full round attack, can you use any remaining attacks after your initiative to hit a monster if it comes within reach / range


Rules Questions


A character has a base attack bonus of 6 by 1 and the Improved two weapon combat feat

So he can make four attack per round as a full round action.

He has encounters a group of four orc’s

On his initiative he takes a five foot step up to and then attacks the first orc he hits with his first two attacks and kills the Orc.

He still has two attack left

But there are no more Orc within his weapons reach

He know that the remain Orcs are going to attack him on their initiative.

All the orc’s will need to do to attack him is to move up to him by making a five foot step.

My question is this

Can a character (hold? delay?) to use his remaining attacks to hit the first orc that steps into range later in the round.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

No. He has already begun a full attack, which is a full round action taken on his turn. When his turn ends, so does the full attack action.


No.. your attacks are used on your combat phase. once that phase is over, so are your attacks. You can't "bank" unused ones.

The only attacks you can make outside of your initative are AOO's and only one of those per round, unless you have Combat Reflexes.


Thankyou


In this situation you can delay and wait for more to come near so you can make all your attacks.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
Chess Pwn wrote:
In this situation you can delay and wait for more to come near so you can make all your attacks.

If you mean "after attacking twice, delay to use the remaining two attacks", then no you can't. Delay is an all-or-nothing.

Delay wrote:

By choosing to delay, you take no action and then act normally on whatever initiative count you decide to act. When you delay, you voluntarily reduce your own initiative result for the rest of the combat. When your new, lower initiative count comes up later in the same round, you can act normally. You can specify this new initiative result or just wait until some time later in the round and act then, thus fixing your new initiative count at that point.

You never get back the time you spend waiting to see what's going to happen. You also can't interrupt anyone else's action (as you can with a readied action).

If you mean, just delay till they've conveniently surrounded you, Orcs are sufficiently intelligent to realize you're doing that and the GM would be fair in adjusting their tactics to thwart you.


What do you mean? The orcs just think they have the jump on the guy and go and surround him and try to pummel him to bits. And it's not like you're needing to get surrounded multiple times in a fight, once they realize that you chilling out there is a trap it would be too late. Surrounding a target and ganging up to drop someone is the best tactic.


Chess Pwn wrote:
In this situation you can delay and wait for more to come near so you can make all your attacks.

If you delay, they get to act first. If you ready an action, all you get is one attack.


Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
In this situation you can delay and wait for more to come near so you can make all your attacks.
If you delay, they get to act first. If you ready an action, all you get is one attack.

Correction: They get to spend their move action to get in position and make one attack against you. You get positioned so that you can full attack them.


If you have only taken one attack out of your full attack action, you can change your mind and take a move action instead. Once you have taken your second attack, though, you are committed for the full attack action, whether you use all your attacks or not.

However, after your first attack, you can only take a move action. Since readying an action (e.g., to attack when the orcs come up) is a standard action, you still wouldn't be able to "hold" the rest of your attacks until the enemy closes. If you had some feat or ability that allowed you ready an attack as a move action, then you could choose to do that after your first attack.

I'm not aware of any trick that would let you do this.


Thank you for to all of you help on this


So, I guess, if you want to save your Full Attack for when you have all the orcs present, you could Ready or Delay your action for when the last orc arrives, then open up your Full Attack, or Great Cleave, or whatever.


You can delay. But then all the orcs will get to attack you first. And then get slaughtered by you.

If you ready, you only get one attack Scott. But you can take it before the recipient attacks, depending on the chosen trigger.


No, you can't, because martials can't have nice things.

On topic:
Delaying is usually bad, you get only 1 attack instead of full attack.
If you attack once, and there's nothing else to attack, you could theoretically move (but not attacking again), if you already moved, that's it, your turn is done.


Gilarius wrote:
If you ready, you only get one attack Scott. But you can take it before the recipient attacks, depending on the chosen trigger.

Thank you for the clarification. You can Ready a Standard Action, though, right? Great Cleave is a Standard Action.

Gilarius wrote:
You can delay. But then all the orcs will get to attack you first. And then get slaughtered by you.

Get slaughtered by what's left of you, you mean.


As has been noted, you can't "delay" one attack of a full-attack. You either delay all of them, or use them all on your turn. You could ready a single attack, but once you have multiple attacks that's a bad trade.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / full round attack, can you use any remaining attacks after your initiative to hit a monster if it comes within reach / range All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.