Off Hand Questions About Offhand Weapons


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


It's been determined that a Main Gauche can be played whenever you play a non-2-handed weapon. When you do, does it give a d4 to the roll like a dagger, or the full Strength/Melee +d4 value listed?

Also, and this is only cosmetic, but should the Invigorating Kukri +1 have the offhand trait as well?


If I recall it just the d4 - though the card is a bit ambiguous


The Main-Gauche doesn't add to combat checks when you are using another Weapon on the check, but you can use it to reduce the damage if you fail and didn't use a 2-Handed card. (Here's the FAQ entry.)

I don't believe that most dagger-type weapons have the Offhand trait, so I don't think Kukri would have it. (I don't have a box full of daggers to check, though. :)


You can play the card even though you've played another (non two-handed) weapon. But, you can still only play one card "for your combat check". So you can't add even a d4 to the check with it.

Also note that you can't play another weapon on the check if you have already played the Main Gauche (unless the other weapon says you can of course), since that's playing the cards in the wrong order compared to what Main Gauche says. Given that, I cannot think of any situation where the first power and the "play with another weapon" power can possibly be used together.

So the "play with another weapon" text is there for the reduce combat damage by two power. Whether that is also (redundantly) enforced by the paragraph layout is something I'm not clear about.


The FAQ entry to which I linked changes the card so the "even if you played another weapon" text only appears with the "reduce the damage" power.


Parody wrote:
The FAQ entry to which I linked changes the card so the "even if you played another weapon" text only appears with the "reduce the damage" power.

Sure, that's what I was going by in the first place.

But does appearing in the same paragraph change the meaning or not? I know with "do this then do this" type powers the answer is yes, and that's clear generally as well. But the fact that the sentence refers explicitly to the whole card suggests it should apply to the whole card. Especially given that there's established terminology "power", which people are required to understand already and which could be used here instead. Personally I would be inclined to put more stock in the words used than the white space. But I'm not sure either way I'm really just saying it's not clear.

Of course it's a moot point for this card since it's impossible to use the first power after having already used a weapon regardless.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

One power = one paragraph. Text in one paragraph does not apply to text in other paragraphs because they are separate powers. If a sentence is meant to apply to the entire card, it is put in a paragraph by itself, at which point it is not a power but rather something that always happens when you play the card. Not going to quote the rulebook, but it says something pretty much equivalent to what I just wrote.


skizzerz wrote:
One power = one paragraph. ...

Which is exactly what I was thinking of when I grumpily reiterated the FAQ link but forgot to say. Sorry about that.

FWIW, it's on page 9 of the Wrath rulebook.


Yeah, when I reread the FAQ on the weapon, that's exactly the feeling I got from it--you only play it alongside another weapon for its 'shield' power, not for anything else. That really decreases its value for us, and I'm not gonna keep it around when better stuff is readily available (we're in Price of Infamy now) but it is good to note for future playing.

Thanks for all the replies!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Actually a card that is versatile and can be played either as a weapon or an armor (thus freeing another slot in your hand) is pretty good.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Frencois wrote:
Actually a card that is versatile and can be played either as a weapon or an armor (thus freeing another slot in your hand) is pretty good.

This is a generally true statement, unless the card in question sucks at both of its roles.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Longshot11 wrote:
Frencois wrote:
Actually a card that is versatile and can be played either as a weapon or an armor (thus freeing another slot in your hand) is pretty good.
This is a generally true statement, unless the card in question sucks at both of its roles.

My experience is that the value of a card like Main Gauche increases with the number of players (where there are more blessings around and less turns to play for each of us.

With 6 players, starts to be an interestning card.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Off Hand Questions About Offhand Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion