Seperatist Cleric (archetype) DC question?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:

Forbidden Rites: A separatist selects one domain from her deity’s domain list, and a second domain that is not on her deity’s domain list. This second domain cannot be an alignment domain that doesn’t match the cleric’s or her deity’s alignment. For example, a lawful good separatist cleric of a neutral good deity cannot choose the Chaos or Evil domain with this ability, but can select the Lawful domain even though her deity isn’t lawful.

Granted powers from the cleric’s second domain function as if the cleric’s level, Wisdom, and Charisma were 2 lower than normal (minimum level 1) in terms of effect, DC, and uses per day. This also means the separatist doesn’t gain the domain’s higher-level ability until 2 levels later than normal. If the second domain grants additional class skills, the separatist gains these as normal. In all other respects, this ability works like and replaces the standard cleric’s domain ability.

Bold is mine.

Does the reducing the level and wisdom effectively apply twice with regard to DC? DC would be 10 + 1/2 cleric level + wisdom mod.

I know there is a rule regarding not applying the same modifer multiple times and was wondering if it applies here.

As is, this effectively reduces the DC by 2 (-1 for reduced wisdom and -1 for reduction in level). I'm not really sure what the intention is here, though it does clearly intend to affect the DC.

Grand Lodge

This isn't the same modifier twice (which I'm not sure applies to penalties anyway). This is more like adding an enhancement bonus to strength and an enhancement bonus to your weapon. The net result in that case would be both improving your chance to hit with a melee attack (assuming you're not finessable) even though both are enhancement bonuses, because they're adding to different things.

A separatist cleric's second domain's DCs are 2 lower than their normal domain's.

Scarab Sages

Jeff Merola wrote:

This isn't the same modifier twice (which I'm not sure applies to penalties anyway). This is more like adding an enhancement bonus to strength and an enhancement bonus to your weapon. The net result in that case would be both improving your chance to hit with a melee attack (assuming you're not finessable) even though both are enhancement bonuses, because they're adding to different things.

A separatist cleric's second domain's DCs are 2 lower than their normal domain's.

Thanks, was just double checking.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Seperatist Cleric (archetype) DC question? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.