Ultimate Equipment (Second Printing)


Pathfinder Society

1 to 50 of 606 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Paizo Employee 4/5 Pathfinder Society Lead Developer

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 26 people marked this as a favorite.

A second printing of Ultimate Equipment is just hitting the shelves, and the errata/updates document is just hitting paizo.com. While many of the changes are minor, editorial updates, I expect a handful of others will have a noticeable impact on some PCs. Page 29 of the Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide addresses how to handle those items that saw a price adjustment—most noticeably four-mirror armor, the benevolent armor enhancement, and a handful of magical staves: sell back the item at its original full market price, and so long as you have enough gp and Fame, you can purchase it back at the updated cost. The team’s aware that several pregenerated characters may need adjustments to their gear, and we’ll address those as the development schedule permits.

The design team has revised how several items function. In some cases, this means the Pathfinder Society team will revisit that item’s status on the Additional Resources page and will likely add them to the list in the next update we compile. In other cases the item may not provide the same benefits; knowing this might have an impact on certain character builds, we’re providing the following special guidelines for handling these updates.

Note that I updated this post on May 20, 2016 to include several other rebuild considerations.

Staff of the Master: You may sell this item back at its full market price. Whether you keep or sell this item, you may also retrain any of your metamagic feats or class features that granted you bonus metamagic feats.

Mnemonic Vestment: If you have more than one of this item, you may sell back any duplicates at their full market price.

Cap of the Free Thinker, Feather Step Slippers, Gloves of Reconnaissance, Jingasa of the Fortunate Soldier, Ring of Continuation, Ring of Ferocious Action, Ring of Inner Fortitude, Ring of Revelation, Ring of Sundering Metals (from Inner Sea Gods) and Tremor Boots: You may sell any of these items back at their full market price.

Brawling armor: Normally this would just follow the guidelines on page 29 of the Guide, but I get the concern that a key item for unconventional unarmed strikers might now be inaccessible—not because it’s expensive but because one’s character wealth is tied up in other recent purchases. It might be that we need to revisit the exact policy in the Guide, so let’s use brawling as a test-run of a slightly different model. You may sell back your character’s most recent purchases at full market price, but only enough to afford +1 brawling armor at its new price; you must still have enough Fame to qualify for this purchase.

Mistmail: You may sell this item back at its full market price. If you do so, you may also sell back other items that grant you an armor bonus, such as bracers of armor, a wand of mage armor (calculate cost based on charges remaining), or a pearl of power (assuming that it was, in fact, for facilitating mage armor or the like—kindly use your best judgment here).

Scorpion Whip: We’re bringing the scorpion whip in line with the FAQ from May 2015, which is now reflected in the second printing of Ultimate Equipment. Using a scorpion whip to its full potential now requires two different proficiencies: whip and scorpion whip. If someone were using a scorpion whip, we’re providing a choice between two forms of rebuild. First, a PC can sell back any scorpion whips at full price (ostensibly in order to buy a normal whip with equivalent enhancements, but that’s not mandatory). Second, a PC can choose to retrain a single feat in order to take either Exotic Weapon Proficiency (whip) or Exotic Weapon Proficiency (scorpion whip)—whichever he lacks. You may, of course, take no action and just choose to use a scorpion whip as a light performance weapon.

To the best of our ability, we’ll be updating the Additional Resources page and/or Campaign Clarifications to reflect these changes, including where two sources’ depictions of the items now vary.

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

While you're at it, can we now use the updated scorpion whip rules out of UE and not AA?

Silver Crusade 1/5 Contributor

Looks like a lot of long-needed changes. ^_^

Time to sell and rebuy my benevolent armor...

Grand Lodge 5/5

Wow, there's some significant stuff in there.

4/5 5/5 * Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yup. Some items that were crazy must-buys were rebalanced (I'm looking at you, jingasa) while some items that were flat-out broken were fixed. (Jaunt boots is an excellent example of an item that didn't really work as written.)

5/5 5/55/55/5

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Ugh. Good bye feather step slippers hello bucket of featherstep wands.

YAY! Gloves of DM aggro nerfed

1/5 Venture-Agent, Utah—Provo

brawling armor from a +1 to a +3. Wow.

1/5

YES
we have no spring-loaded wrist sheathes

3/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Jingasa and Slippers you will be missed... *sniff* *sniff*

2/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm sad that brawling armor is crazy expensive yet still limited to light armor only.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5

Is the Jingasa of the Fortunate Soldier, just getting banned or altered?

3/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber
Jordan Agudelo wrote:
Is the Jingasa of the Fortunate Soldier, just getting banned or altered?

Bonus changed from Luck to Deflection, and once per day ability changed to once forever.

2/5

Jordan Agudelo wrote:
Is the Jingasa of the Fortunate Soldier, just getting banned or altered?

Altered to +1 deflection bonus and the negation of 1 critical/sneak attack is now only one time use ever.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

28 people marked this as a favorite.

The jingasa is now either a use once and replace item or not even worth your time. May as well have been banned.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Can we sell back our rings of deflection if we'd like to keep the jingasa?

Edit: oh wait. never mind. thats once ever. Sell em back...

Sovereign Court 3/5 5/5 Venture-Agent, Minnesota—Champlin

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I'm not a big fan of some of those changes, but thank you so much for putting up this post so quickly, John. It really helps eliminate confusion around how to handle these changes in PFS. It's appreciated!

Liberty's Edge 2/5

I am fairly new and was just wondering something. In just over a week I will be going to a store to play PFS for the first time. I had thought to play Oloch's pregen. Brings me to the question of how quickly these changes come into effect and what impact will they have on the pregens? Will the pregens be revised and in the mean time is the pregen still "legal"?

5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Finland—Tampere

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Phew, for a moment there I was super scared for that Ring of Inner Fortitude I just bought for my level 14 Seeker. Thankfully, the change isn't meaningful for him.

The jingasa suddenly went from one of the most OP items in the game to almost obsolete. That's... quite a change. Also, I will not rue the loss of the Gloves of Scenario Breaking.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Ietsuna wrote:
I am fairly new and was just wondering something. In just over a week I will be going to a store to play PFS for the first time. I had thought to play Oloch's pregen. Brings me to the question of how quickly these changes come into effect and what impact will they have on the pregens? Will the pregens be revised and in the mean time is the pregen still "legal"?

Yeah, just play them as they lie.

Are you playing a higher level game? You could make your own character by then.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 *** Venture-Lieutenant, Conventions—Gen Con

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Okay, with the exception of brawling armor, most of these look pretty good and/or necessary. I'm sure no one's happy about the jingasa nerf, but it really needed to be done. Thanks Paizo!

Sovereign Court 5/5 RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

8 people marked this as a favorite.
TOZ wrote:
The jingasa is now either a use once and replace item or not even worth your time. May as well have been banned.

Yeah. Changing either 1/day crit negation OR luck bonus would have rebalanced it. As is... meh.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Matthew Morris wrote:
TOZ wrote:
The jingasa is now either a use once and replace item or not even worth your time. May as well have been banned.
Yeah. Changing either 1/day crit negation OR luck bonus would have rebalanced it. As is... meh.

once ever with a luck bonus Id have been happy with

Shadow Lodge

Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.

Paizo Employee 4/5 Pathfinder Society Lead Developer

4 people marked this as a favorite.

One of our venture-captains pointed out to me that the ring of sundering metals from Inner Sea Gods operates like a ring of ferocious action with additional powers. If someone is so inclined, he can sell back a ring of sundering metals at full market price.

5/5 5/55/55/5

15 people marked this as a favorite.

Back to the big six. It was fun while it laster.

Shadow Lodge 4/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens Subscriber

Someone at Paizo has a vendetta against mistmail.

The Exchange 4/5 5/5

SCPRedMage wrote:
Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.

I'm not sure I'm going to ditch it off mine. I take the penalties for the cognatogen now, but several times I've been completely unscathed by things that drain 1 ability point per hit thanks to that ring.

4/5

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

So Cap of the Thinker gets a nerf but can't be sold back at full price? Is that overlooked or intentional?

Grand Lodge 5/5

Matthew Morris wrote:
TOZ wrote:
The jingasa is now either a use once and replace item or not even worth your time. May as well have been banned.
Yeah. Changing either 1/day crit negation OR luck bonus would have rebalanced it. As is... meh.

That's pretty much exactly what I just said to my VC.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Online—VTT

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Well RIP Jingasa and Featherstep slippers as your very unlikely to be bought anymore :( It was a fun run with you.

5/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Thanks John. I for one will be glad to see the gloves gone.

Shadow Lodge

Kevin Willis wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.
I'm not sure I'm going to ditch it off mine. I take the penalties for the cognatogen now, but several times I've been completely unscathed by things that drain 1 ability point per hit thanks to that ring.

Except that you don't get a choice about it affecting cognatogens or mutagens, meaning you can't gain the benefits of either while wearing even the lesser ring.

Yeah, the protection from the drain is nice, but it completely nullifies a class feature.

5/5 *** Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

I mostly avoided the Jingasa temptation, only buying it on a single character.

I do have feather step slippers on about 20 though.

---

Speaking of mistmail, I have a character with the moonlight stalker chain of feats that relies on mistmail for concealment.

My preferred resolution would be to either be able to retrain the feat chain, or also be able to sell back my cloak for full price (so I can buy cloak of displacement) (Or the option to do either)

5/5 *****

I have I think two Oracles who have been using Rings of Revelation with UMD. Can these be sold back at the full price?

While it was pretty clear non Oracles couldn't UMD these that certainly didn't seem the case for Oracles. I have used these with multiple GM's, spelling them out prior to the games and they were happy that it worked for an Oracle.

2/5

Kevin Willis wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.
I'm not sure I'm going to ditch it off mine. I take the penalties for the cognatogen now, but several times I've been completely unscathed by things that drain 1 ability point per hit thanks to that ring.

You no longer gain the benefits of the cognatogen.

4/5

3 people marked this as a favorite.
SCPRedMage wrote:
Kevin Willis wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.
I'm not sure I'm going to ditch it off mine. I take the penalties for the cognatogen now, but several times I've been completely unscathed by things that drain 1 ability point per hit thanks to that ring.

Except that you don't get a choice about it affecting cognatogens or mutagens, meaning you can't gain the benefits of either while wearing even the lesser ring.

Yeah, the protection from the drain is nice, but it completely nullifies a class feature.

It looks like it's preventative (mentions "prevents" and "the wearer takes") and doesn't retroactively remove penalties, damage, and drain (like you can't pass it around the party to negate penalties and ability damage after the fact) so I think you should be able to remove, drink, replace.

Shadow Lodge

Rogue Eidolon wrote:
It looks like it's preventative (mentions "prevents" and "the wearer takes") and doesn't retroactively remove penalties, damage, and drain (like you can't pass it around the party to negate penalties and ability damage after the fact) so I think you should be able to remove, drink, replace.

1. Expect massive table variation on that one.

2. Action economy on that means you're not ever going to be drinking a cognatogen/mutagen in combat ever again.

Shadow Lodge 5/5

have an odd bit here .... We know we can sell them back for full cost
but I have a strange thing on the Gloves of Recon

I picked them up

Spiler:
for free at the end of fortress of the nail

am I allowed to go back and change that ?

Paizo Employee 4/5 Pathfinder Society Lead Developer

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Wraith235 wrote:

have an odd bit here .... We know we can sell them back for full cost

but I have a strange thing on the Gloves of Recon

I picked them up ** spoiler omitted **

am I allowed to go back and change that ?

That sounds reasonable to me.

Paizo Employee 4/5 Pathfinder Society Lead Developer

7 people marked this as a favorite.
Jeffrey Fox wrote:
So Cap of the Thinker gets a nerf but can't be sold back at full price? Is that overlooked or intentional?

I think that just got overlooked. Yes, add cap of the free thinker to the list

4/5

I had figured that the jingasa was just going to have a digit added to its price. 15000 would have been far more appropriate for the old version.

I would very much like a more comprehensive rebuild around the staff of the master. There were other choices I made on my psychic that were influenced by the existence of the old version of the item, including my selection of major amplification.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Florida—Jacksonville

Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

4/5

Thomas Graham wrote:
Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

It's worthless.

Luck -> Deflection
One time only for the crit/SA nullification.

5/5 5/55/55/5

Thomas Graham wrote:
Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

1) Its a deflection bonus, which means it won't stack with the much cheaper ring

2) the stop a crit thing only works once. FOREVER. And its gone. So you're left with a redundant hat

Shadow Lodge 4/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Florida—Jacksonville

Serisan wrote:
Thomas Graham wrote:
Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

It's worthless.

Luck -> Deflection
One time only for the crit/SA nullification.

Ever? Or daily/

5/5 *****

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I do have one issue which comes to mind. While it doesn't affect me I know of at least one online wizard player who has a staff of the master as their arcane bond. Do they get a 15k refund of the enchant cost and get to pick an alternate arcane bond without paying the 200gp/level to do so?

2/5

Thomas Graham wrote:
Serisan wrote:
Thomas Graham wrote:
Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

It's worthless.

Luck -> Deflection
One time only for the crit/SA nullification.

Ever? Or daily/

Ever.

5/5 *****

Thomas Graham wrote:
Serisan wrote:
Thomas Graham wrote:
Okay what is up with the Jingasa? Either I haven't got the update PDF yet or I'm not reading it right.. whats the differencE?

It's worthless.

Luck -> Deflection
One time only for the crit/SA nullification.

Ever? Or daily/

Ever

The Exchange 4/5 5/5

Rogue Eidolon wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Kevin Willis wrote:
SCPRedMage wrote:
Can't say I'm happy that my alchemist has to ditch his lesser ring of inner fortitude.
I'm not sure I'm going to ditch it off mine. I take the penalties for the cognatogen now, but several times I've been completely unscathed by things that drain 1 ability point per hit thanks to that ring.

Except that you don't get a choice about it affecting cognatogens or mutagens, meaning you can't gain the benefits of either while wearing even the lesser ring.

Yeah, the protection from the drain is nice, but it completely nullifies a class feature.

It looks like it's preventative (mentions "prevents" and "the wearer takes") and doesn't retroactively remove penalties, damage, and drain (like you can't pass it around the party to negate penalties and ability damage after the fact) so I think you should be able to remove, drink, replace.

I realize that's an alias talking but that's even more lenient than what I was thinking. My thoughts were:

I don't walk around under the effects of my cognatogen all the time. In fact I personally usually make the decision to drink it when I intend to *start* an encounter. It's worth it to me to keep the ring on until then in case I run into - a wraith, for example.

Also I was thinking I could put it back on just prior to the cognatogen ending, preventing the damage from occurring when it did run out (cognatogen is a bit more harsh at the end than a mutagen).

5/5 *****

Wraith235 wrote:

have an odd bit here .... We know we can sell them back for full cost

but I have a strange thing on the Gloves of Recon

I picked them up ** spoiler omitted **

am I allowed to go back and change that ?

I imagine lots of people will be switching to the One Way Mirror.

1 to 50 of 606 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Ultimate Equipment (Second Printing) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.