About the Mendevian Crusader's first power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Imrijka is at a location where she is going to take some BYA damage. Kyra is also at her location and is holding on to the Mendevian Crusader whose first power reads:

Discard this card to reduce damage dealt before you act to a character at your location to 0.

Can Kyra discard the Crusader so that whatever damage Imrijka is going to take is reduced to 0 (assuming the damage can be reduced)?


Good question jduteau.
My first thoughts was NO because it's not "your" BYA that is happening (if I make sense). But thinking it over I'm not 100% convinced.


"to a character at your location," makes it pretty clear it can go to any character. The "you" does make you blink, but it's meant in the codified sense of Before You Act damage.


Dave Riley wrote:
"to a character at your location," makes it pretty clear it can go to any character. The "you" does make you blink, but it's meant in the codified sense of Before You Act damage.

That was exactly my thought. It is obvious that if Kyra was exploring and there was some BYA damage to other characters, she could use the Crusader. But I'm like Frencois, the phrase "reduce damage dealt before you act" did make me blink. I was hoping that it's like you said and just the codified phrase "Before You Act".


I remember saying, regarding something or other, that capitalizing the term might make it a little clearer what's what? (I think this was when there was a TON of confusion with Seelah's BYA Charisma power--a lot of people thought it meant you could use it on literally any check) At the time, I think the response was something like "we don't want to capitalize it b/c we got enough terms already," so what do I know. :D


Relevant related threads:

Damage dealt before you act.

Aforementioned WotR Seelah's power thread.


As it turns out, Imrijka only had to take 2 damage so I just did and we avoided the Crusader question, but I'm going to play it that the Crusader could be used on any character who is taking damage in the BYA step whether that is the owning player's BYA or not. That is what the consensus seemed to be, even though there wasn't an official ruling in the threads about it.


"Before You Act" is the name of a step. I think if you did a mental global find-replace of "before you act" with "arglebargle"*, then everything other than when the step happens would be significantly easier to interpret correctly. This applies to the other active thread at the moment as well I think ("About the Mendevian Crusader's first power").

So in this case: "When you attempt a check [during] arglebargle, you may use your Charisma skill instead of any listed skill." is quite clear.

* actually you'd have to fix some grammar as well but you get the idea hopefully.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

I think that Mummy's Mask should incorporate "arglebargle" instead of Before You Act (and "bargleargle" for After You Act) just because that sounds better. ;)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
jduteau wrote:

I think that Mummy's Mask should incorporate "arglebargle" instead of Before You Act (and "bargleargle" for After You Act) just because that sounds better. ;)

Well, that's just ridiculous. CLEARLY, Bargleargle should stand in for Before you act and Arglebargle should be for After. That just makes good linguistic sense.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Johnny Chronicle wrote:
jduteau wrote:

I think that Mummy's Mask should incorporate "arglebargle" instead of Before You Act (and "bargleargle" for After You Act) just because that sounds better. ;)

Well, that's just ridiculous. CLEARLY, Bargleargle should stand in for Before you act and Arglebargle should be for After. That just makes good linguistic sense.

Nope because alphabetically after After comes Before since After comes before Before. Now the Act comes before After but also before Before the Act, as was discussed before, which means the Act comes after itself.

Fishy.... Must be April's First Act coming between Before and After (or rather between After and Before).

Now fun fact is all that is also true in French (which came before English although it comes after).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / About the Mendevian Crusader's first power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion