Verbal Component


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Unless I have missed something verbal component says:
Verbal (V): A verbal component is a spoken incantation. To provide a verbal component, you must be able to speak in a strong voice. A silence spell or a gag spoils the incantation (and thus the spell). A spellcaster who has been deafened has a 20% chance of spoiling any spell with a verbal component that he tries to cast.

To be able to and to actually do are very different things. I am able to jump up and down for 5 minutes, am I actually doing it, no. I am able to type with my nose, am I doing it, no."

Is there a faq that clarifies this?
I am not arguing that spellcasters can mumble, but the raw doesnt say that they HAVE TO speak clearly


6 people marked this as a favorite.

Whatever you're trying to do. NO
You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

This is my favorite rules question ever.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Slithery D wrote:
This is my favorite rules question ever.

I am able to, and do, agree with you.

Scarab Sages

You do not have to speak loudly if you use the silent spell metamagic feat. Otherwise, project from your diaphragm.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

To be able to, and to cast a spell are also different things.

Project your voice, metamagic every spell with silent spell, get a metamagic wand of silence, or give up spell casting.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Whatever you're trying to do. NO

You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.

If you read to the end you would see that I know you have to speak in a clear voice to cast. I just want to clarify where it says I actually have to. Or perhaps point out an error for faqing or errata


I think it's an unspoken rule that never got written because no one had the gall to point it out. Well played.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
J4RH34D wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Whatever you're trying to do. NO

You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.
If you read to the end you would see that I know you have to speak in a clear voice to cast. I just want to clarify where it says I actually have to. Or perhaps point out an error for faqing or errata

Is this what you are looking for?

CRB >> Combat >> Cast a Spell >> Spell Components wrote:
To cast a spell with a verbal (V) component, your character must speak in a firm voice.


Gisher wrote:
J4RH34D wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Whatever you're trying to do. NO

You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.
If you read to the end you would see that I know you have to speak in a clear voice to cast. I just want to clarify where it says I actually have to. Or perhaps point out an error for faqing or errata

Is this what you are looking for?

CRB >> Combat >> Cast a Spell >> Spell Components wrote:
To cast a spell with a verbal (V) component, your character must speak in a firm voice.

That was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you. I missed that rule when looking. Also glad you could point out the actual rule to me. Thank you


You are welcome. :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
J4RH34D wrote:
Gisher wrote:
J4RH34D wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Whatever you're trying to do. NO

You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.
If you read to the end you would see that I know you have to speak in a clear voice to cast. I just want to clarify where it says I actually have to. Or perhaps point out an error for faqing or errata

Is this what you are looking for?

CRB >> Combat >> Cast a Spell >> Spell Components wrote:
To cast a spell with a verbal (V) component, your character must speak in a firm voice.
That was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you. I missed that rule when looking. Also glad you could point out the actual rule to me. Thank you

Copy(control+c) "To cast a spell with a verbal (V) component, your character must speak in a firm voice."

Go to the combat chapter. Combat Chapter Link

Use the find/search feature in your browser. Press control+f

Paste(control+v)

It should take you right to it.

PS: I was not being snarky. I have run into posters here who did not know how to do this before. <---In before "everyone knows how to do that".


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

So, if a character has a pipsqueak voice, they aren't really qualified to be a caster, right?

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The originally cited rule was clear.

Seriously, people need to get over this, 'if I possibly can miscontrue a rule that means I should do so' method of interpretation.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I hope you realize I was joking.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
J4RH34D wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:

Whatever you're trying to do. NO

You must use the strong voice to cast a spell.
If you read to the end you would see that I know you have to speak in a clear voice to cast. I just want to clarify where it says I actually have to. Or perhaps point out an error for faqing or errata

Chess Pwn read it to the end. Everyone here did. I'll reiterate: Whateveryou're trying to do, no. Don't do that. Even if the other rule wasn't there, just don't do that.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Zaister wrote:
I hope you realize I was joking.

Sorry Zaister. I was commenting on the thread in general rather than your joke.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Ok, no harm done. :)


There is also no reason for you guys to talk to me in such a condescending way.
I am not trying to do anything, and have made that clear. I do not appreciate people insinuating that I am trying to game the system by posting a simple question asking for someone to point out what I was missing on a rule.
That does not deserve people trying to tell me that I am gaming the system or deliberately misinterpreting rules. I know what the rule is, and was simply asking someone to point out where it was spelled out, which certain people have kindly done.

If I am misunderstanding anyone's tone, I apologize. Text based communication causes issues.


This is the internet. Don't take things personally or you're the one who makes it personal (this applies in more ways than one).
The problem in this specific instance is the topic, as there's been numerous cases of people wanting to game this particular part of the system on multiple occasions. I'm sure these people here don't mean any harm... yet... they just don't know how comprehensive they should be.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
J4RH34D wrote:
I know what the rule is, and was simply asking someone to point out where it was spelled out

If the rule is clear enough that you know what it intends then it doesn't NEED to be 'spelled out' even more clearly somewhere else.


J4RH34D wrote:

There is also no reason for you guys to talk to me in such a condescending way.

I am not trying to do anything, and have made that clear. I do not appreciate people insinuating that I am trying to game the system by posting a simple question asking for someone to point out what I was missing on a rule.
That does not deserve people trying to tell me that I am gaming the system or deliberately misinterpreting rules. I know what the rule is, and was simply asking someone to point out where it was spelled out, which certain people have kindly done.

If I am misunderstanding anyone's tone, I apologize. Text based communication causes issues.

....Wov.


CBDunkerson wrote:
J4RH34D wrote:
I know what the rule is, and was simply asking someone to point out where it was spelled out
If the rule is clear enough that you know what it intends then it doesn't NEED to be 'spelled out' even more clearly somewhere else.

The only reason I know what the rule intends is because of the time I have spent on this forum. I am trying to find a rule that says X exactly so I can show it to new players without having to show them pages and pages of forums

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Verbal Component All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.