Question regarding Life Oracles.


Rules Questions


According to the Revelation, Energy Body "Any undead creature striking you with its body or a handheld weapon deals normal damage, but at the same time the attacker takes 1d6 points of positive energy damage + 1 point per oracle level. Creatures wielding melee weapons with reach are not subject to this damage if they attack you. If you grapple or attack an undead creature using unarmed strikes or natural weapons, you may deal this damage in place of the normal damage for the attack. Once per round, if you pass through a living allied creature’s square or the ally passes through your square, it heals 1d6 hit points + 1 per oracle level."

It has been said in a game that I am playing that it seems to powerful of an ability that in the same round that you use the ability to heal party members of the party, you could also damage Undead.
The crux of the issue is that when I change into my energy form, and then move through allies squares to heal them, if an Undead enemy strikes me with an attack of opportunity, is it not too powerful of an ability that in the same round that I am healing with the ability, it also deals damage to an undead that has struck me?
The point has been made that a Cleric who is channeling energy, must state before the channel whether he is using the ability to heal allies, or to damage enemies. And that maybe a similar requirement should be called for when a Life Oracle assumes his energy form.

Any opinions would be welcome.


You can only heal one party member / round.


It's 1d6+1-20, compared to a contemporary Channel it's pretty much useless after 2nd level and has less of a range/quantity of uses.

Even if you were hasted and triggered say 8 enemies and each hit you with their AoO (And you survived) it's still a rather paltry amount. Not overpowered whatsoever.


WascallyWabbit wrote:

The point has been made that a Cleric who is channeling energy, must state before the channel whether he is using the ability to heal allies, or to damage enemies. And that maybe a similar requirement should be called for when a Life Oracle assumes his energy form.

- Channel Energy heals all in the area or damages all in the area without you taking any damage.

- Energy Body heals one person per round only and you must take damage in order to deal any damage in the same round.

That's a huge difference and therefore not a good basis to compare Channel Energy and Energy Body at all. If Energy Body could heal more in one round, or not take any damage while damaging others, that would have been a far better case for power level adjustments.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question regarding Life Oracles. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.