If you have the actions, can you cast multiple spells per round?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

As listed in the title, just kinda curious.


You can cast one spell as an immediate/swift action (e.g. a Quickened spell) and one as a standard-or-whatever action, and that's it. Never more than two.


Besides Quicken Spell or its equivalent, I don't think there's anything that lets you cast more than one spells round.
Even Mythic, with its standard action granting Amazing Initiative, specifically disallows casting another spell with that action.

Is there some ability you were thinking of?


A DM for a PbP campaign stated that you couldn't cast multiple spells in a round unless you use quicken spell, even if you have a spell as a swift action. Because, from what I read, however, he states that it's a hard rule that you can't cast multiple spells in a round, even if you possess the actions. A good example would be using coupled arcana with Bardic Music for a mythic spell (I think). Add Arcane Surge for a second time, cast another spell. Add in a witch with Cackle and Mythic Haste, you can get up to 5 with Coupled Arcana.


Vagabond? wrote:
A DM for a PbP campaign stated that you couldn't cast multiple spells in a round unless you use quicken spell, even if you have a spell as a swift action. Because, from what I read, however, he states that it's a hard rule that you can't cast multiple spells in a round, even if you possess the actions.

He is just flat-out wrong, and he is remembering rules from an earlier edition.


This brings up an interesting point. Because you have situations like- If the cleric is bleeding out next to an enemy could the Inquisitor cast Litany of Sloth against enemy, then move over to the downed cleric and cast Cure Light Wounds to stabilize (and possibly bring him back into the fight) ?

It would seem like having the actions available for casting is what is necessary for casting. I am not aware of a rule stating ONLY 1 spell per turn except when Quickening.

Though... I do admit... That FEELS like something I have heard also. But it could just be one of those rule of thumbs that gets passed around.


What action is it to drink a potion? If it's a move action I can see you being able to drink two in a round.


Consulting the Book of Armaments...

CRB, page 213:

A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. HOwever, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

Magic section, Casting Time heading, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

3 people marked this as a favorite.

The Core Rulebook says that spells cast as a swift action (such as Quickened spells) don't count toward your "normal limit" of one spell per round. However, that "normal limit" is mentioned nowhere else in the book.

That is, the ability to cast a swift-action spell in the same round as another spell is described as being an exception to a rule that does not exist.

Do with that what you will. :/


There are two references to such a rule, though I'm having trouble finding the actual rule.

CRB Combat wrote:
You can cast a quickened spell (see the Quicken Spell feat), or any spell whose casting time is designated as a free or swift action, as a swift action. Only one such spell can be cast in any round, and such spells don't count toward your normal limit of one spell per round. Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity.
CRB Magic wrote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You can cast one spell as an immediate/swift action (e.g. a Quickened spell) and one as a standard-or-whatever action, and that's it. Never more than two.

Not quite never. A 10th level Mystic Theurge could use Spell Synthesis to cast two standard action spells using one standard action and also cast a quickened spell as a swift. But that is a very specific and limited exception.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

There are two references to such a rule, though I'm having trouble finding the actual rule.

CRB Combat wrote:
You can cast a quickened spell (see the Quicken Spell feat), or any spell whose casting time is designated as a free or swift action, as a swift action. Only one such spell can be cast in any round, and such spells don't count toward your normal limit of one spell per round. Casting a spell as a swift action doesn't incur an attack of opportunity.
CRB Magic wrote:
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.

There doesn't need to be any other statement of the rule. Those two text establish a normal limit whether it is stated elsewhere or not. However, it would be clearer if it was stated as a rule on its own.


This might be something to FAQ, considering the rules suggest you can't in a very sideways kind of way, but mention it nowhere else... I always just thought the problem was having the action economy, not that there was a cap, supported by the need for Amazing Initiative needing to specify that the new standard action can't be used to cast a spell.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

In all likelihood, there was probably a rule that existed in 3.5, then Pathfinder intentionally removed that limit, but then failed to catch those references to the rule they removed.

Wouldn't be the first time that an intentional removal of a rule left behind some baggage.

But of course, that's almost as speculative as the idea that the two references to this phantom rule should be taken to mean that the rule is real.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Is there any way to get extra standard actions that doesn't exclude spellcasting?


FAQ'd.


@KingOfAnything: Here are two I can think of.

Dark/Pathfinder Delver, In the Nick of Time wrote:


A Dark Delver has a knack for choosing the best time to act. Once per day at 10th level, a delver can use an immediate action to perform an action that normally requires a standard action to perform.
Pathfinder Chronicler, Inspire Action wrote:


As a special use of bardic music, a 6th-level Pathfinder chronicler can exhort any one ally within hearing to a sudden surge of action, allowing her ally to immediately take an extra move action. This does not count against the ally's number of actions on his own turn.

At 9th level, she can enable an ally to immediately take a standard action instead.

Both provide extra standards.

Scarab Sages

There are some spells that you can cast as immeadiate actions that would technically count as casting more than one spell a turn (excluding quickened).
Wizard casts a quickened Magic missle at a spell caster, then uses his standard action to fry a mob with fireball.
later that same turn a giant comes over to squish him and hits him with a great club to which the wizard cast emergency sphere as an immeadiate action.

some of the litany spells are immeadiate actions also.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You can cast one spell as an immediate/swift action (e.g. a Quickened spell) and one as a standard-or-whatever action, and that's it. Never more than two.

Three... But only if a mystic theurge using Spell Synthesis.

Note that certain spell effect activations (i.e., spell storing weapons) are also possible: A magus 6/cleric 3/mystic theurge 10 could cast a Quickened spell as a swift action, cast two (touch*) spells using Spell Synthesis and Spell Combat/Spellstrike**, and activate a stored spell in a spell storing weapon (free action) used to attack in the same round.

*- and/or ranged touch with Close Range arcana
*- assuming Broad Study arcana for the cleric spell


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

One thing to keep in mind with immediate actions: "Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn)."

You can use either an immediate or a swift action, not both.


So the question is, does the limit of one spell per round apply due to simple action economy, or due to some inherent rule? As there is no actual listed rule for action economy, and specific trumps general, I'd say it's based on the action economy aspect, rather than some inherent rule for magic.


"normal limit of one spell per round" seems pretty specific to me, especially since there isn't really any other reason one would need to specify that you can take both a swift and a standard action in the same round


Manly-man teapot wrote:
Vagabond? wrote:
A DM for a PbP campaign stated that you couldn't cast multiple spells in a round unless you use quicken spell, even if you have a spell as a swift action. Because, from what I read, however, he states that it's a hard rule that you can't cast multiple spells in a round, even if you possess the actions.
He is just flat-out wrong, and he is remembering rules from an earlier edition.

Or maybe he's simply imposing rules on his own campaign to put some limits on magic, which is totally legitimate.


Dragonchess Player wrote:

One thing to keep in mind with immediate actions: "Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn)."

You can use either an immediate or a swift action, not both.

You can use an immediate action after a swift action in a round. If you use it before it counts as the swift action for that round. If you use an immediate action after your swift action, it counts as a swift action for the following round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / If you have the actions, can you cast multiple spells per round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.