Polymorph and EX / SU Class Abilities


Rules Questions


Does an Invulnerable Rager (barbarian archetype) damage reduction (EX ability) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does an Abyssal bloodline (sorcerer) claws (SU ability to grow claws that last 1 round) and Demon Resistance (EX ability that gives electricity damage resistance and a save vs. point effects) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does a Draconic bloodline (sorcerer) Dragon Resistances (EX ability that gives energy resistance and a natural armor bonus) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rory wrote:

Does an Invulnerable Rager (barbarian archetype) damage reduction (EX ability) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does an Abyssal bloodline (sorcerer) claws (SU ability to grow claws that last 1 round) and Demon Resistance (EX ability that gives electricity damage resistance and a save vs. point effects) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does a Draconic bloodline (sorcerer) Dragon Resistances (EX ability that gives energy resistance and a natural armor bonus) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

In general, this falls under GM discretion, so expect some degree of variation.

I don't know about the DR or resistances, but the claws do work because they're something grown temporarily. (They do not stack with other natural weapons on your hands/arms, however, nor can you simply put them on your feet/hind legs.)

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Rory wrote:

Does an Invulnerable Rager (barbarian archetype) damage reduction (EX ability) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does an Abyssal bloodline (sorcerer) claws (SU ability to grow claws that last 1 round) and Demon Resistance (EX ability that gives electricity damage resistance and a save vs. point effects) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

Does a Draconic bloodline (sorcerer) Dragon Resistances (EX ability that gives energy resistance and a natural armor bonus) go away if subject to a polymorph spell?

I would saynone of those go away as they are class abilities, so not dependent on "your original form". they depend on your class.

When you get the class ability it don't matter if you are a human, dwarf, asimaar or half dragon. You get it.
I don't think you should lose because you change your form.
It can become irrelevant (as an example different kinds of claws don't stack normally) ut it shouldn't be lost when you polymorph.

Some other GM can feel differently, so expect table variation. consult your GM.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Diego Rossi wrote:


I would say none of those go away as they are class abilities, so not dependent on "your original form". they depend on your class.

When you get the class ability it don't matter if you are a human, dwarf, asimaar or half dragon. You get it.
I don't think you should lose because you change your form.
It can become irrelevant (as an example different kinds of claws don't stack normally) ut it shouldn't be lost when you polymorph.

^^This^^


All EX/SU "race" abilities go away. But all EX/SU "class" abilities stay?

Is it really as simple as that?

Granted, it would have to make sense still. If I polymorphed into a fish, a form without limbs, there is no way the claws would be there.


Eh, it might not appear on its hands anyway...

WARNING: Nature is terrifying, and disturbing sometimes. This is one of those times.

(Or, it could just depend on the kind of fish...)

Less disturbing, by far.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Polymorph and EX / SU Class Abilities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.