Warpriest - Light Steel Shield + Longsword + Swift Spells


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Since swift spells still require spell components, a free hand to cast for material and somatic components.

While wielding a light steel shield and a longsword as a warpriest, can I legally transfer my weapon to my hand holding the shield (free action), cast my spell (swift action by special ability), and then return my weapon to my weapon hand (free action)? Would this cost me the AC my shield provides for the round?


yes and no.
Yes you can do it and no you don't lose ac.


Light shields leave your hand free, so you don't need to go through all of that.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Azten wrote:
Light shields leave your hand free, so you don't need to go through all of that.

But I thought I read that if the hand wielding a shield was used to cast spells, shield bonus is lost, buckler or light.


As far as I can tell, that's only for bucklers if you're wielding a weapon as far as I remember.


If you're talking about fervor casting, then it's hands free.
"Spells cast in this way ignore somatic components and do not provoke attacks of opportunity. The warpriest does not need to have a free hand to cast a spell in this way."


ckdragons wrote:
Azten wrote:
Light shields leave your hand free, so you don't need to go through all of that.

But I thought I read that if the hand wielding a shield was used to cast spells, shield bonus is lost, buckler or light.

There are different levels of "free". The small shield hand can hold objects but not manipulate them.


But they don't ignore material components or get around needing a divine focus. Which is what the OP is talking about.


You can hold items in your hand with a light shield, but you can't wield a weapon or cast spells. The OP's use of free actions to transfer weapons to and from that hand is correct.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Could the divine focus be the deity's symbol etched onto the shield? Or does it have to be a specific holy symbol to held/presented?


Swift spells are like quickened spells, you're pretty much somatic and verbal component free... Just like a Paladin's swift action self heal.

It's the clear intention that fervor is intended to gieyou your buff and your full attack sequence in the same round.


Chess Pwn wrote:
But they don't ignore material components or get around needing a divine focus. Which is what the OP is talking about.

Maybe but you still don't have to have a free hand to use those because:

"The warpriest, does not need to have a free hand to cast a spell in this way."

So you can use your focus and components without needing a free hand to use them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Warpriest - Light Steel Shield + Longsword + Swift Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.