Does my gear still weigh anything while im shapeshifted?


Rules Questions


Hey all.

Basic question, when im shapeshifted and my gear melds into my form does it still weigh the same? nothing? same but adjusted for size?

Thanks for the help.


{deleted text} see FAQ listed below by Protoman...

You could weigh 4000lbs with a 10 Strength, but the game assumes you can still move about and are somewhat self sufficient and have no load... it's a game.

PRD polymorph wrote:

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.

the quoted text assumes the material components were worn and thus melded into your form.


From this FAQ, it'll depend on if you were encumbered initially or not. If you were, you'd still take the speed and encumbrance penalties in the new form, even if not counting the weight.


Protoman is correct. With the FAQ link that he listed.

more importantly read it well, as it now means that you are considered to be "Armored" while shapeshifted with armor. So no dipping into monk wisdom bonus for ac bonus in animal form.

Lastly the wildling enchantment cost a lot (+3 enchantment), but with the errant change, if you get the enchantment,,,, you now suffer any ... armor check penalty, movement speed reduction, or arcane spell failure chance, that the armor has once you get the Wildling enchantment added to it (( but you do gain the armor AC and any enchantment AC bonus now as well)).

Just something to consider in your build plans for the future.

Liberty's Edge

Whoa, that hurts my build a LOT. Particularly the Wisdom to AC and applying the ACP with Wild... S!%+ not sure what to do about that.


Have someone put bracers of armor on you after you wild shape.


hasteroth wrote:
Whoa, that hurts my build a LOT. Particularly the Wisdom to AC and applying the ACP with Wild... S%~$ not sure what to do about that.

Oh no. Druids go from one of the strongest classes in the game... to still being one of the strongest, but with somewhat trickier AC early on.

You are still a 9 level caster with great reach, plenty of pounce options, and fantastic bonuses to strength and natural armor.

OF course, maybe my perception is tainted by the fact that I try to stay as a tiger, dinosaur, or giant rock man for as long as possible as soon as possible, so I just buy barding and the like to fit those forms. Less immediate flexibility... but you are a class that can shoot lightning, so not being a bird isn't the end of the world in battle. Past that, I usually just turn into useful things when immediately appropriate, and jsut stick to a nice battle form as much as possible.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does my gear still weigh anything while im shapeshifted? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.