Underwater Demolition - legal for non-gripplis?


Pathfinder Society

5/5

Underwater Demolition is an alchemist discovery on page 191 of the Advanced Race Guide, along with two other discoveries. However, it is unclear whether these discoveries can be taken by non-grippli characters in PFS.

From the additional resources page:

Quote:

Note: Alternate racial traits, racial archetypes, racial evolutions, racial feats, and racial spells are only available for characters of the associated race. Racial equipment and magic items can be purchased and used by any race as long as the specific item permits it (for example, only halflings can purchase and use solidsmoke pipeweed).

The new alchemist discovery on page 44 is legal for play for characters of all races.

Gripplis: all alternate racial traits, favored class options, racial archetypes, racial equipment, racial discoveries, racial magic items, and racial feats are legal for play.

These discoveries are certainly legal per the grippli entry as quoted above, and since they are not specifically restricted to just gripplis by the overall note at the top of the ARG entry I would assume they are legal for any alchemist. However, the specific mention of discoveries on page 44, and not those on page 191, makes me question this.

So, are the alchemist discoveries on page 191 legal for all alchemists?

Liberty's Edge 5/5

Yes, but Gripplis only.

Dark Archive 5/5

Note: Alternate racial traits, racial archetypes, racial evolutions, racial feats, and racial spells are only available for characters of the associated race

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Florida—Melbourne

2 people marked this as a favorite.

How can you engage in underwater demolition if you aren't a frogman?

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 ***

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Be an undine alchemist.

Hmm

5/5 5/55/55/5

trollbill wrote:
How can you engage in underwater demolition if you aren't a frogman?

Dynamite fisherman?

Grand Lodge 4/5 5/55/5 ***

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't even care if its legal. The fact that rules exist where we can discuss the merits of underwater demolitions in Pathfinder is AWESOME!

Silver Crusade 4/5 Venture-Captain, Pennsylvania—Pittsburgh

That looks awesome and I hope it's intentionally legal, but it seems like the first line from the additional resources quote is simply missing the required text about "class features" from the list of things that would be race-specific...

Liberty's Edge 4/5

Bob Jonquet wrote:
I don't even care if its legal. The fact that rules exist where we can discuss the merits of underwater demolitions in Pathfinder is AWESOME!

All those with grippli boons should get hopping to blow things up underwater!

Sovereign Court 5/5

But wut if Ah'd ruther blow stuff up outta the water? Like with mah musket?

Shadow Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 **** Venture-Captain, Indiana—Southern

Bob Jonquet wrote:
I don't even care if its legal. The fact that rules exist where we can discuss the merits of underwater demolitions in Pathfinder is AWESOME!

A literal Frogman, in this case, eh?

*idly wonders if Mike Brock would laugh at that joke given his past occupations/knowledge*

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Underwater Demolition - legal for non-gripplis? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.