weaponized shield?


Rules Questions


so i'm building a two weapon fighting rogue and would like one of his weapons to be a shield bash...
if I pick up a mithril shield (for weight and acp reduction) can i also make it a masterwork weapon buy adding 300 gp to the cost, giving me +1 to hit?


PRD - Equipment wrote:
Even though some types of armor and shields can be used as weapons, you can't create a masterwork version of such an item that confers an enhancement bonus on attack rolls. Instead, masterwork armor and shields have lessened armor check penalties.

You get a masterwork shield, mithral or whatever, it's only for armor check penalty. Can't pay for an extra 300 gp for bonus to attack. You'll have to enhance it as a magic weapon +2000 gp for +1 to attack and damage.


so not being a masterwork weapon doesn't matter for adding weapon enhancements because its a masterwork shield?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Also, the Shield Master feat will allow you to treat any enhancement bonus to AC on the shield as a weapon enhancement bonus as well. Conversely, the Shield Gauntlet Master feat is the end of a chain that allows you to use a gauntlet as a buckler and apply any weapon enhancement on the gauntlet also as an AC enhancement.


I'm pretty sure you can have a masterwork shield spike that works as normal. But yeah, you can enchant a masterwork shield as a weapon. Note that it's still a "masterwork weapon", but not in a way that "confers an enhancement bonus on attack rolls".


Renarin Kholin wrote:
so not being a masterwork weapon doesn't matter for adding weapon enhancements because its a masterwork shield?
PRD - Magic Armor wrote:
A shield could be built that also acted as a magic weapon, but the cost of the enhancement bonus on attack rolls would need to be added into the cost of the shield and its enhancement bonus to AC.

As long as the shield is masterwork, it can be enchanted as a weapon. Just gotta pay for the weapon enchantments and armor enchantments separately.


super


In case it's not clear, the enchant costs are completely separate as far as bonuses go. So for example, if making a shield that's +2weapon/+3shield, the cost would be the same as enchanting two items(weapon and shield) separately and not the cost of being a +5 item.


Here's the official rule, under the Masterwork Weapons section of the Equipment chapter in the Core Rulebook. From the PRD:

Masterwork Weapons wrote:
Even though some types of armor and shields can be used as weapons, you can't create a masterwork version of such an item that confers an enhancement bonus on attack rolls. Instead, masterwork armor and shields have lessened armor check penalties.

Emphasis mine.

Keep in mind that it's still a masterwork weapon, which is required to make an item magical, so you can still enhance it with a +1 Enhancement to attack and damage. You could also simply apply a +1 AC bonus and the Bashing property, making it count as a +1 Weapon when you attack with it (meaning +1 to hit and damage).

As an aside, this is somewhat an irrelevant point. You stated you were going to make it a Mithril Shield, correct? The Mithril Special Material, according to the PRD, says this:

Mithril wrote:
Weapons or armors fashioned from mithral are always masterwork items as well; the masterwork cost is included in the prices given...

Emphasis mine.

So, if you wanted to make a Mithril Light Shield, for example, you would pay 1,009 gold, as you pay a flat 1,000 gold for the Mithril to make the Shield, and the 9 base cost of the Shield (as the Mithril cost is already included in the Mithril pricing).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You should consider going slayer for at least 6 levels. The Combat Style slayer talent would let you take shield master at level 6, way earlier than a rogue could take it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / weaponized shield? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.