What Benefits Does Bless Weapon Confer To a Projectile Weapon?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The spell description says (my bold emphasis) ...

Quote:

This transmutation makes a weapon strike true against evil foes. The weapon is treated as having a +1 enhancement bonus for the purpose of bypassing the DR of evil creatures or striking evil incorporeal creatures (though the spell doesn't grant an actual enhancement bonus). The weapon also becomes good-aligned, which means it can bypass the DR of certain creatures. (This effect overrides and suppresses any other alignment the weapon might have.) Individual arrows or bolts can be transmuted, but affected projectile weapons (such as bows) don't confer the benefit to the projectiles they shoot.

In addition, all critical hit rolls against evil foes are automatically successful, so every threat is a critical hit. This last effect does not apply to any weapon that already has a magical effect related to critical hits, such as a keen weapon or a vorpal sword.

My question is what are the exact benefits of casting Bless Weapon on a projectile weapon? Does it only get the critical confirm effect? Does it only affect 1 arrow/bolt per casting?


Yep, as written the only benefit to a projectile weapon is the critical confirmation and only one arrow could be buffed at a time.

Edit: Upon rereading it I don't think even the critical confirmation would be conferred to a projectile.


I think the critical confirmation works fine; it's in a separate section after the clause about the DR benefit.

Grand Lodge

I don't see what the issue is.

Ammunition gains all benefits of the spell . You just have to enchant the ammunition, not the weapon. Normally a bow grants it's enchantments to the ammunition. This clause is an exception to that rule.

Bless weapon enhances ammo normally.

Cast it on a bow? You get nothing unless you use it as an improvised weapon.


You would still get the critical hit auto-confirm by casting on the bow. You don't need to confer this ability to the ammo, for it to work.

Grand Lodge

It's an effect "addition":

If you don't get the first one, why would you get the second?

I agree it's badly worded in a way that allows ambiguity, especially with eager eyes.


Grey_Mage wrote:

I don't see what the issue is.

Ammunition gains all benefits of the spell . You just have to enchant the ammunition, not the weapon. Normally a bow grants it's enchantments to the ammunition. This clause is an exception to that rule.

Bless weapon enhances ammo normally.

Cast it on a bow? You get nothing unless you use it as an improvised weapon.

The issue is that the spell explicitly says it can be cast on "individual arrows and bolts", i.e. ammunition, meaning each casting only affects a single piece of ammunition. That is not enhancing ammo normally.


It's seems like the consensus is that when Bless Weapon is cast upon a projectile weapon, the critical confirmation benefit applies to each piece of ammo shot from it but the DR and weapon alignment benefits only apply when used as an improvised weapon.

If cast on ammo it sounds like it would only affect a single piece of ammo (which is a basically worthless). A 20th lvl paladin can choose to get 20 minutes of melee weapon benefit or benefit a single piece of ammo. Why would anyone choose the latter?


Is there a way to get an official ruling?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What Benefits Does Bless Weapon Confer To a Projectile Weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.