Runestone of Power or Pearl of Power for Arcanist


Advice

Grand Lodge

Here is something my one player asked me and since it is the first time any of us have tried Arcanist it took me by suprise. Does a Arcanist use Runestone of Power or Pearl of Power or none at all?

I think by the wording it should be a Runestone but this class is a mist so I could be wrong. What do you all think.


I think it should be a runestone, too, but don't have anything in particular to back that up. I settled on my decision rather quickly after skimming some other threads and reading both items.


I also agree it should be a runestone. An arcanist doesn't expend prepared spells, so there's not anything to recall with the pearl.

Grand Lodge

Runestone

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32

The pearl of power is "a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells". The arcanist prepares spells; therefore it should work for him.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kurald Galain wrote:
The pearl of power is "a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells". The arcanist prepares spells; therefore it should work for him.

Well, arcanists came along after the pearl of power's description was written, so this falls into a grey area. They prepare spells like a wizard, but CAST them like a sorcerer. The benefit of the pearl is that it allows a prepared caster like a cleric or a wizard to a get a prepared spell back, giving them a touch of the versatility that sorcerers (and arcanists) already enjoy.

And one final thing note: pearls of power cost half as much as runestones of power. That alone suggests the game designers did not intend for them to work the same way.

So, I'd say the pearl would NOT work for an arcanist the way it would work for a cleric or a wizard.

- V -


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The pearl restores the use of a specific spell that you have once used. Taking the canonical example of a Wizard, in this case preparation specifically refers to the selection of specific spells into specific spell slots. Once cast, that spell is no longer available for casting under normal circumstances. If you prepared (memorized) two copies of a spell, each separately memorized copy stands apart.

The rune restores the use of a specific spell level slot. Taking the canonical example of a Sorcerer, the spells which a given spell level slot may be used for are fixed and not changeable. Once the Sorcerer casts one of their spells known it consumes one use of spells at that level which cannot be restored until sleep that night.

The Arcanist "prepares" by selecting a number of spells for the day which will then be fueled by their spell level slots. When an Arcanist casts a spell, it's not a specific instance of a spell that is consumed but one of that spell level's daily casting slots. There are no specific instances of spells to restore, so nothing for the pearl to affect. But there are spell level slots to restore, which the rune handles.


Arcanists should benefit from both the Runestone of Power and the Spell Page of Knowledge, but not from the Pearl of Power.


What if the Arcanist CONSUMED a spell slot to fuel his arcane reservoir?

Would a Pearl restore the consumed spell slot?

What would work to restore consumed spell slots?

Dark Archive

Runestone.
.
Read the mechanics -- the pearl lets you recall a spell that was prepared and cast. But the arcanist never forgets the spells s/he has prepared and cast. The runestone of power, on the other hand, lets one "draw upon a runestone of power to cast a spell . . . [expending] that runestone’s power for the day rather than one of the spellcaster’s actual spell slots for the day."


LACY JONES wrote:

What if the Arcanist CONSUMED a spell slot to fuel his arcane reservoir?

Would a Pearl restore the consumed spell slot?

What would work to restore consumed spell slots?

Neither would work in this case. A pearl of power only restores spells that were prepared then cast, expending the spell. A runestone of power doesn't restore anything--it expends its own power in place of a spontaneous caster's spell slot. Other methods of "using up" prepared spells and/or spontaneous spell slots are unaffected by these particular items.

Edit: You can, however, use the runestone to cast a spell without expending a spell slot, as Doctor Boem et al. mentioned.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Runestone of Power or Pearl of Power for Arcanist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.