Horses carrying capacity


Advice


Hello! I have a problem. I can't determine how much a light horse can carry. I know, that saddlebags can hold 250lbs, but I mean whole load, which horse can handle before being encumbered. From what I googled, a horse, being large quadruped, carry 3 times as much load as a bipedal could. So, light horse has a strength of 16, that gives 76 lbs before it hits a medium load. 3x76=228 lbs. It's quite low! My PC fighter with backpack of basic equipment weights around that weight! Is this supposed to look like that?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

It gets x3 for being Large and a separate x2 for being a quadruped, for a total of 76x3x2=456 lb. That sound a bit better?


It is. A light horse is gonna be encumbered and slowed to 35 ft or so.

If you want a horse that's less encumbered, you're gonna need a heavy horse.


Rennaivx wrote:
It gets x3 for being Large and a separate x2 for being a quadruped, for a total of 76x3x2=456 lb. That sound a bit better?

No it's just x3. The "large quadraped x3 modifier" already accounts for it being a large creature.

Silver Crusade

That's why they bred heavy warhorses: to be able to carry a knight in full gear and still charge. Your lighter breeds can manage but they'll be encumbered.


If the modifier is x3 the table "Table: Mounts and Vehicles" in this page (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/exploration-movement#TOC-Movement) is wrong?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Technically, yes.

In 3.5 a light horse had a Str of 14, which makes that table correct. A light warhorse was Str 16. In PF the standard light horse has Str 16, but the table for overland movement was never adjusted.

One to take to the CRB errata thread.

Edit: just to note, since the CRB came out before the first Bestiary, it's no great surprise that the table was just a copy/paste from the 3.5 SRD and that nobody thought to change it when the horse was altered in the Bestiary (since stats for a horse don't actually appear in the CRB). I'm more surprised that nobody noticed before now!

Light horse should be at 5 miles, and for 231-690 lbs at 3.5 miles, and a heavy horse should be 3.5 miles for 402-1200 lbs.


Chemlak wrote:

Technically, yes.

In 3.5 a light horse had a Str of 14, which makes that table correct. A light warhorse was Str 16. In PF the standard light horse has Str 16, but the table for overland movement was never adjusted.

One to take to the CRB errata thread.

Edit: just to note, since the CRB came out before the first Bestiary, it's no great surprise that the table was just a copy/paste from the 3.5 SRD and that nobody thought to change it when the horse was altered in the Bestiary (since stats for a horse don't actually appear in the CRB). I'm more surprised that nobody noticed before now!

Light horse should be at 5 miles, and for 231-690 lbs at 3.5 miles, and a heavy horse should be 3.5 miles for 402-1200 lbs.

So, we have to report the mistake to the responsable. Where may I report it?

If a horse is a battle horse it doesn't earn Str, no?


This (the fact that they forgot to adjust the table after bumping up the strength of horses) has been known since at least 2013 (when I started playing Pathfinder, and had to research it and found a past thread* about it), and they still haven't updated their SRD or changed the table as of the 5th printing of the CRB.

* http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2pdj8?Overland-Movement-and-Carrying-Capacity-C oncern


Rennaivx wrote:
It gets x3 for being Large and a separate x2 for being a quadruped, for a total of 76x3x2=456 lb. That sound a bit better?

I know the answer was already addressed, but on the subject of more than one multiplier, here is this:

"When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Horses carrying capacity All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.