)." In our area, the Pathfinder Society is primarily intended for the Roleplaying Game. I think my Guild lead and I might be the only ones who play PACG.

To Vic Wertz: Thank you for the update about Runewell's Echo. I really love all the art and information of Paizo, since the days of magazines "Dungeon" and "Dragon." I have so many books, modules, maps, PDFs, novels, and minis but have never played the Roleplaying Game, just PACG. I try to read up about the Iconics as much as possible and stay abreast of what is happening in Golarion because they're so fascinating.


Just to be clear, no version of the rules have ever forbidden exploring more than twice per turn. From the beginning, you have been able to explore as many times as you can get an extra exploration on a turn.

And, as others have said, don't fret getting the rules perfect. No one is getting expelled unless they are intentionally cheating.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Um, there has never been a limit on how many explorations you can do in a turn. Six player games would be nearly impossible if you were limited to two.

Now I'm concerned that you may be having a tough time with scenarios because your local group is making rules errors. (Which is not to judge you, it can be a complex game)

Heck the first time I played, we let the summoned skeletons from Skeleton Horde close locations. (That isn't supposed to happen)

Are you and your friend playing two player games? You shouldn't run out of time that often with two players - it'll happen, but usually risk of dying is a greater threat with low numbers of players.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Houstonian wrote:
I re-read the Resolutions last night because my Guild lead told me there was a limit of two explorations per turn, but that was under the first printing of the Rise of the Runelords Rulebook. I emailed him this afternoon about the new Resolution.

I suspect that he was misunderstanding this rule:

Rise of the Runelords Rulebook wrote:

Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn; if, during a single exploration, multiple effects each give you an additional exploration, it counts as a total of 1 more exploration, not a series of additional explorations.

We recognized that this sometimes confused people, so we have since reworded it, and added an example. (Mechanically speaking, the rule hasn't changed—just the way it's stated.)

Wrath of the Righteous Rulebook wrote:

Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn, and there is no limit to the number of times you can explore.
However, during a single exploration, no matter how many different effects allow you to explore again, treat them as granting one additional exploration, not a series of additional explorations. For example, Imrijka has a power that sometimes lets her explore again if she defeats a monster, and the monster Cave Lizard can be defeated to allow an extra exploration. If Imrijka were to defeat a Cave Lizard, she could get one additional exploration from those effects, not two.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I highly recommend you grab a copy of the Wrath of the Righteous rulebook and read through it (a pdf is available for free download from this site). It does a much better job of clarifying things than the Rise of the Runelords rulebook. Certain things won't apply during your playing of RotR or SotRu (for example, you don't have to worry about Mythic charges or Corrupted cards), but the rules in general still apply. Treat it as a version 3 of the rulebook, whereas RotR is version 1 -- it's still the same rules, but worded better.

Another thing that can help is looking up youtube videos of people playing PACG so you can get an idea of how other groups play -- I can't promise they'll be perfect, but you may notice things that they're doing differently from you, figure out what the rules say about those things, and then learn from there :)


Vic Wertz wrote:
Houstonian wrote:
I re-read the Resolutions last night because my Guild lead told me there was a limit of two explorations per turn, but that was under the first printing of the Rise of the Runelords Rulebook. I emailed him this afternoon about the new Resolution.

I suspect that he was misunderstanding this rule:

Rise of the Runelords Rulebook wrote:

Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn; if, during a single exploration, multiple effects each give you an additional exploration, it counts as a total of 1 more exploration, not a series of additional explorations.

We recognized that this sometimes confused people, so we have since reworded it, and added an example. (Mechanically speaking, the rule hasn't changed—just the way it's stated.)

Wrath of the Righteous Rulebook wrote:

Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn, and there is no limit to the number of times you can explore.
However, during a single exploration, no matter how many different effects allow you to explore again, treat them as granting one additional exploration, not a series of additional explorations. For example, Imrijka has a power that sometimes lets her explore again if she defeats a monster, and the monster Cave Lizard can be defeated to allow an extra exploration. If Imrijka were to defeat a Cave Lizard, she could get one additional exploration from those effects, not two.

Took us half a run of RotR until I figured that out, so that clarification in the newer sets is much appreciated.


Thank you everyone. I'd like to clarify that my questions in PACG Guild Messageboards only apply to official, organized Guild Play. I imagine folk can do as they wish, but I want to follow rules to the letter so as not to be accused of variance. Guild Guide 5, 7.

My Guild lead had stated that rules in one Base Set only apply to that particular Base Set, and that Wrath of the Righteous rules cannot be considered in Rise of the Runelords.

Quote:
We strongly recommend you use the most current version of the rulebook (which contains the most general rules), plus the rulebook for the base set you're using. Guide 5

The first rulebook presumable is that for Rise of the Runelords.

I haven't completely read any rulebooks other than that for Rise. I have the other Base Sets and from sleeving their cards know that there are Ships in Skull & Shackles and Horses in Wrath. I don't know how those operate and figured they weren't to be used in Rise. Are rules from one Base Set compatible with rules for another Base Set?

Another is characters such as Hunter Adowyn. Seeings as there is no Class Deck Hunter, I couldn't imagine her being a valid Guild character, nor Cavalier Alain, etc.
Can we use characters that do not have Class Decks? I was about to put Guild references, but it seems forbidden on almost every page beginning with 5.

Grand Lodge

Houstonian wrote:

Thank you everyone. I'd like to clarify that my questions in PACG Guild Messageboards only apply to official, organized Guild Play. I imagine folk can do as they wish, but I want to follow rules to the letter so as not to be accused of variance. Guild Guide 5, 7.

My Guild lead had stated that rules in one Base Set only apply to that particular Base Set, and that Wrath of the Righteous rules cannot be considered in Rise of the Runelords.

Quote:
We strongly recommend you use the most current version of the rulebook (which contains the most general rules), plus the rulebook for the base set you're using. Guide 5

The first rulebook presumable is that for Rise of the Runelords.

I haven't completely read any rulebooks other than that for Rise. I have the other Base Sets and from sleeving their cards know that there are Ships in Skull & Shackles and Horses in Wrath. I don't know how those operate and figured they weren't to be used in Rise. Are rules from one Base Set compatible with rules for another Base Set?

Another is characters such as Hunter Adowyn. Seeings as there is no Class Deck Hunter, I couldn't imagine her being a valid Guild character, nor Cavalier Alain, etc.
Can we use characters that do not have Class Decks? I was about to put Guild references, but it seems forbidden on almost every page beginning with 5.

Yes, as the rulebooks are updated, they are applicable to prior base sets. So the rulebook that is for Wrath of the Righteous is to be used with Skull & Shackles and Rise of the Runelords. There may be specific content in rulebooks like Mythic charges, Mythic banes, etc that are only applicable to Wrath. Same for ships and plunder for Skull & Shackles.

Some characters get "unlocked"'as rewards for completing adventures. Characters like Jirelle, Enora and Alain are unlocked as you complete adventures in Season of the Shackles and Season of the Righteous. They are to be used specifically with the Rogue, Wizard and Paladin class decks, respectively. They are PFS ACG legal characters.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

The rulebook for the most recently-released base set (Wrath of the Righteous at the time of this post, soon to be Mummy's Mask) plus any FAQs for it should be considered as the "canonical" version of the rules. You will obviously ignore things in that rulebook specific to that base set, and you may still need to consult the rulebook for the base set you are playing in order to see the rules on things specific to that set (for example, if you are playing in Skull & Shackles, you will need to consult with that rulebook for the rules on Ships and Plunder, as these things are not present in the Wrath of the Righteous rulebook).

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"We strongly recommend you use the most current version of the rulebook (which contains the most general rules), plus the rulebook for the base set you're using."

What that means is right now, if you were playing Season of the Shackles, you should be using the Wrath rulebook ("the most current version of the rulebook") plus the Wrath rulebook FAQ for the general rules, with the Skull & Shackles rulebook ("the rulebook for the base set you're using") plus the S&S rulebook FAQ for the rules that are unique to that set (ship rules, in this example).

When Mummy's Mask comes out in October, you'd switch to the MM rulebook (plus the MM rulebook FAQ) with the S&S rulebook (plus S&S rulebook FAQ).


Vic Wertz wrote:

"We strongly recommend you use the most current version of the rulebook (which contains the most general rules), plus the rulebook for the base set you're using."

What that means is right now, if you were playing Season of the Shackles, you should be using the Wrath rulebook ("the most current version of the rulebook") plus the Wrath rulebook FAQ for the general rules, with the Skull & Shackles rulebook ("the rulebook for the base set you're using") plus the S&S rulebook FAQ for the rules that are unique to that set (ship rules, in this example).

When Mummy's Mask comes out in October, you'd switch to the MM rulebook (plus the MM rulebook FAQ) with the S&S rulebook (plus S&S rulebook FAQ).

Oh my, there are probably a lot more FAQ and Resolutions than I am totally unfamiliar with! I don't have MS Word so it's not very easy to make my reference documents because the text format Paizo.Com uses is different than Google Docs. Currently I have shrink it down into smaller fonts and delete a lot of "back to tops." :-o

Grand Lodge

Houstonian wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:

"We strongly recommend you use the most current version of the rulebook (which contains the most general rules), plus the rulebook for the base set you're using."

What that means is right now, if you were playing Season of the Shackles, you should be using the Wrath rulebook ("the most current version of the rulebook") plus the Wrath rulebook FAQ for the general rules, with the Skull & Shackles rulebook ("the rulebook for the base set you're using") plus the S&S rulebook FAQ for the rules that are unique to that set (ship rules, in this example).

When Mummy's Mask comes out in October, you'd switch to the MM rulebook (plus the MM rulebook FAQ) with the S&S rulebook (plus S&S rulebook FAQ).

Oh my, there are probably a lot more FAQ and Resolutions than I am totally unfamiliar with! I don't have MS Word so it's not very easy to make my reference documents because the text format Paizo.Com uses is different than Google Docs. Currently I have shrink it down into smaller fonts and delete a lot of "back to tops." :-o

What Vic is telling you is simply which rulebooks and faqs you should follow. However, you don't need all of that printed out each time you play. Most of the game is common sense. With guild play, you need to be cognizant of differences between normal play and guild play. Most of that is in deck composition (being from the class deck box) and how upgrades are done and how leveling is done. Beyond that, just enjoy the game and when questions pop up, refer to the latest rulebook(s) and search through the FAQs.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Should the Runewell's Echo card have a Check to Acquire value in case it gets shuffled into a location deck or should it be considers auto acquired if encountered?


Isn't loot always auto-acquired? There should be some faq on that if it is not in the rules already.

I can't recall any lootcard with a check to acquire, and a quick search in google images doesn't show any checks either, so Runewell's Echo uses the same rules as all the 'ordinary' loot in your box.


Any loot that ends up in a location deck is automatically acquired when explored.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Wrath rulebook p.24 wrote:
If a loot card ends up in a location deck, you automatically acquire it when you encounter it.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / Runewell's Echo All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society
Some beginner questions