Alchemist Class Deck Damiel - Clarification on ability


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The Alchemist Class Deck Damiel has an ability that reads:

When you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait or a spell for its power, you
may recharge it instead.

How should this be read? Is is When you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait for its power, or anytime you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait?

If it is anytime you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait then Damiel as a MindChemist can become extremely powerful as he can recharge a card with the Alchemical trait to DEX to any "Mental" skill or INT to any "Physical" skill.

On the other hand if it is When you would banish a card that has the Alchemical trait for its power, then the Staff Sling like weapons become pretty much pointless as they make you banish your cards with the Alchemical trait.

Silver Crusade

It's "When you would banish a card that has the alchemical trait for its power." So if you banish it for something else, like a character power or another card, you don't get to recharge it.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
It's "When you would banish a card that has the alchemical trait for its power." So if you banish it for something else, like a character power or another card, you don't get to recharge it.
Rulebook pg 9 wrote:

Playing Cards

Anyone can play a card whenever the card allows it. Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specified by that card. Activating a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it. If a power says using it counts as playing a boon, it counts as playing a card. Doing something with a card that does not use a power on that card does not count as playing that card. For example, when Seelah discards a spell to use a power on her character card, the discarded card does not count as being played (meaning she also can’t recharge it).

That's where the reference is about playing cards and using the powers on cards vs using a character's power with cards having specific traits or specific types. (Like that example of Seelah using her power.)


Just to note: Damiel's Mind Chemist power has him burying alchemical cards to buff his checks, not banishing them (with an upgrade, he can discard the alchemical cards instead).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Alchemist Class Deck Damiel - Clarification on ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion